Ronda's Reviews > City of Ashes

City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
5304380
's review
Apr 22, 2011

it was amazing
bookshelves: paperbacks-hardbacks, 2011-favourites, re-reads, 2013-favourites
Recommended to Ronda by: Shannon Novak Packer
Recommended for: Every Person on the Planet!!!
Read 3 times. Last read April 26, 2011 to May 18, 2013.

This is the 2nd time I've read this book (1st review below) and I have to say it is SO MUCH BETTER second time around. My anticipation was more vivid for some reason, I remembered so much and knew almost everything that was going to happen - but then there were the bits that I had forgotten, the feelings, the roles that were played, the bits of information that don't stick first time around...

Clary and Jace seem so much stronger this time around, I could feel the emotions in the description of their body language, I could feel the ache in Clary's heart when she finally decided to face Jace - I sensed the hurt in Jace's heart when he thought the Lightwood's were going to send him on his way... I cannot believe how much more intense this story is this time around... I am so glad I am re-reading the entire series!!!

**********************************************

2011

This book continues from the first one, you'd think that after two books the story would end, but no.... the suspense is there thick and strong but it's a suspense you take from the first pages of the first book.

This book kept me interested throughout, I loved it.... a book like no other that I have read and a book I'd recommend to anyone!

flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read City of Ashes.
Sign In »

Quotes Ronda Liked

Cassandra Clare
“I don't want to be a man," said Jace. "I want to be an angst-ridden teenager who can't confront his own inner demons and takes it out verbally on other people instead."
"Well," said Luke, "you're doing a fantastic job.”
Cassandra Clare, City of Ashes

Cassandra Clare
“We came to see Jace. Is he alright?"
"I don't know," Magnus said. "Does he normally just lie on the floor like that without moving?”
Cassandra Clare, City of Ashes

Cassandra Clare
“I've got a stele we can use. Who wants to do me?"
"A regrettable choice of words," muttered Magnus.”
Cassandra Clare, City of Ashes

Cassandra Clare
“Jace slammed his hand down on the stele. “Clary-“
“She said she doesn’t want it,” said Simon. “Ha-ha.”
“Ha-ha?” Jace looked incredulous. “That’s your comeback?”
Cassandra Clare, City of Ashes


Reading Progress

Finished Reading
April 22, 2011 – Shelved
April 26, 2011 – Started Reading
April 26, 2011 –
page 29
7.06% ".... and it carries on ...."
April 26, 2011 –
page 77
18.73% ".... simply can't read quick enough...."
April 26, 2011 –
page 105
25.55% ".... Clary!!!!! ......"
April 27, 2011 –
page 126
30.66% ".... ooeeerrr The Gates of Hell ....."
April 27, 2011 –
page 193
46.96% ".... OMG ..... I didn't see that coming!!!! ....."
April 27, 2011 –
page 193
46.96%
April 29, 2011 –
page 215
52.31% "..... OMG ....."
April 29, 2011 –
page 235
57.18% "..... I keep holding my breath!!!!!"
April 29, 2011 –
page 294
71.53% "..... waits with baited breath .... what next????"
April 29, 2011 –
page 343
83.45% "..... the intensity is building to bursting point ...."
Started Reading (Hardcover Edition)
July 19, 2011 – Shelved (Hardcover Edition)
July 19, 2011 – Finished Reading (Hardcover Edition)
January 3, 2012 – Shelved as: paperbacks-hardbacks
February 10, 2013 – Shelved as: 2011-favourites
April 30, 2013 – Shelved as: re-reads
April 30, 2013 –
1.0%
April 30, 2013 –
5.0% "...Up to Chapter 2..."
May 1, 2013 –
11.0% "...Up to Chapter 3..."
May 2, 2013 –
14.0% "...Up to Chapter 4..."
May 3, 2013 –
18.0% "...Up to Chapter 5..."
May 6, 2013 –
18.0% "...Part Two - Chapter 8..."
May 7, 2013 –
38.0% "...Up to Chapter 9..."
May 8, 2013 –
43.0% "...Up to Chapter 10..."
May 9, 2013 –
45.0% "...Up to Chapter 11..."
May 10, 2013 –
49.0% "...Up to Chapter 12..."
May 11, 2013 –
54.0% "...Up to Chapter 13..."
May 13, 2013 –
64.0% "...Up to Chapter 15..."
May 14, 2013 –
70.0% "...Up to Chapter 16..."
May 16, 2013 –
81.0% "...Up to Chapter 18..."
May 17, 2013 –
87.0% "...Up to Chapter 19..."
May 18, 2013 – Shelved as: 2013-favourites
May 18, 2013 – Finished Reading

No comments have been added yet.