Kelly (and the Book Boar)'s Reviews > The Girls

The Girls by Emma Cline
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
11183856
Find all of my reviews at: http://52bookminimum.blogspot.com/

WARNING: THIS REVIEW CONTAINS ZERO WORTHWHILE CONTENT AND ALSO MAYBE A SPOILER. READ AT YOUR OWN RISK.

Tons of my friends received an ARC of The Girls and my feed has been filled for months with updates/reviews detailing all of the awesome they were all experiencing . . .

Palm Springs commercial photography

Thanks for the warm welcome, John McClane, but I have a feeling you (along with everyone else) will soon be changing your tune.

Soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo, where should I begin?????? Maybe with . . .

Palm Springs commercial photography

Wait, that’s a lie. I do know what I expected . . .

“It was like a big fucking deal. Hippies killing these people out in Marin.”

If I’m presented with a synopsis that tells me I’m going to be reading a fictional take on the ladies behind the Manson Murders, I expect something twisted that would pull a real mindfuckeroo. I wanted to meet girls like these . . . .

Palm Springs commercial photography

What I got instead? A poor-little-rich-girl lead along with a supporting cast of characters who couldn't even be considered cardboard cutouts. They were more like shadows with zero dimension. And the story itself? NOTHING happened until the 90% mark which left a seriously angry Mitchell who looked a little something like this . . .

Palm Springs commercial photography
(My cell phone camera broke so I had to improvise. Donations for a replacement are gladly accepted.)

This just did not work for me at all. I hated the writing style, I like stories that are fresh and if you’re going to fictionalize one of the most famous events in U.S. history at least mix things up a teeny little bit (and I mean more than famous dude who was supposed to be the target of the murder being a musician rather than a child rapist Roman Polanski or the female victim actually having a child instead of being pregnant), and most importantly THE MAIN CHARACTER SHOULD ACTUALLY BE A PART OF THE EFFING EVENT and not just tell us about “the part I imagine most.”

Save me your trolling because my “friends” already beat you to it by saying they were going to have this sent to my house for not drinking the Cline Kool-Aid . . .

Palm Springs commercial photography

JERKS!



Emily is the only one of my friends who read this right like me. She is now my favorite, so there.

ARC provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you, NetGalley!
187 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Girls.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

April 13, 2016 – Shelved
April 13, 2016 – Shelved as: to-read
June 19, 2016 – Started Reading
June 20, 2016 –
53.0% "I'm reading this wrong."
June 22, 2016 – Shelved as: arcs
June 22, 2016 – Shelved as: everyone-loved-it-but-me
June 22, 2016 – Shelved as: read-in-2016
June 22, 2016 – Shelved as: super-meh
June 22, 2016 – Shelved as: the-great-white-hype
June 22, 2016 – Finished Reading
November 16, 2016 – Shelved as: girls-girls-girls
January 2, 2019 – Shelved as: book-of-the-month-selection

Comments Showing 1-50 of 51 (51 new)


Shelby *trains flying monkeys* You totally don't reed good.


Kelly (and the Book Boar) I read it right! Y'all need to start sniffing your Kool Aid before taking a big gulp.


message 3: by Shelby *trains flying monkeys* (last edited Jun 22, 2016 07:54AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Shelby *trains flying monkeys* Kelly (and the Book Boar) wrote: "I read it right! Y'all need to start sniffing your Kool Aid before taking a big gulp."

tastttttttttttttyyyyyyyyy


message 5: by Jennifer (new) - added it

Jennifer Masterson Oh no! Now I'm afraid to read this one. You're the second review in a row that I have read that was negative. Great review, Kelly! :)


Delee Booooooooooooo!!!

Hissssssssssss x 2 (squared) x 3.14.

Heheheheeeeeeee....

Blah.


Kelly (and the Book Boar) Jennifer wrote: "Oh no! Now I'm afraid to read this one. You're the second review in a row that I have read that was negative. Great review, Kelly! :)"

Thanks! I think you'll know right away if it's not for you. The writing style is definitely love it or hate it.


Kelly (and the Book Boar) Delee wrote: "Booooooooooooo!!!

Hissssssssssss x 2 (squared) x 3.14.

Heheheheeeeeeee....

Blah."


This was stoopid. You guys our the bad reeders not me!


Alissa Patrick Is this the first book that wasn't in total agreement between you and Shelby??


Sh3lly (GrumpyBookGrrrl.com) I'm glad I never requested this. I was tempted so many times, but held back. I don't think I would have liked it.


Kelly (and the Book Boar) Alissa wrote: "Is this the first book that wasn't in total agreement between you and Shelby??"

No, but it's the first time I've gone against ALLLLLLLL the Goodreads bullies. Luckily Mitchell sharpened his tusks so we're ready for the backlash.


Kelly (and the Book Boar) Sh3lly ✨ Bring on the Weird ✨ wrote: "I'm glad I never requested this. I was tempted so many times, but held back. I don't think I would have liked it."

I hit the click button as soon as I saw it was about a Manson-style murder. Then when everyone loved it I thought it would be a winner for sure. Such disappoint : (


Delee Your silly tusk will be no match for my salad fork. ;)


message 14: by Ɗẳɳ 2.☊ (new)

Ɗẳɳ  2.☊ Keep it salty...


Michelle Only Wants to Read Kelly (and the Book Boar) wrote: "I read it right! Y'all need to start sniffing your Kool Aid before taking a big gulp."

Oh man! It sucks you read a different book that the rest of us, but it happens. ....Although I kinda have to admit I expected that Russell to behead a chicken or something during the solstice. Drink the blood and perhaps splash them all with it...just maybe ;-)


Kelly (and the Book Boar) Michelle Only Wants to Read wrote: "Oh man! It sucks you read a different book that the rest of us, but it happens. ....Although I kinda have to admit I expected that Russell to behead a chicken or something during the solstice. Drink the blood and perhaps splash them all with it...just maybe ;-) ..."

YES! Then maybe it would have received 3 Stars ; )


message 17: by Jack (new)

Jack Tripper Great review, Kelly. Though I'm not quite as enthused as I was about checking this one out. The stuff about thin characterization, nothing happening for 90% of the novel, and the main character "imagining" the big event pretty much sealed the deal for me. I know I should decide for myself, but there are too many books out there I want to read. So thanks.


Kelly (and the Book Boar) Thanks Jack and I agree completely. The biggest perk of this site for me is the never ending additions . . . and occasional subtractions to the Want To Read list. Plenty of others loved the slow-roll of this and I may have to if I had been in the mood for it, but the writing ended up just irritating the heck out of me instead.


Delee You are easily irritated.......*jumps back*

....don't hurt me.


Kelly (and the Book Boar) Delee wrote: "You are easily irritated.......*jumps back*

....don't hurt me."


I know, right? No one should trust my opinion.


Delee ...and yet, so many people do. It's baffling. ;)


message 22: by Delee (last edited Jun 22, 2016 12:33PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Delee I'm kidding. I like to kid. It's my thaaaaaaaaang....plus I like to use the word baffling...cause it's fun...


message 23: by Melissa (new)

Melissa Stacy I read other bad reviews of this book and I'm staying away. However, the other uber-hyped literary novel of the summer, Sweetbitter, by Stephanie Danler, is FANTASTIC. The prose is great, even though the stakes are super, super small. I loved that book and I recommend it to anyone who loves beautiful writing and flawed characters. And I found Sweetbitter far more emotionally evocative, and memorable, than The Tiger's Wife, and I've read that book twice over the years in order to ponder the Literary Sensation OMG Party that was that 2011 novel.


message 24: by Deanna (last edited Jun 24, 2016 02:37PM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Deanna Umm I need about five of those t-shirts!

I'm still trying to read this. I started wayyy to many books at once and I keep doing it! I don't know how I feel about it yet honestly.
So I'll be back :)

I'm not sure why all those letters were at the end of this message originally? I've deleted them now...sorry lol!!


Jessica Jeffers Your review is so spot on. This book is so wildly overrated. I was afraid I was being too harsh, but nah. The writing is so purple that it looks like a choking smurf and the narrator isn't able to narrate what should be the most important part of the story. So bad.


Kelly (and the Book Boar) Jessica wrote: "The writing is so purple that it looks like a choking smurf ..."

BWAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!! Oh I'm dying. Too funny : )


message 27: by Dan (new) - rated it 2 stars

Dan Bolden I have to agree with you, Kelly. Having just finished it myself, I am left feeling empty-handed. I went into expecting something compelling and all I got was basic, no thrills, no chills, no emotional connections or pay-offs. This story could have gone anywhere, but instead, took ME nowhere (that I haven't been a thousand times before).

Good review from you though. It was a far better read for ME than the story was. Haha


Kelly (and the Book Boar) Thanks for the kind words, Dan. It's nice to have company over here in the "underwhelmed corner" ; )


The Shayne-Train I feel a tad responsible for the underwhelmitude. Tell you what, read it again, but everytime Evie pines for the bitchy, dark-haired whatshername, instead mentally insert a yearning for LAZERBLAST, ROBOT NINJA FROM SPACE. More exciting, yeah?

Anyway, I won't troll you for not liking it. I think the only reason I liked it was my own personal headspace.

That being said, I want that t-shirt.


message 30: by Martha (new) - added it

Martha The Shayne-Train wrote: "I feel a tad responsible for the underwhelmitude. Tell you what, read it again, but everytime Evie pines for the bitchy, dark-haired whatshername, instead mentally insert a yearning for LAZERBLAST,..."

Can we get a "mentally insert a yearning for LAZERBLAST, ROBOT NINJA FROM SPACE" tshirt, as well?


Belinda Frisch Spot on.


message 32: by rachel (new)

rachel Haven't read the book yet, but I am totally stealing that "I just want this to end" gif. LOL.


Meghann You're not alone!! I appreciate the review, at least I know I'm not crazy


message 34: by Jennifer (new)

Jennifer Struss Right there with you. Totally took the power away that Evie wasn't there for the murder. Big fat "So what?!" from me.


Angie I could not agree more!


message 36: by Emma (new) - rated it 2 stars

Emma Mascall Brilliant review and I couldn't agree more, I must keep my vow to resist reading everything thatbsomeonengets paid an unbelievable advance for and everyone fawns over the book or even worse it wins literary awards. They are always dull reads in reality.


message 38: by Ɗẳɳ 2.☊ (new)

Ɗẳɳ  2.☊ Dead. Wrong.


Kelly (and the Book Boar) You didn't even read it Ron!


message 40: by Ɗẳɳ 2.☊ (last edited Aug 12, 2016 10:05AM) (new)

Ɗẳɳ  2.☊ I don't have to read it to know you've likely read it wrong. At this point there's probably only a 20-25% chance that you read anything right. All those porn books are rotting your brain. :)


message 41: by Karen (new) - rated it 1 star

Karen I am with you on this one. I could only make it to the 50% mark before I had to stop reading. It was just boring.


Heidi James Yes!!!!


message 43: by Erin (new) - rated it 4 stars

Erin Charles Manson actually did fancy himself a musician and did have a failed recording session with the Beach Boys. He didn't know Tate and Polanski were the ones renting that house. He believed it still belonged to the Wilson's. That is who he intended to kill for spoiling his dreams of fame. But yeah, I am underwhelmed by this book.


Melissa As is often the case, I should've read your review BEFORE wasting my time on this book. You were absolutely right.


Kelly (and the Book Boar) Melissa wrote: "As is often the case, I should've read your review BEFORE wasting my time on this book. You were absolutely right."

See Dan? I WAS RIGHT!


message 46: by Ɗẳɳ 2.☊ (new)

Ɗẳɳ  2.☊ Where are all the forking trolls already? Do they hibernate in winter, or what? All this agreement is ridiculous!


Melissa Erin wrote: "Charles Manson actually did fancy himself a musician and did have a failed recording session with the Beach Boys. He didn't know Tate and Polanski were the ones renting that house. He believed it s..."
Terry Melcher (record producer and son of Doris Day) and girlfriend Candice Bergen were the intended murder victims. They were the former tenants of the Cielo Drive address. Brian Wilson introduced Melcher to Manson. This book, The Girls, fictionalizes that intended scenario.


Kelly (and the Book Boar) Ɗắɳ 2.❄ wrote: "Where are all the forking trolls already? Do they hibernate in winter, or what? All this agreement is ridiculous!"

They're all over on my Behind Closed Doors review LOLOLOL.


Katherine Fahey I agree with your review. The book Helter Skelter is better then any fiction that could be written, you will not be able to sleep for a long time!


Lindsay I felt the same way. It was a cut and paste of the Manson story without any reason to feel compelled by the characters. Thank God it was an easy read because it was over quickly.


« previous 1
back to top