Dana aka ♥Belladonna♥ 's Reviews > Marriage Games

Marriage Games by C.D. Reiss
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
7016662
This is a LOVE STORY.
Past and Present.
Tense.
It's genre bending. Blending.
Absolutely stellar.

With staccato paragraphs and flowing prose, CD Reiss delivers a story, not just about BDSM and its dynamics, but about love, marriage, honesty, and self-actualization. It’s the story of falling in love, the struggle of marriage and what happens when it all falls apart.

Adam loves his wife Diana with his whole heart, but for years has held a piece of himself back. That piece is his dominant nature and his place in the BDSM lifestyle.
"You can’t just decide to be vanilla the rest of your life. It’s not a choice."
"It’s all a choice. And I choose her."

For Diana, that missing piece of him sparks a distance in their relationship. A sense of loneliness and longing for things she doesn't quite understand or can grasp. After all, she's afraid to be honest, both with herself and with him, about what she needs. So, she goes through the motions until one day...
"I don’t know how to say this.
I don’t love you any more. I’m sorry."

Adam Steinbeck's world crumbles with a simple note left on the counter. His love for her, though. That is something that he can never shake. So, he offers her Thirty Days. Thirty Days of honesty. Thirty Days of ALL of him. Thirty Days of her submission.

 photo USED TEASER NINE copy_zpshvfemg27.jpg

Anaïs Nin said, “The role of a writer is not to say what we can all say, but what we are unable to say.”. For me, this book exemplifies that on the topics of marriage, relationships, honesty and the importance of communication. This book is marriage. These characters have real human failings; emotions like guilt, fear and shame are central to their actions. They each have wants and needs they are reluctant to articulate.

You could easily read this book and just look at the story on the surface; it's angsty with smoldering kinky sex and a solid duet style ending (not heavy on the cliffy). Really, though, it's the way this author had me looking at the characters, their motivations, and seeing how that could happen in any relationship, any marriage. How she had me learning from it. That was the layer that took this book from genre fiction to genre bending. I can't wait to see how things come together in the next book.

*Marriage Games was provided to CGSR Book Blog in exchange for an honest review*
52 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Marriage Games.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

March 9, 2016 – Shelved
March 9, 2016 – Shelved as: to-read
March 9, 2016 – Shelved as: genre-erotica
March 9, 2016 – Shelved as: genre-contemporary
October 7, 2016 – Started Reading
October 7, 2016 – Shelved as: a-arc
October 7, 2016 – Shelved as: a-series
October 7, 2016 – Shelved as: a-botm-cd-canaries
October 7, 2016 – Shelved as: favorite-authors
October 7, 2016 – Shelved as: group-authors
October 7, 2016 – Shelved as: ready-and-waiting
October 7, 2016 –
0.0% "Going to spend my b-day with this bad boy. \n\nWoot!\n\n"
October 11, 2016 – Finished Reading
October 12, 2016 – Shelved as: character-wealthy
October 12, 2016 – Shelved as: content-bondage
October 12, 2016 – Shelved as: content-breath-play
October 12, 2016 – Shelved as: content-impact-play
October 12, 2016 – Shelved as: content-mf
October 12, 2016 – Shelved as: content-orgasm-denial
October 12, 2016 – Shelved as: content-spanking
October 12, 2016 – Shelved as: content-sex-club
October 12, 2016 – Shelved as: favorites
October 12, 2016 – Shelved as: genre-bdsm
October 12, 2016 – Shelved as: genre-romance
October 12, 2016 – Shelved as: theme-marriage-in-trouble
May 2, 2018 – Shelved as: format-hardcopy-autographed

Comments Showing 1-19 of 19 (19 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Vasiliki Great review even if it's not complete! I just added to my to-read list ;-) xxx


Dana aka ♥Belladonna♥ Vasiliki wrote: "Great review even if it's not complete! I just added to my to-read list ;-) xxx"

Hope you enjoy it as much as I did! I have a severe book hangover. :)


Vasiliki Dana aka ♥Belladonna♥ Mrs. Jack Youder wrote: "Vasiliki wrote: "Great review even if it's not complete! I just added to my to-read list ;-) xxx"

Hope you enjoy it as much as I did! I have a severe book hangover. :)"


I will keep you posted ;-) <3


TeriLyn Great review!


Dana aka ♥Belladonna♥ TeriLyn wrote: "Great review!"

Thanks, TeriLyn!♥


Eve (Between The Bookends) Awesome review! :D


Dana aka ♥Belladonna♥ Eve Recinella (Between The Bookends) wrote: "Awesome review! :D"

Thanks, Eve! ♥


⭐ Emerson ⭐ Insightful review, Dana! You write exceptionally well yourself. I can't wait for the conclusion!


Dana aka ♥Belladonna♥ ⭐ Emerson ⭐ wrote: "Insightful review, Dana! You write exceptionally well yourself. I can't wait for the conclusion!"

Aww! Thank you, Emerson! ♥ January can't get here fast enough. I'm looking forward to finding out how it ends.


❥Lil Fantastic review, Dana! xx


Dana aka ♥Belladonna♥ ❥Lil wrote: "Fantastic review, Dana! xx"

Thanks, Lil! ♥


message 12: by Kat (new) - added it

Kat Desi I am sold. I need to read this ASAP! Amazing review!


Dana aka ♥Belladonna♥ Kat wrote: "I am sold. I need to read this ASAP! Amazing review!"

Aww, thanks, Kat! ♥ I hope you love it as much as I did!


Eve (Between The Bookends) Excellent review! I am waiting until book two is out, but then I am ALL over this duet. :D


Dana aka ♥Belladonna♥ Eve Recinella (Between The Bookends) wrote: "Excellent review! I am waiting until book two is out, but then I am ALL over this duet. :D"

Thanks, Eve! January is not too long to wait. And then you'll have them back to back. Even better. :)


message 16: by Julie (new) - added it

Julie Fantastic review Dana! Made me excited to read it a second time!!!


Vasiliki Fantastic review darling! I cannot wait start reading this one too! xxx


Dana aka ♥Belladonna♥ Julie wrote: "Fantastic review Dana! Made me excited to read it a second time!!!"

Aww, thanks, Julie! Glad to see you're back, btw. :)


Dana aka ♥Belladonna♥ Vasiliki wrote: "Fantastic review darling! I cannot wait start reading this one too! xxx"

Thanks, Vasiliki! ❤ I hope you enjoy. :)


back to top