Jbb Lim's Reviews > Ordinary Grace

Ordinary Grace by William Kent Krueger
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
6092296
's review
Mar 04, 2016

really liked it

13th March 2016
This is so beautiful. Review to come.

27th March 2016
This book is so beautiful. Historical Fiction is where my comfort zone is, and til today it never fails to grab my attention. This book covers both Historical Fiction and Crime Mystery elements in it too. It was set in 1960s and the nostalgia of it brings in so much flavor into the the story line. Endless old vehicle brands were mentioned, as you are able to imagine the old glory days of how rugged there were.

We are told in the perspective of Frankie. He is the older son, middle child, of a Pastor in that community and as mischievous as he can be, he seems to be really nosy around the neighborhood. Why, if not, there wouldn't be a story to tell at all. It's fascinating how the story is being brought to life through many simple ways, some might say back-to-basics, in the days of the 60s. Good food, caring neighborhood, and a united community... what is there to complain?

The fact that this book has a mystery elements in it, I would rather remain my silence by allowing you to enjoy how it's solved. There was a shocked factor but I kinda brought the rating 1 star down because I knew who it was the moment someone went missing. I was an avid reader of the Crime and Political thrillers before I joined the Internet book community. So, I kinda spoiled myself because there was a little giveaway in the middle when the crime starts to unfold itself.

Overall, this was a wonderful read. I love how the author delivers his message through 4 types of death. It's written beautifully! Give it a go!



Some of my favorite quotes:

"He who learns must suffer. And even in our sleep pain, which cannot forget, falls drop by drop upon the heart, until, in our despair, against our will, comes wisdom through the awful grace of God."

"And what is happiness? In my experience, it's only a moment's pause here and there on what is otherwise a long and difficult road. No one can be happy all the time. Better to wish for wisdom, a virtue not so fickle."

"It seemed good to be dead and by that I mean that if the dead cared no more about the worries they'd shouldered in life and could lie back and enjoy the best of what God had created it was a day for exactly such."

"God never promised us an easy life. He never promised that we wouldn't suffer, that we wouldn't feel despair and loneliness and confusion and desperation. What He did promise was that in our suffering we would never be alone. And though we may sometimes make ourselves blind and dead to His presence He is beside us and around us and within us always. We are never separated from His love. And He promised us something else, the most important promise of all. That there would be surcease. That there would be an end to our pain and suffering and our loneliness, that we would be with Him and know Him, and this would be heaven."

"The truth is that when you kill a man it doesn't matter if he's your enemy and if he's trying to kill you. That moment of his death will eat at you for the rest of your life. It'll dig into bone so deep inside you that not even the hand of God is going to be able to pull it out, don't care how much you pray. Multiply that feeling by several years and too many doomed engagements and more horror than you can possibly imagine. And the utter senselessness and the total hopelessness become your enemy as much as any man pointing a rifle at you. And because they were officers, some men were forced to be the architects of that senselessness, and what they asked of themselves and of the men they commanded was a burden no human being should have to shoulder."


Ratings:
4 out of 5 stars

My Blogspot Review
3 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Ordinary Grace.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

March 4, 2016 – Started Reading
March 4, 2016 – Shelved
March 4, 2016 –
page 0
0.0% "Not many I know in Goodreads list has read this book. Having said that, I love his writing style. It's really good."
March 4, 2016 –
page 0
0.0% "Not many in Goodreads that I know has read this book. Having said that, I love his writing. It's really engaging. Anyone with any thoughts?"
March 12, 2016 –
page 212
69.06%
March 13, 2016 – Finished Reading

No comments have been added yet.