Paul E. Morph's Reviews > The Code Book: The Science of Secrecy from Ancient Egypt to Quantum Cryptography

The Code Book by Simon Singh
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
44824883
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: books-read-in-2016

9788 432411439 1440 57418348 0 50828309836 7889474 45 24348 033 243417400836 5742 0328439 46459 94 974 243473 3047 83 50296 89 6448 434 8945 5079747 9703 5748439 3046 033 68148 08 0 1440 09 2709 974 509074 204 7413 83 9788 584137

974 009747 278948 01409 2709 24013 7014 1443 60894 0 374 8019429 2897 8027 4397088082 033 83 8027 03 43606836 204 9709 434 20399 7415 109 14 37023 837 145474 7403836 9788 14406 8 4314 703 0 1474 70382439074 034214364 45 274594670574 033 02 1474 2027 974 1042037 88367 43510838 978368 84 2411 9709 440 34399 3443 034 57847 034214364 45 974 8019429 94 902014 9788 14408 85 8 203 0334789033 896 0341434 203! 8911 3458389414 14 7403836 2474 45 788 2470 83 974 5090747

8424 45 974 945828 2414743 7474 074399 94273820114 243247343 2897 24348 033 2434174008366 109 3401 2897 974 97038109843 45 0328439 94398 8027 08 78474614578287 0328439 3403 103600648 074399 243486 08 80276 1420084 9744 2474399 2740943 2897 974 839439843 45 2432401836 974 243943988 60894 974 455488946 83 50298 109 9744 074 74141039 83 9709 8424 45 974 9427386048 074 870743 2897 2434174008367 97484 27059478 02900114 2004 547 740114 83947489836 74038366 84 8998 0 2412424 381478843 033 434 9709 88367 240148 8394 974 7489 45 974 1440 84021488147

14 2073436 9740678 7403836 9788 1440 2811 2004 440 2039 94 34114 344547 8394 974 8019429 2099477 547903094146 974 009747 57418348 0 5079747 7403836 1889 09 974 433 45 974 14406 84 97474 074 514394 45 509074 34186798 83 89474!

5787 85 440 02900114 2439 94 974 455479 45 34243836 9788 7418426 440 649 0 6413 89077 03 820683074 6413 89076 109 89811777


And for those who care, here is the key to decode the above review:


0 a k u
1 b l v
2 c m w
3 d n x
4 e o y
5 f p z
6 g q ,
7 h r .
8 i s ;
9 j t '


Be warned, though; the key alone will not give you a complete decoding! :-)

And for those who can't be bothered, here's the decoded review:
(view spoiler)
99 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Code Book.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

February 24, 2016 – Shelved
February 24, 2016 – Shelved as: to-read
September 30, 2016 – Started Reading
September 30, 2016 –
14.0%
October 3, 2016 –
21.0%
October 4, 2016 –
30.0%
October 5, 2016 –
41.0%
October 6, 2016 –
49.0%
October 9, 2016 –
58.0%
October 9, 2016 –
69.0%
October 10, 2016 –
78.0%
October 11, 2016 –
86.0%
October 12, 2016 – Shelved as: books-read-in-2016
October 12, 2016 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-42 of 42 (42 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Trish (new) - added it

Trish Oh I can't wait for this review! *hops from one foot to the other*


Paul E. Morph :-D


Paul E. Morph :-D


message 6: by Trish (new) - added it

Trish Bwahahahahaha!
Before I get started: did you actually use a code or is this just a very mean way to get me puzzling over something that actually has no solution?


Paul E. Morph No, it's real code. :-)


message 8: by Trish (new) - added it

Trish *gets right on it*


message 9: by Trish (last edited Oct 13, 2016 09:58AM) (new) - added it

Trish No, I'm still reading my Midwife book and wanted to finish it. Why, have you cracked it already?

I have a few of the numbers I think. Like 9=T, 7=H, 4=E but if I'm seeing this right, it's not a pure numer=letter code.


message 10: by Trish (new) - added it

Trish *lol* Well, I just had dinner, all the while thinking it over, and I don't think I'll be able to crack it tonight. But I'm definitely not giving up. I just hope Paul won't post the actual review before I'm done or give up!


message 11: by Paul (new) - rated it 5 stars

Paul E. Morph I'll hold off! :-D


message 12: by Trish (new) - added it

Trish Paul wrote: "I'll hold off! :-D"

Yay! Thanks. If I wasn't so invested in my current book, I would have scribbled down more by now. *sighs*
Tomorrow is Friday though so I'll finish my book and then, hopefully, crack the code.


message 13: by Ron (new)

Ron Dammit, can't find my Secret Decoder Ring.


message 14: by Trish (new) - added it

Trish I'm finally done with the midwife book and the review so now I can distract myself with (hopefully) cracking this.


message 15: by Trish (new) - added it

Trish Shit, it's not a simple numerical code. *sighs*
*brews new kettle of tea*


message 16: by Trish (new) - added it

Trish OK, it's not Caesar's code either. Hmmmm ...


message 17: by Paul (new) - rated it 5 stars

Paul E. Morph :-D


message 18: by Trish (new) - added it

Trish You're enjoying this, aren't you. *sighs* This will keep me up all night, I just know it!


message 19: by Trish (new) - added it

Trish OK, trying first the code of Polybios, then the code of Apollonius next (the last one is a bitch).


message 20: by Trish (new) - added it

Trish *doh* I'm so daft. It can't be the code of Apollonius because he didn't use the chiffre "0". Damn!


message 21: by Trish (new) - added it

Trish Alright, I give up. I'm totally blaming this stupid flu I caught though.


message 22: by Paul (new) - rated it 5 stars

Paul E. Morph Oh, right... What with spending half this month in hospital with sepsis I totally forgot about this! I'll dig out my key...


message 23: by Paul (new) - rated it 5 stars

Paul E. Morph I'm still a bit rough but happy to be home recuperating rather than in the hospital.


message 24: by Trish (new) - added it

Trish You have to dig out the key?! You don't know it?! Pffffft. You're getting old, man! ;P


message 25: by Paul (new) - rated it 5 stars

Paul E. Morph I'm well aware. ;-P


message 26: by Trish (new) - added it

Trish FINALLY! I'll have a bit of time between getting off work and the stupid Christmas party tonight so I'll decode it then (if I can).


message 27: by Trish (new) - added it

Trish Sorry I never saw that you posted the code along with the actual text. And may I repeat what an awesome review this is?! :D

I HAVE to read this book now.


message 28: by Paul (new) - rated it 5 stars

Paul E. Morph Thanks!


message 29: by Mary (new) - added it

Mary S. R. Haha omg BRILLIANT BRILLIANT BRILLIANT


message 30: by Paul (new) - rated it 5 stars

Paul E. Morph Thanks, Mary! :-)


message 31: by Dennis (new)

Dennis Thanks for this brilliant review. And for the opportunity to see Trish trying real hard to get an imaginary gold star before she even knew there was one. Lol.


message 32: by Paul (new) - rated it 5 stars

Paul E. Morph She makes it too easy...


message 33: by Trish (new) - added it

Trish Let's not forget who won the last TWO rounds, Paul! *puts hands on hips*
As for you, Dennis, be very careful now.


message 34: by Paul (new) - rated it 5 stars

Paul E. Morph See? Pouting... as predicted.😂


message 35: by Dennis (new)

Dennis :)


message 36: by Trish (new) - added it

Trish Paul wrote: "See? Pouting... as predicted.😂"

Nope. Pouting looks different. This is a lit fuse, my friend.


message 37: by Paul (new) - rated it 5 stars

Paul E. Morph I look forward to receiving my homicidal kittens in the post. :-D


message 38: by Trish (last edited Apr 10, 2019 04:20AM) (new) - added it

Trish Dennis, too. He's been wanting kittens for some time. ;)




message 39: by Dennis (new)

Dennis Yes, I ... wait ... that's a trap, right?!


message 40: by Trish (new) - added it

Trish Is it?!



message 41: by Dennis (new)

Dennis Is it?


message 42: by Trish (new) - added it

Trish Only one way to find out. :D


back to top