Luce's Reviews > Aftermath: Life Debt

Aftermath by Chuck Wendig
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
19649406
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: lgbtqiap-gay, star-wars, 2016, 2017, lgbtqiap-mm, protagonists-of-colour
Read 2 times. Last read March 19, 2017 to April 14, 2017.

Shit man, this trilogy is SO GOOD and I need Empire's End yesterday, please


Ok so Sinjir totally gets a boyfriend in this book and there's also a badass genderqueer pirate (pronouns zhe/zher/zherself) who will hopefully show up again in the next book. A+ work, Chuck Wendig. These two books are queerer than some whole series and it makes my heart really happy. I am finally, explicitly included in a franchise that I love and it feels so nice. 4.5/5 stars.
11 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Aftermath.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

February 23, 2016 – Shelved
February 23, 2016 – Shelved as: please-let-me-have-it-now
July 30, 2016 – Shelved as: lgbtqiap-gay
July 30, 2016 – Shelved as: star-wars
July 31, 2016 – Started Reading
July 31, 2016 –
page 86
20.0% "casually mentioned (off-page) polyamory. niiiice."
July 31, 2016 –
page 104
24.19%
July 31, 2016 –
page 159
36.98% "...that was an interesting development!!"
August 1, 2016 –
page 227
52.79%
August 2, 2016 –
page 335
77.91% "THE THERAPY DROIDS WERE NOT A LIE. THIS ONE IS CALLED QT-9. IT IS LITERALLY CALLED "CUTIE", BE STILL MY HEART"
August 3, 2016 –
page 347
80.7% "Leia: "I need a pilot." Me: (yeah, a pilot to fly the good ship Leia/Evaan!!)"
August 3, 2016 – Shelved as: 2016
August 3, 2016 – Finished Reading
March 19, 2017 – Started Reading
March 19, 2017 –
page 37
8.6%
March 28, 2017 –
page 109
25.35%
April 1, 2017 –
page 129
30.0% "The Death Star scrap idea is really neat and kind of cool but also kind of extremely morbid?"
April 3, 2017 –
page 173
40.23%
April 5, 2017 –
page 218
50.7%
April 10, 2017 –
page 262
60.93%
April 14, 2017 –
page 347
80.7% "Leia: "I need a pilot." SCREAMING BC I FORGOT ALL ABOUT THIS LINE, AND SHE'S TALKING TO EVAAN OMFG"
April 14, 2017 –
page 393
91.4%
April 14, 2017 – Finished Reading
April 15, 2017 – Shelved as: 2017
December 29, 2017 – Shelved as: lgbtqiap-mm
January 27, 2018 – Shelved as: protagonists-of-colour

Comments Showing 1-2 of 2 (2 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Joe (new) - rated it 2 stars

Joe Santoro Just out of curiousity, did you actually read the book? I didn't even notice Sinjir had a boyfriend until the last chapter, and it certainly wasn't a main point. The Pirate with the weird pronouns I thought was just trying to be alien, I didn't get it was meant to be neutral at all. The actual plot and writing is so bad, I find it hard to believe someone would give it a high rating just because they liked a 'ship'


Luce Joe wrote: "Just out of curiousity, did you actually read the book? I didn't even notice Sinjir had a boyfriend until the last chapter, and it certainly wasn't a main point...."

lol


back to top