willaful's Reviews > Harmony's Way

Harmony's Way by Lora Leigh
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
2833071
's review
Mar 18, 2011

did not like it
bookshelves: ick-factor, snoozeville

Lance and Harmony meet on page 17 of this book and by page 55 have had very lengthy sex twice -- the second time with some bondage thrown in -- which is once more than they’ve had conversations. That continues to be the pattern throughout. Sex, sex, a tiny bit of story and then some more sex.

I usually am fine with “fated mate” stories, but this one really pushed it. The mating seems mainly a way of subjugating the woman and keeping her helpless. There’s some thematic reason for this; Harmony is the cold-blooded assassin being brought to her knees:

“‘I’m weak,’ she said then, distress filling her eyes. ‘I can’t be weak, Lance.’”

I could have found this very powerful, if only there had been more build-up. Instead, we’re told how powerful and heartless Harmony is, then five seconds later she’s mated and helpless. I’m so tired of Leigh’s weird, Diana Palmerish style of having half the story take place before it starts.


11 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Harmony's Way.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

March 17, 2011 – Started Reading
March 18, 2011 – Shelved
March 18, 2011 –
page 53
16.56% "Ummm... where's the story?"
March 19, 2011 –
page 101
31.56% ""His expression turned chastising as he wagged his finger at her. 'Little girls who lie get their butts spanked,' he warned her. That did not turn her on. It didn't." Well, that makes two of us."
March 23, 2011 –
page 101
31.56% "I have 4 days to finished this and am really not sure I care..."
March 24, 2011 –
page 130
40.63% "Wish my Nook had a "skip rest of boring section" option."
March 24, 2011 – Finished Reading

Comments (showing 1-7 of 7) (7 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

seton Yep, yep. Agreed.
(Can't believe u finished it tho)


message 2: by D.G. (new)

D.G. I commend you for finishing this. I gave up on LL a while back.


willaful seton wrote: "Yep, yep. Agreed.
(Can't believe u finished it tho)"


That's the trouble with ebooks, it's so hard to skim. I can rarely do a DNF without skimming.


SheLove2Read I think that's why I have yet to read this one.


SheLove2Read attempted to read this and my brain melted.


willaful Yup.


message 7: by Farah (new)

Farah LOL, I'm on page 276. Yeah, the um, other scene that upstages the bondage. My thought is this is just fairly poorly written , post Harlequin romance masquerading as porn. Or something. She uses the "P' word on almost every other page, you'uns.


back to top