*The Angry Reader*'s Reviews > RoomHate

RoomHate by Penelope Ward
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
840454
's review

did not like it
bookshelves: porn, 2016

DNF at 25%. Oh Gentle Reader! Gentle Reader! As you know, i wasn't gifted the Angry Reader moniker - i earned it. On a popular sports romance book that sent me into a tizzy the likes these hallowed halls have rarely seen. Something about a threesome and then his dick only wanting her. Bc it's rational when our sex organs make our decisions. But i digress. I'd been so happy lately - reading the recommendations of the Book SoulMate. Avoiding romance books at all costs. But this one had so many good reviews. So many stars. I was lulled into a sense of complacency.
Gentle Reader, that aforementioned steaming pile of crap was sweet lyric to mine ears compared to the dumpster fire full of filthy diapers and old tires that made up this tome. Holy shit.
The plot - as i understand it. And please forgive me if i seem confused. At points i had no actual idea what was happening. Amelia inherits half of a house from her dead Gma. Her childhood BFF inherits the other. They haven't spoken in 10 years bc of deep dark angsty secret. Rightio. They end up in the house together for the summer with his GF - who is so so nice to our heroine. Like seriously - she's creepy. Upon first encountering our heroine our hero leaps on her like some kind of 8th grade girl in a middle school cat fight. All while loudly protesting that he's SO OVER IT. HE DOESN'T CARE ABOUT HER. HE DOESN'T WANNA TALK ABOUT IT. His GF spends a lot of time looking around apologetically. I pictured her as a robot. Or a blow up doll.
In the first 6% Justin insulted Amelia (in a manner that would have gotten him tased in this house). Ignored her while they had dinner. Had bizarre loud sex with his GF so Amelia could hear. And smirked - a lot. How can a man holding a grudge from 10th grade be a romantic hero? That's not love - that's diagnosable.
At 25% you find out why they don't speak anymore. It's awesomely bad. 1980s Lionel Richie with a mullet in a members only jacket kinda bad. And then i gave up. At this point there were 2 options to save this book - a dragon flies down and eats everyone or Keanu Reeves wakes up and realizes it was all a dream. Judging from the loud "SQUEEEEEEES" echoing down my GR newsfeed i don't think either of these things happen. Thus i'm left with a story where these two emotionally stunted morons form some sort of relationship. And i cannot live in world where that's considered any sort of happy ending.
PS - i'm not even going to get into the writing here. It had all the subtlety of a speeding locomotive. And clearly the author thinks that only morons would read her stuff - she needs so badly to tell the reader things that she repeats them - in the same sentence. Along the lines of "she liked gummy bears and she loved them and she wanted them and needed them so so much." Right. Blunt force trauma to the head - bc no one reading this could appreciate nuance or allusion.
AR is dragging her corpse out of the romance genre for a while - back to the recommendations of the BSM.
139 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read RoomHate.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

February 15, 2016 – Started Reading
February 15, 2016 – Shelved
February 15, 2016 –
4.0% "For the love of God - is there a romantic book heroine left on this planet that wasn't the recent victim of a cheating boyfriend?!?!? One. Just give me fucking one chick to pull for that didn't just learn that her ex is a "scumbag." Fuck."
February 15, 2016 –
5.0% "The hug with the GF made me puke in my mouth a little. And then this dude blows in with his random anger. You're seriously pissed at someone for something they did as a 15 year old? Loser."
February 15, 2016 –
6.0% "Okay. So he's stormed into their shared house. Said weird mean things. Ignored her through dinner. And then loudly hate-fucked his GF so she could hear it. Ready for the repartee? "'Are you trying to make me hate you or something? Bc you're doing a pretty damn good job." Clearly he falls in love with her for her brilliant mind."
February 15, 2016 –
10.0% "Quick tip, ladies. If your man is inexplicably angry at a chick - any chick - but especially one from his past. And he won't talk about it. And insists that everything is fine. While talking about her tits, inviting her to a threesome, and basically using every single juvenile trick in the book to get her attention. HE WANTS TO BANG HER. Mmmkay?"
February 15, 2016 –
15.0% "I may not finish. This is abysmal. Literally nothing redeeming. And why she hasn't stabbed this guy like 47 times with one of those tiny forks you use for corn on the cob will remain one of life's greatest mysteries."
February 15, 2016 –
15.0% ""The entire room soon quieted down, and all eyes were on the stunning blond male specimen with the spotlight shining down on him. Despite the fact that I was carrying a large round tray of dirty dishes, I couldn't move. The vibration of his thick, smoky singing voice had completely paralyzed me, penetrating my body and soul." If Hemingway is in Hell they read this out loud to him."
February 15, 2016 –
17.0% ""He didn't realize I was becoming addicted to it and actually truly wanted it." Thank you, author, for wasting time and space saying the exact same thing twice in the same sentence. Or maybe you just assume that your reader is so stupid that there's no room for mystique in your stories."
February 15, 2016 –
24.0% "Okay. So it was worth getting to this point to see why they were so upset. It's awesomely bad. Like the dubbing in a 1970s Asian martial arts film. These 2 are such ridiculous little bitches. But at least I hate them both the same."
February 15, 2016 – Finished Reading
March 5, 2016 – Shelved as: porn
December 30, 2018 – Shelved as: 2016

Comments Showing 1-47 of 47 (47 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Shannon Moore Good call. It only gets worse.


*The Angry Reader* Shannon wrote: "Good call. It only gets worse."

Now that is the stuff of nightmares.


Shannon Moore *
*
*
*
*
*
He puts her breast milk in his coffee. Nuff said.


message 4: by Suanne (new)

Suanne Laqueur Breast milk?! Wait...what?


*The Angry Reader* Shannon. Shannon. Shannon!!!! You're fucking my morning halfway to Thursday.

And why is there breast milk? I....I....Shannon, you may have ruined my coffee this morning. And made me cry a little.


message 6: by Suanne (last edited Feb 16, 2016 05:36AM) (new)

Suanne Laqueur Since we're on the subject, Amanda Palmer (aka Mrs. Gaiman) posted an amazing picture on Instagram:

"Rules of motherhood: be extremely flexible. this evening i was torn between getting my hair dyed, feeding the baby, and guest singing in @jillsobule's backup band at an after-party in a bar. this is me, with dye in my hair, breastfeeding a baby in a bathroom in a bar. the end."

https://www.instagram.com/p/BB11_4iQW...
description


*The Angry Reader* Suanne wrote: "Since we're on the subject, Amanda Palmer (aka Mrs. Gaiman) posted an amazing picture on Instagram....breastfeeding in a bar's bathroom while the dye sets in her hair. Because she's Mrs. Gaiman.

h..."


I saw it! And loved it! She's kind of amazing


Shannon Moore I'm sorry! I couldn't keep that in anymore! Honesty I'd have to send an email to explain it. There's just too much.


*The Angry Reader* Shannon wrote: "I'm sorry! I couldn't keep that in anymore! Honesty I'd have to send an email to explain it. There's just too much."

Now I'm really curious! And horrified.


Shannon Moore I'll send you a message after work :|


*The Angry Reader* Shannon wrote: "I'll send you a message after work :|"

Sweet.


message 12: by Ceki (new)

Ceki lololol I love your review!


*The Angry Reader* freenightfalls wrote: "lololol I love your review!"

Thank you. Thank you very much. :) It's always best to encourage me for my most obnoxious work. It guarantees I'll produce more. ;)


message 14: by Ceki (new)

Ceki Oh and please do tell me what is that "big secret" that turned them into such bitches, I'm so curious :D


Heather the Queen of (Smut)Books Can I just refer everyone to your review please??? Really Lionel Ritchie? That's a step up....well unless shoulder pads are involved.


*The Angry Reader* Heather the Queen of (Smut)Books wrote: "Can I just refer everyone to your review please??? Really Lionel Ritchie? That's a step up....well unless shoulder pads are involved."

Big big shoulder pads.


message 17: by Ana (new) - rated it 1 star

Ana Thank god I'm not alone with this book.Im exactly done at 26% in this bullshit too.Cant believe this trash and high ratings ...ughh


*The Angry Reader* Ana wrote: "Thank god I'm not alone with this book.Im exactly done at 26% in this bullshit too.Cant believe this trash and high ratings ...ughh"

I like to sit and wonder what other readers see in this book. Or perhaps imagine I'm just being Punk'd.
Ps - I know what happens from here. Keep reading. DO IT! It gets so. Much. Worse.


message 19: by Suanne (new)

Suanne Laqueur (Passes the popcorn)


*The Angry Reader* Suanne wrote: "(Passes the popcorn)"

I only eat popcorn with m&ms in it.


message 21: by Suanne (new)

Suanne Laqueur .....I knew I loved you.


*The Angry Reader* Suanne wrote: ".....I knew I loved you."

It's bc I'm salty. And sweet.


message 23: by Tracie (new)

Tracie Payne I LOVE this review!! I couldn't get past the sample quite frankly. I had a friend reading it and we kept messing busting up at all the foolishness! The writing was juvenile and way to fast and shallow and he was just an asshole. And from what I've bears it got much worse.


*The Angry Reader* Tracie wrote: "I LOVE this review!! I couldn't get past the sample quite frankly. I had a friend reading it and we kept messing busting up at all the foolishness! The writing was juvenile and way to fast and shal..."

Thank you! Juvenile and shallow are both so true of this book. And he was awful. No woman should think it's romantic to be treated the way he treated her. I did get the scoop on where the book goes. I'm glad I got out when I did.


Mojo_Mama Oh, this whole thread made my morning. Alas, I wish I'd read it before the book. (*shudders-uncontrollably*)

Great review...even better moniker ;)


Eve (Between The Bookends) Your whole review is simply awesome! This one does indeed sound like a giant pile of steamy poo. *lol*


*The Angry Reader* Thank you all for supporting my rage. ;)


message 28: by Kelli (new) - rated it 1 star

Kelli Spear Thank you!!! I agree with everything you said.


message 29: by CC (new) - added it

CC Ok your review and progress comments made me LOL at work. Totally hilarious. But I thought your best observation was the one you made below....

"The entire room soon quieted down, and all eyes were on the stunning blond male specimen with the spotlight shining down on him. Despite the fact that I was carrying a large round tray of dirty dishes, I couldn't move. The vibration of his thick, smoky singing voice had completely paralyzed me, penetrating my body and soul." If Hemingway is in Hell they read this out loud to him.


*The Angry Reader* Thank you :) Just rereading it is awful. Why are there so many words???


V. A Court of Wings and Ruin is NEW ADULT/EROTICA but Goodreads editors won't tell you to include it in the choice awards Great review! P Ward is in my list no thank you authors since MY skylar.


*The Angry Reader* Veronica - Idk if I've read anything else by her. I can say that I've not had this kind of reaction. This book's hype made it worse. All these people gushing over some truly awful crap. I took it out on the book. Now I'm gonna go see if I've read anything else of hers.


GimmeAllTheWerdssss Great review! I wish I would have stopped after the H had obnoxious sex with the GF purpously so the h could hear but sadly I didn't...trust me that it only got worse!! The H was a tool until the last possible moment and the h was a complete doormat.


*The Angry Reader* Thank you! It was a fun review to write. Sadly not a fun book to read.


message 35: by Diane (new)

Diane Wallace honest n pointed..


message 36: by Aimee (new) - added it

Aimee It was a "meh" read for me.


message 37: by lisa (new) - rated it 1 star

lisa It was trash from the beginning and i don't know why I thought it'd get better because it definitely didn't. Justin was immature and an a--hole and Amelia made no sense blaming herself for that silly "betrayal"


message 38: by jamix123 (new)

jamix123 good review


message 39: by Bahar (new)

Bahar Oh you saved me from wasting my time on such crap. I think your review might be one of the most interesting texts on this page, the book included.


*The Angry Reader* Thank you all! :) I still love this review


Ⓐlleskelle - teamSøren♗ ⊲I like big b00ks⊳ THIS review! Be glad for dnf'ing early enough. It gets so much worse later in the book.


message 42: by marie (new)

marie I'm so glad I read this review. It really did make me reconsider reading this book. Your description of the leading male is everything I try to avoid when it comes to reading a book. I may read this book in the future when I change my mind. Great review!


*The Angry Reader* Alex - it’s difficult to imagine it getting worse.

Za - always happy to be of service to a fellow reader.


message 44: by Tracie (new)

Tracie Payne Oh I hated this. I barely made it through the sample. Perfect review.


Mazuch THIS. ALL THIS. I did actually finish the book because apparently I'm a glutton for punishment. But the writing was atrocious! The main characters acted like selfish 12-year-olds! So bad. Definitely a one-star book.


Nicole Wish I'd read your review before getting this, I cannot stand the writing at all! I could probably get deal with the plot but have no idea how this book got so many good reviews with this writing. Going to have to power through though, don't like an unfinished book in my kindle library!


message 47: by Maryam (new)

Maryam The worst book I have ever read.


back to top