Sam Julian's Reviews > The Diamond Age

The Diamond Age by Neal Stephenson
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
42834236
's review

liked it

Visionary but flawed

The end felt rushed, and the notion of ethnic phyles frustratingly backward from our present perspective. Worth reading for his vision of the nanotech future.
13 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Diamond Age.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

January 22, 2016 – Shelved
January 22, 2016 – Shelved as: to-read
January 26, 2016 – Started Reading
February 18, 2016 –
page 50
"I was really intrigued for the first half but it sort of feels like all the drama has dissipated away. The story structure is unique, and the world is fascinating enough to capture my attention, but I'm having a hard time getting interested in Nell's adventures in the Primer. Of all the story concepts that one feels the most dated."
February 25, 2016 –
75.0% "This is the most boring video game ever! Spending months on the same puzzle? I would rage quit."
February 29, 2016 –
84.0% "This book is long. Like Snow Crash, it feels aimless and no doubt will explode into shocking intensity before being ignominiously resolved by forces beyond the individual character's comprehension."
March 1, 2016 –
92.0% "The main character's choices seem insane, and there is not enough insight into her reasons to convince me otherwise."
March 3, 2016 – Finished Reading

No comments have been added yet.