Christie«SHBBblogger»'s Reviews > Rookie Move

Rookie Move by Sarina Bowen
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
6650940



Title: Rookie Move
Series: Brooklyn Bruisers #1
Author: Sarina Bowen
Release date: September 6, 2016
Cliffhanger: No
HEA(view spoiler)



I think I could write this entire review just simply listing all of the reasons why I loved Leo. He was one of those characters that endeared himself to me so perfectly. I found it very hard to find fault with him at all throughout the story. By the end of the book, I was thinking back to all of my favorite moments and realizing that "hero worship" is a real thing. And I probably have it. Okay, more than probably. I like an alpha hero just as much as the next girl, but there's something about those beta heroes that make my heart flutter. They know how to cherish their women, and he was no exception.

I'm fairly new to Sarina Bowen's books, having only read Bittersweet and Steadfast previously. So let's just say I was extremely surprised to discover that this particular book was written in 3rd person POV. I know this is a non-issue for most people, but I tend to avoid anything but first person, either single or dual. I have a hard time sinking into the story otherwise and there was an adjustment period here for me. Once I got past that initial bump, things went very smoothly.

Georgia is a publicist working for the Brooklyn Bruisers. Her budding career there is everything she dreamed of, if she disregards the fact that she'll now be working with her father. He just joined the team as the head coach and she's a little apprehensive going into work on his first day over how it will affect her job. Little does she know that he is the least of her worries. Her first love, her first everything is about to arrive, shake things up, and make her finally face their tough history together.

Leo Trevi was the source of all her stress at the moment. How odd that he could also be a source of comfort too.

As teenagers, they were the annoyingly perfect couple who seemed to have everything figured out. But one tragic event altered their lives in ways they never dreamed possible. Georgia cut him free and spent the last five years comparing everyone else to him and realizing that they were doomed to fall short.

Leo is just as shocked to be face to face with (in his words) the love of his life. Though things ended on a bad note, he doesn't hold any bitterness or anger towards her. From their very first interaction you really see how his attraction and old feelings haven't faded one bit.

Georgia had always been able to reduce him to a throbbing heap of need with a single hot glance. That obviously hadn't changed.

I felt their craving for each other right from the start. I knew all of their bottled up emotions couldn't be contained for very long, especially since he was determined to clear the air between them and force her to communicate about where they went wrong. That's one of the things I really appreciated about him. He was a hero who wanted to communicate to solve their problems! Not keep silent and create more. Lord, was that refreshing!



On top of their history together that they had to sort out, they had the added difficulty of her father's intense dislike for Leo. Not only would he disapprove of them getting back together, but his feelings also cause them to worry about him unfairly being traded off of the team without a proper chance to prove himself. With all of the uncertainty of how a relationship would affect their jobs, they must decide if the rewards are worth the risks.

Georgia made a bit of a frustrating decision towards the end. I understand why she would do what she did, after years of trying to come to terms with the horrible event in her past and not fully succeeding. And I think the way Leo handled the turn of events was just perfection. He had me swooning all over the place over his sensitivity to what she needed. I can easily say he's one of my favorite heroes I've read all year.

Overall, I was really happy with Rookie Move. It's great for readers who are fans of second chance romance, and sweet and sexy heroes that don't take no for an answer. There was just the right amount of angst and steam to keep you turning the pages, balanced with some really enjoyable humor. I'm really looking forward to reading O'Doul's book in January. Sarina has created secondary characters that are bursting with potential to shine in their own books. I have no doubt that they won't fail to impress after this introduction to the series.

FOLLOW SMOKIN HOT BOOK BLOG ON:

TwitterGoogle PlusBlogEmailGoodreadsPinteresttsūFacebook


51 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Rookie Move.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

January 22, 2016 – Shelved
January 22, 2016 – Shelved as: to-read
March 30, 2016 – Shelved as: sept2016
June 28, 2016 – Shelved as: advanced-copy
August 10, 2016 – Shelved as: up-next
August 18, 2016 – Started Reading
August 18, 2016 –
1.0% "I need this to have that "wow factor" I've been missing in my last few books. Come on, Leo. I know you have it in you...\n\n"
August 22, 2016 –
60.0% "Georgia had always been able to reduce him to a throbbing heap of need with a single hot glance. That obviously hadn't changed. \n\nLeo! <--Swoon-worthy hero over here. Loving him!!"
August 24, 2016 – Shelved as: athlete-mc
August 24, 2016 – Shelved as: part-of-a-series
August 24, 2016 – Shelved as: reunited-and-it-feels-so-good
August 24, 2016 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-39 of 39 (39 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» Enjoy, darling! :) xoxo


Christie«SHBBblogger» Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» wrote: "Enjoy, darling! :) xoxo"

Thanks, babe! I am enjoying it. I love Leo.


Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» Christie«SHBBblogger» wrote: "Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» wrote: "Enjoy, darling! :) xoxo"

Thanks, babe! I am enjoying it. I love Leo. "


Gosh, Sarina Bowen really knows how to write her sports heroes. Glad Leo isn't a downer! ;P xoxo


Christie«SHBBblogger» Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» wrote: "Christie«SHBBblogger» wrote: "Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» wrote: "Enjoy, darling! :) xoxo"

Thanks, babe! I am enjoying it. I love Leo. "

Gosh, Sarina Bowen really knows how to write her sports heroes. Glad ..."

Yes! I needed something great. Leo just completely stole the spotlight for me, he was perfection. Can't wait for everyone to read it!


Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» Christie«SHBBblogger» wrote: "Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» wrote: "Christie«SHBBblogger» wrote: "Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» wrote: "Enjoy, darling! :) xoxo"

Thanks, babe! I am enjoying it. I love Leo. "

Gosh, Sarina Bowen really knows how to write..."


YAY! Looking forward to your full thoughts, hon! :) xoxo


message 6: by Jeannine (new) - added it

Jeannine Allison Great review!! I'm ridiculously excited for this one :) I'm definitely surprised it's written in third POV, every book I've read (eight or so) by her have been 1st...


message 7: by Erika (new) - added it

Erika Wonderful review!


Claire Robinson Great Review, Christie xxx


message 9: by Jennifer (new)

Jennifer Kyle Fab review Christie xx


Maria✦❋Steamy Reads Blog❋✦ Terrific review, darling! xoxo


Christy Beautiful review, lovely! x


Christie«SHBBblogger» Jeannine wrote: "Great review!! I'm ridiculously excited for this one :) I'm definitely surprised it's written in third POV, every book I've read (eight or so) by her have been 1st..."

Oh really? I figured she wrote both but I hadn't discovered it yet. Good to know! Thanks, Jeanine. :)


Christie«SHBBblogger» Nancy wrote: "Yay! Glad you loved it. Can't wait to read this. Great review! xo"

I did! Thank you, Nancy! I hope you love it as well. ❤️


Christie«SHBBblogger» Erika wrote: "Wonderful review!"

Thanks, Erika! xx


Christie«SHBBblogger» Claire wrote: "Great Review, Christie xxx"

Thank you, Claire! :D


Christie«SHBBblogger» Jennifer wrote: "Fab review Christie xx"

Thanks so much, Jennifer! <3


Christie«SHBBblogger» ✤Maria✤ wrote: "Terrific review, darling! xoxo"

Thanks, love! xo :)


Christie«SHBBblogger» Christy wrote: "Beautiful review, lovely! x"

Thanks so much, babe! :D ❤️


Astrid - The Bookish Sweet Tooth Wonderful review my sweetie! <3 I'm happy it was a winner.

I totally agree with the beta-heroes can make your heart flutter just as much. It doesn't always have to be bossy :D


Christie«SHBBblogger» Astrid - ✿ˑ☆ Vanilla & Spice Books ☆ˑ✿ wrote: "Wonderful review my sweetie! <3 I'm happy it was a winner.

I totally agree with the beta-heroes can make your heart flutter just as much. It doesn't always have to be bossy :D"


I do love those betas! They're such a pleasure to read about after so many alphas. Thanks, hon! xx


Sher❤ The Fabulous BookLover Fab review Christie:)xo


Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» GORGEOUS review and graphics, babe!! Second chance romances are so much fun to read about, all the tension brewing. And I LOVE that there is no non-communication in this. Refreshing for sure! I can't wait to meet Leo now. So happy you enjoyed! :D xoxox


message 23: by Sanaa Z. (new)

Sanaa Z. Awesome review :) I can't wait to read this!


Christie«SHBBblogger» Sher❤ The Fabulous BookLover wrote: "Fab review Christie:)xo"

Thanks, honey! :D xo


Christie«SHBBblogger» Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» wrote: "GORGEOUS review and graphics, babe!! Second chance romances are so much fun to read about, all the tension brewing. And I LOVE that there is no non-communication in this. Refreshing for sure! I can..."
Thanks, babe! I do love second chance romance when done right, and this was very well done. And the no mis/non communication was an extra added bonus! No OTT drama! Yes!


message 27: by Candace (new)

Candace Great review, Christie! :)


Eliza Superb review, C! I'm glad SB is a winning author for you too! xoxo


✦❋Arianna✦❋ Terrific review, Christie! xx


Christie«SHBBblogger» Arianna wrote: "Terrific review, Christie! xx"

Candace wrote: "Great review, Christie! :)"

Sharon ∞❥ is an emotional book junkie ❥∞ wrote: "wonderful review Christie!"

Thanks, ladies!! xx


Christie«SHBBblogger» Eliza wrote: "Superb review, C! I'm glad SB is a winning author for you too! xoxo"

She's becoming an auto-buy for me really quickly. I could slap myself for waiting so long to read her books. Thanks, E! <3


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Wonderful review, lovely! xx


Christie«SHBBblogger» Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ wrote: "Wonderful review, lovely! xx"
Thanks, babe! <3


~ Stéphanie ~ Tied up in Romance ~ Fantastic review Christie :) xx


Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤  Awesome review honey im reading this now and its really good :)


Christie«SHBBblogger» ~ Stéphanie ~ wrote: "Fantastic review Christie :) xx"

Thank you, honey! :D xo


Christie«SHBBblogger» Pavlina loves Dex ❤❤ wrote: "Awesome review honey im reading this now and its really good :)"

Yay! It's really awesome, isn't it? I'm glad you're enjoying, Pav! I'll be looking for your review. <3


FMABookReviews Terrific review, Christie! I loved this one too. YES! 3rd person usually drives me batty, but I felt it was so well written, it was a non-issue for me, too. :)


Christie«SHBBblogger» FMABookReviews wrote: "Terrific review, Christie! I loved this one too. YES! 3rd person usually drives me batty, but I felt it was so well written, it was a non-issue for me, too. :)"

I think it was Leo. He makes everything all better. Lol! I had no choice but to love it, he was the perfect hero for me. :P Thanks, Angela! xx


back to top