Kiki's Reviews > Hades

Hades by Alexandra Adornetto
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
4074594
's review

did not like it
bookshelves: angels-and-demons, books-to-use-as-weapons, love-stinks, masochism, ya, choking-noises, mayhem-and-misogyny, lost-the-will-to-live, papa-dont-preach
Recommended to Kiki by: A psychopath
Recommended for: Psychopaths

206 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Hades.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

March 1, 2011 – Shelved
April 2, 2011 – Shelved as: angels-and-demons
April 2, 2011 – Shelved as: books-to-use-as-weapons
April 2, 2011 – Shelved as: love-stinks
April 2, 2011 – Shelved as: masochism
April 2, 2011 – Shelved as: ya
September 26, 2011 – Started Reading
September 26, 2011 –
page 1
0.24% "So your opening paragraph to the sequel of an already shit novel is a long-winded description of the WEATHER? When I bought this book with a discount for the lulz, I KNEW I'd be getting my money's worth."
September 26, 2011 –
page 3
0.71% "AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! Walnut hair is back with a vengeance, bitches."
September 26, 2011 –
page 7
1.65% "Some serious dictionary rape here. "Resplendent"? Microsoft Word is your best friend, Ally."
September 26, 2011 –
page 10
2.35% "This chapter is called, "Co-Dependent". I'm co-dependent on the hope that one day a bulldozer will crush your laptop and destroy all your Halo Word files, Ally. Also, this book is fucking hilarious. Best slapstick comedy I ever read."
September 26, 2011 –
page 14
3.29% ""ONE BIG ORGY," was what Hallie meant to say. That's what you meant, right? Oh, naughty little Ally! Oh, my! You cheeky little church girl! You're so risqué! You meant to say "ORGY!" You know, the word "ORGY"? Shall I say it again? ORGY? Maybe once more? ORGY? Again? No? ... ORGY."
September 27, 2011 –
page 19
4.47% "I agree with Hallie. Our power couple's "relationship" is the kind that ends with one person insane and another chopped up in a dustbin."
September 27, 2011 –
page 20
4.71% "Hells yeah, betches! A séance IS awesome."
September 27, 2011 –
page 23
5.41% "Oh, yeah, Xavier? You're going to call Bethany "babe"? Why don't you just call her "tits and ass"? Oh, and also, Bethany says it doesn't matter if she misses a joke or two. Yeah, Beth, it doesn't matter if you appear stupid. You have zero self-worth anyway, so as long as Xavier dominates you, then you're happy-dappy-ding-dong. OH MY GOD THIS BOOK IS SO ANTI-FEMINIST IT IS KILLING MY SOUL."
September 27, 2011 –
page 28
6.59% "Xavier talks to Bethany like she's a piece of shit."
September 27, 2011 –
page 29
6.82% "I like Madison, though I don't know why Ally didn't just strip the BS and say, "Xavier didn't like her because she voiced her opinion". Sounds more like it."
September 27, 2011 –
page 47
11.06% "Ah, the séance! I love a good séance. I also love how Ally knows absolutely bugger-all about how it works, and is fucking it up royally. "Don't break the circle"? They used a "sherry glass"? God, Adornetto, do some research before you fart out this bunch of wishy-washy crap."
September 27, 2011 –
page 56
13.18% "I hope Xavier is good and dead. I hope they bury him under a headstone that says, "Beloved narcissistic walnut-haired ass-goblin.""
September 27, 2011 –
page 62
14.59% "I fucking love Jake. YOU GO JAKE."
September 27, 2011 –
page 66
15.53% "Hell is like The World That Never Was. When your Pit of eternal damnation resembles a landscape in which Mickey Mouse swordfights, then there's a teeny-tiny issue here."
September 27, 2011 –
page 71
16.71% "Here we go: all of Hell's inhabitants are scantily-clad smokers with bisexual overtones. "She looked at me hungrily". So these are the people who live in Hell, right? Ally, you need a serious reality check, and a good hard kick in the pants. This is a fucking insult."
September 29, 2011 –
page 94
22.12% "Dammit! I thought Xavier would be good and dead, and out of the picture..."
September 29, 2011 –
page 103
24.24% "Am I the only one noticing all the ethnic people in Hell? Yes? No? What's with that? Does this mean only white people go to Heaven?"
September 29, 2011 –
page 109
25.65% "I totally agree with Jake. Am I the only one who's really starting to like him?"
September 29, 2011 –
page 111
26.12% "Another black person in Hell! Scantily-clad, too! Also, WHY THE FUCK ARE THERE JIMMY CHOOS IN HELL? Didn't the designer think it weird that he was being commissioned by DEMONS FROM HELL?"
September 29, 2011 –
page 113
26.59% "I absolutely LOVE Asia."
September 29, 2011 –
page 113
26.59% "Typo! Hawwwww yeeeaaaaah! I found a typo, bitches! "Asia eye's flashed with excitement". WHAT THE FUCK IS THAT?"
September 29, 2011 –
page 122
28.71% "So Yeats and Yates now? How'd that happen? Oy, the typos in this book are just brilliant."
September 29, 2011 –
page 126
29.65% "Big...Da...*muffled snorts*...Big hahhy...*snigger*...Big Daddy? BIG DADDY? What is he, a fallen angel or a porn star? Give him his dick back, Ally!"
September 29, 2011 –
page 128
30.12% "Haw yeaaaah...a DEMON ORGY. There's that word again! ORGY. Again? ORGY. Once more? Yes? No? ORGY."
September 29, 2011 –
page 131
30.82% "Deus ex machina."
September 29, 2011 –
page 134
31.53% "OH MY GOD SO MUCH PURPLE PROSE..."
September 29, 2011 –
page 138
32.47% "OH FUCK THERE IT IS AGAIN THE HORRIBLE SAPPINESS MY EYES MY EYES"
September 29, 2011 –
page 139
32.71% "Xavier, you fucking stupid douchebag, you're exactly the same as every single other human in any given angel-fiction novel/movie/TV show. THEY HAVE TO FOLLOWS GOD'S ORDERS, YOU FUCKING IDIOT. They can't just do whatever the fuck they want! You stupid asshole. Go wait in the hall."
September 29, 2011 –
page 141
33.18% "Extreme cheating at narration. Bethany assumes the feelings of others. This book should be in third person. Or not written at all."
September 29, 2011 –
page 146
34.35% "This is the fucking shittiest version of Hell I've ever had the misfortune of reading about. And what's more, Ally has just watched Supernatural and copied/pasted whole chunks of their imagining of Hell into her own. You thought Cassie Clare was bad? Check this shit out. Lif-ted."
September 29, 2011 –
page 150
35.29% "What the fucking shit? There were no girls in Hitler Youth! Go do some fucking research, dumbo!"
September 29, 2011 –
page 151
35.53% "This whole page is SO. BADLY. WRITTEN. I ache for literature."
September 29, 2011 –
page 156
36.71% "Yeah, be patient, Beth. Just wait for a big strong man to come save your cowering little ovaries and precious purity. This book reeks of right-wing virginity-worship and let me tell you, I'm already fucking insulted by the level of blatant slut-shaming and abstinence-preaching. Beth (more like Ally) seems to think she's better than everyone else because her hymen is intact. EAT SHIT AND DIE."
September 29, 2011 –
page 160
37.65% "Xavier is a fucking Gary-Stu, and a sniveling little suck-up of a golden boy. He'd get fucking minced at all the schools I've been to."
September 30, 2011 –
page 161
37.88% "Cheating at narration. AGAIN."
September 30, 2011 –
page 165
38.82% "I absolutely adore Jake. He's my absolute favorite character. I love him so much."
September 30, 2011 –
page 167
39.29% "OH MY GOD YOU STUPID DUMBASS, HADES IS NOT HELL! HADES IS NOT HELL! HADES IS NOT HELL!"
September 30, 2011 –
page 171
40.24% "This projection thing is so cheap. Insidious pulled it off; Hades fucks it up."
September 30, 2011 –
page 179
42.12% "I absolutely hate Xavier. He's a jumped-up self-righteous piece of shit, and he has no right to talk to Molly the way he does. He has absolutely no respect for anyone, especially not women. Especially not Beth. He's possessive, controlling and downright sick. I hate him with a burning passion."
September 30, 2011 –
page 181
42.59% "Oh. My. God. Where are the paragraph breaks? This is exhausting to read."
September 30, 2011 –
page 182
42.82% "Oh no she did not! Ally, you are NOT qualified to portray the ultimate and awesome badassness that is Saint Michael. Shame on you. Ugly baby judges you."
September 30, 2011 –
page 183
43.06% "Seriously, what the hell is with the chapter titles?"
September 30, 2011 –
page 184
43.29% "I wish Michael had said, "All of you go home. Who gives a shit about Bethany?""
September 30, 2011 –
page 189
44.47% "Xavier is a condescending prick. Screw him to Hell."
September 30, 2011 –
page 190
44.71% "GAH! Infodump! Infodump!"
September 30, 2011 –
page 194
45.65% "Oh, sure. Am I expected to believe that Molly can just call her mom up and casually state that she'll be gone for like, a week, and that's not a problem? Bull-shit."
September 30, 2011 –
page 195
45.88% "Caution. Lampshade hanging at ten o'clock."
September 30, 2011 –
page 200
47.06% "Xavier's head is so far up his own ass that his nose is his Adam's apple. Again: I absolutely hate him. I want him to die a bloody death. Screwdriver, anyone?"
September 30, 2011 –
page 203
47.76% "It's like a cheesefest in here."
September 30, 2011 –
page 205
48.24% "Is this Bethany's attempt at being strong? Don't make me laugh. If Bethany finds her own way out of Hell I'll eat my ha--uh, my sunglasses."
September 30, 2011 –
page 206
48.47% "Bethany is the Grand High Duchess of Mary-Sues."
September 30, 2011 –
page 207
48.71% "This is the absolute worst rendition of Hell I've ever seen. I've said it before, and I'll say it again: HOTELS? IN HELL? WHAT THE FUCK?"
September 30, 2011 –
page 210
49.41% "AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA. I love Asia."
September 30, 2011 –
page 211
49.65% "Ohemgee! Beth's wearing a skirt ABOVE THE KNEE! Someone throw her a bedsheet and hide her shame."
September 30, 2011 –
page 214
50.35% ""The total absence of moral parameters was sickening". Funny; Club Hex sounds like high school. Oh, Ally, how ignorant are thee."
September 30, 2011 –
page 216
50.82% "Oh. My. Holy. Bajeesus. Really, Alex? EIGHT angels fell with Lucifer? Can you read? Is there something wrong with your legs that you can't walk to the library research centre? Or are you just that lazy?"
September 30, 2011 –
page 220
51.76% "Hotel Ambrosia. ... *muffled snort*"
September 30, 2011 –
page 225
52.94% "This is so, so morally wrong and incredibly disturbing. I don't know why green-lighted this, but they're got some serious issues. This is not a laughing matter, and Alex is bang out of order if she thinks she has the right to preach like this. This is just...ugh. Completely out of order."
September 30, 2011 –
page 226
53.18% "Um...sorry for that last garbled update. I was all angry, and stuff."
September 30, 2011 –
page 226
53.18% ""As I walked a passage from the Bible floated back to me". Ah, I totally get you, Beth. Just the other day I was buying tampons and gum at Shoppers', and a verse from the Bible just stopped me right in the snack isle."
September 30, 2011 –
page 238
56.0% "Again: this is disgusting. I hate this whole little sub-plot with Taylah. It's just...disgusting. It feels like a scare tactic."
September 30, 2011 –
page 241
56.71% "Oh...no...oh, God no...no, that's not...*chokes*"
September 30, 2011 –
page 243
57.18% "Velvet? She's going to wear velvet? Oh, come on, Jake. Seriously?"
September 30, 2011 –
page 255
60.0% "What the hell just happened?"
September 30, 2011 –
page 257
60.47% "Beth is so damn stupid, she could get locked in a supermarket and starve to death."
September 30, 2011 –
page 259
60.94% "Is it weird that the only character I give a shit about is Jake?"
September 30, 2011 –
page 262
61.65% "No...oh, no...please, I beg of you...not Lucifer...please...oh, please, no...NO! NAO! STOP! I BEG OF YOU! IT BURNS!"
September 30, 2011 –
page 265
62.35% "HAHAHAHAHAHA."
September 30, 2011 –
page 268
63.06% "Spirited? No. Mind-numbingly stupid? Yes."
September 30, 2011 –
page 270
63.53% "More lampshade hanging. Fuck this shit."
September 30, 2011 –
page 272
64.0% "Yuh yuh yuh! BURN HER!"
September 30, 2011 –
page 278
65.41% "Go die in a gutter, Xavier."
September 30, 2011 –
page 286
67.29% "Mkay. So you're using Dante's Hell structure, thus there are nine circles. And yet you choose not to follow the mythology and instead butcher it to within an inch of its life with a cheesy piss-take that belongs in one of the rubbishy early Final Fantasy games? Oh, hell no. Ally, why don't you just cut the crap and tell us you think we're idiots to our faces? I hope Dante haunts you in your sleep."
September 30, 2011 –
page 289
68.0% "The prose is so purple that it takes forever for anything to be explained. A good hundred and fifty pages could have been cut from this book and the plot would not have suffered."
September 30, 2011 –
page 290
68.24% "More Mary-Sue deus ex machina. Oh, what was I expecting?"
September 30, 2011 –
page 295
69.41% "Oh, Xavier, please shut the fuck up. I'm this close to feeding this book to the dog. Or writing some fanfiction in which you get keel-hauled and hacked to pieces with a rusty cleaver. Go. Suck. A. Dick."
September 30, 2011 –
page 306
72.0% "I wish this book was about Molly and Gabriel."
September 30, 2011 –
page 309
72.71% "OH STOP WITH ALL THE DESCRIPTION FOR THE LOVE OF FUCK."
September 30, 2011 –
page 313
73.65% ""Sister Faith"? Ohmigod, Ally, I SEE WHAT YOU DID THAR."
September 30, 2011 –
page 315
74.12% "Purple it out, bitches."
September 30, 2011 –
page 321
75.53% "Nyak nyak nyak. This scene is actually kind of enjoyable. Finally, some decent action."
September 30, 2011 –
page 325
76.47% "Excuse me while I gag into my purse."
September 30, 2011 –
page 327
76.94% "I can't believe this. I know what happened here: Ally didn't do any actual research, she just watched Supernatural and copied the entire mythos into this shitfest novel. I AM NOT AN IDIOT, ALEXANDRA."
September 30, 2011 –
page 329
77.41% "The narrative is going round and round in circles, so much so that I can't keep up with it."
September 30, 2011 –
page 331
77.88% "Again, I wish this book was about Molly and Gabriel."
September 30, 2011 –
page 333
78.35% "Oh, Ivy, stop being such an asshole."
September 30, 2011 –
page 338
79.53% "How shitty and anti-climactic. This sucks ass. Look, I know it's stupid to expect anything with Molly and Gabriel, but right now I've given up on expecting anything decent in terms of mythology from this book. At least a character romance that I could actually believe in would have softened the blow."
September 30, 2011 –
page 340
80.0% "Alex is trying to tell us what love is? Really, Ally? You're opening that can of worms? Come, now. Let's be real here."
September 30, 2011 –
page 342
80.47% "Bethie doesn't deserve a friend like Molly. She talks smack about her like there's no tomorrow. What a snide little bitch she is."
September 30, 2011 –
page 349
82.12% "Oh, Jake. Sigh. You're so lame, and yet you're the best character."
September 30, 2011 –
page 359
84.47% "No, gratitude for risking brute castration for the sake of your fucking pixie wings, Bethany. God, you're so freaking stupid, it's unbelievable. Like, I didn't know it was possible to write a character that's so stupid."
September 30, 2011 –
page 367
86.35% "Whoa, Ivy. That was...unprecedented."
September 30, 2011 –
page 369
86.82% "OH MY GOD YOU DIDN'T! Oh, shit. Come on! You put lyrics to "Livin' on a Prayer" in your narrative? This is just too easy."
September 30, 2011 –
page 373
87.76% "Yay! You go, Jake! You go!"
September 30, 2011 –
page 375
88.24% "Oh, this is just a piss-take now. On one page we have Xavier's hair being compared to honey, then walnuts, then a halo. THIS IS RIDICULOUS."
September 30, 2011 –
page 380
89.41% "Deus ex machina ahoy."
September 30, 2011 –
page 385
90.59% ""polo-wearing pretty boy". Yes, Jake Thorn! Oh, damn, you rock my world."
September 30, 2011 –
page 386
90.82% ""I want you to give me your virtue". Your virtue? YOUR VIRTUE? ARE YOU FUCKING SHITTING ME? ARE YOU PULLING MY FUCKING CHAIN? VIRTUE?"
September 30, 2011 –
page 391
92.0% "Oh, you stupid fucking asshole. You're having sex, not dying painfully. This purity MYTH indoctrination is exactly what is wrong with the entire concept of these books, and it makes me sick. SICK. This book condemns all those who choose sexual freedom and who choose not to be afraid of their sexuality. Virginity is not virtue. Virginity does not exist. It is an institution built by right-wing WORMs. End of."
September 30, 2011 –
page 397
93.41% ""...and from beneath his flowing robes he withdrew an object so bright and glorious that Xavier had to turn his face away". AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA PENIS HUMOR."
September 30, 2011 –
page 401
94.35% "Do it, Jake! Fuck her till she's sore!"
September 30, 2011 –
page 402
94.59% "Do it, Bethany! Ride him till he passes out!"
September 30, 2011 –
page 403
94.82% ""...a familiar 1956 Chevrolet Bel Air convertible plunged through the jagged hole". AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA MORE PENIS HUMOR!"
September 30, 2011 –
page 406
95.53% "Everything...is...happening...so...slowly..."
September 30, 2011 –
page 410
96.47% "NAO! JAKE! DON'T DIE!"
September 30, 2011 –
page 412
96.94% "And good little Bethany keeps her virtue. This is fucking sickening."
September 30, 2011 –
page 415
97.65% ""I've spent thirteen years of my life at this school". What? How does that work? Nobody stays at the same school for thirteen years! What the hell?"
September 30, 2011 –
page 419
98.59% "Ah...no...no more...*screams with laughter*...oh, God...don't...it's...AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA *shrieks of hilarity*"
September 30, 2011 –
page 420
98.82% "This is wish fulfillment at it's very worst. God help us all."
September 30, 2011 –
page 423
99.53% "Another little punch at Molly. Smooth."
September 30, 2011 –
page 424
99.76% "And...I'm...FUCKING DONE WITH THIS BULLSHIT! YAAAAS!"
September 30, 2011 – Shelved as: choking-noises
September 30, 2011 – Finished Reading
January 7, 2012 – Shelved as: mayhem-and-misogyny
January 7, 2012 – Shelved as: lost-the-will-to-live
January 7, 2012 – Shelved as: papa-dont-preach

Comments Showing 1-50 of 146 (146 new)


message 1: by Faybear (new) - added it

Faybear im so with you on that!!!


message 2: by Riv (new) - added it

Riv Gabe<3 (is that wrong to write? he's an angel)


message 3: by Kiki (new) - rated it 1 star

Kiki Riv, loving an angel is like eating pie.

There are only benefits.


message 4: by Riv (new) - added it

Riv you've got a point.
wait. what about the calories?


message 5: by Kiki (new) - rated it 1 star

Kiki Calories schmalories. After you eat pie, read Halo. You'll burn off all the fat just by face-palming.


Cassandra ^^^Agreed.
HALO WAS HORRIBLE! I have this thing wrong with me that once I start a series, I can't stop. I have read some horrible amount of series because of this flaw I possess. Curiosity did kill that freakin' cat, ya know?


message 7: by Wendy Darling (new)

Wendy Darling You can take one for the team. ;)


message 8: by Ceilidh (new)

Ceilidh That cover is still ridiculous.


message 9: by Ceilidh (new)

Ceilidh Hello to you! I'm pretty damn good today, and yourself?

You're a brave/crazy woman for making such a step to review this bilge for us all. Your sacrifice to your sanity will be greatly appreciated. There is absolutely no way this book will be anything but garbage. Even if her style has improved, I doubt her anti-feminist attitudes have.


message 10: by [deleted user] (new)

I just noticed that they changed the cover. I think it's ridiculous by the way. I'll be reading Hades but i won't be paying for it(like i did the first one, which i returned immediately after reading it..blah!)


message 11: by Vi (new) - rated it 1 star

Vi Vi All of the Death Note related usernames up in here are making me hot trufax.

Can't wait for your review! The cover looks...wow, I thought F+F usually turned out better covers than this wtf?


message 12: by Katya (new) - rated it 1 star

Katya You always know that a book is going to be bad when it gives up the moral conflict in the summary.


message 13: by [deleted user] (new)

Halo & Hades = Adornetto's fantasy of herself printed on paper for the world to see. Just like Stephanie Meyer's twilight. What happened to the novels that weren't based on an authors twisted dream about themselves?


message 14: by Sandy (new) - added it

Sandy Nope, still hate that cover.


message 15: by Sandy (new) - added it

Sandy I'm getting it from the library, of course. (Unlike OTHERS I know, I didn't actually purchase Halo *ahem, Cillian*.) =)


message 16: by [deleted user] (new)

Question: Does everyone here have a local library that has new young adult novels available close to their release dates? Because my library takes about 3-6 months just to get them which is why i'm glad i work at a book store.


message 17: by Sandy (new) - added it

Sandy I'm such a library addict that I've joined several libraries in the area, and I scout them all out for the books I want to read. If one doesn't have it, usually I can get it from another. If it's a really popular title, they usually have it preordered, but otherwise, at least one of the libraries will have it within a few weeks of its release date.


message 18: by Sandy (new) - added it

Sandy Mocha...so jealous about the bookstore thing. Then you get ARCs! I've seen what you've been reading lately. Divergent??? Yup, I have to wait until May.


message 19: by [deleted user] (new)

Spoiler: I love Divergent! Almost done, i'll post a review when i'm done.


message 20: by Sandy (new) - added it

Sandy All it takes is one awesome YA librarian to make life complete.

Shout out to the Mountain View teen librarian! She is so in touch with what's current and popular in YA literature that she has everything within a few weeks of release date.

I've like written her love letters telling her what a fantastic librarian she is.


message 21: by Sandy (new) - added it

Sandy And my beloved librarian already has Divergent preordered, and I'm #1 on the hold list. I've been going crazy reading everyone's updates--it sounds SO good!


message 22: by Kiki (last edited May 08, 2011 03:41PM) (new) - rated it 1 star

Kiki Holy stinking mother of toadstools, you guys, I go away to Staples for what, two hours, and here you all are building up this awesome little thread without me! I love you all.

About the whole self-insertion thing: it's the new craze in YA today, it seems. I don't blame folk like Adornetto; in high school English they're all about telling you that you should insert yourself into your writing to make it better. Seeing as Alex thinks that having English teachers as parents makes her an authority, we see plenty of this self-insertion in her writing which makes for boring detached reading, because who wants to read about someone else's little secret fantasy? It's weird. Yuh-huh.

I love libraries. I used to hate them because I secretly love having my own books to hold and put on my shelf, but when I'm as broke as I am now, the library has become my best friend. Granted, there's always a massive waiting list and they're not great at getting the newest YA, but for the most part it does me well. I was slightly exasperated, though, when I tried to order The Iron Witch and they didn't have it, and then I looked up Catching Fire and 110 people had it reserved before me.

Though I really have no desire to read Catching Fire, so it's no skin off my nose. I just thought I should check it out before I wax about The Hunger Games. Eh, who cares.


message 23: by Kiki (new) - rated it 1 star

Kiki Or a library!

I'm looking further into a job at the Disney store. Resumes abound! I also applied to Toys R Us because I want to be able to tell people that I sell Lego for a living. God, I'm pathetic.


message 24: by [deleted user] (new)

Yes!! Let the pestering begin!



This kitty is sad because you don't have a job. This sad kitty loves you and wants you to have money to buy wonderful wonderful books.


message 25: by Sandy (last edited Apr 20, 2011 05:44PM) (new) - added it

Sandy You don't need to have a degree in library science to work in a library. (Source: my librarian mom who does have a degree in it, but most of the people she worked with do not.)

I'd say MOST of the people at the library checking out books do not have a librarian degree. My mom has an MLS (master's in library science) so she's a reference librarian, but most people at the library do not have a degree in it or even a degree at all. In fact, it's hard to even find a university with a MLS program these days.

In California, the school budgets have been cut so drastically that even the school librarians at a lot of schools are aides instead of someone with a teaching certification. (School librarians usually have a teaching degree but not necessarily an MLS.)

So apply at your local library, Kira!


message 26: by Kiki (new) - rated it 1 star

Kiki I hope the kitty also wants me to have enough money to go to Europe next year. Oh, fie!

Honestly, BB, I had no idea any degree was required to work in a library. But anyway, I'm applying to as many bookstores as I can in the city, but if I can't find a position, it's tough. I need a job as soon as possible, and right now I don't particularly care what job that is. Like you said, darling, you do what you have to do.


message 27: by Sandy (new) - added it

Sandy Kira, see above! You don't need a degree! APPLY!


message 28: by Kiki (last edited Apr 20, 2011 06:00PM) (new) - rated it 1 star

Kiki HELLS SHIT YEAH!

And BB, please apologize to the hot goth chick and tell her not to worry, because she never knows, I may get a job in the bookstore after all. I am, however, flattered that she cares enough to secrete blood from her eye sockets due to my lack of a job thereof.


message 29: by Sandy (new) - added it

Sandy Mmmmm...curious, Cillian. Did they just mean a college degree in general? Because I'm pretty sure you can't get a bachelor's in library science. It's a master's program, and even then only a handful of schools offer it.

Well, they're being unnecessarily picky in Stockton because my mom's library had tons of college students and other people without a degree. Their loss, Cillian--you would have been awesome at the library!


message 30: by Sandy (new) - added it

Sandy I love your job SO MUCH. SOOOOO MUCH. I see you girls reading your ARCs and hanging out with the books all day, and I'm so jealous.


message 31: by Kiki (new) - rated it 1 star

Kiki I feel the pain, Sandy. It makes me feel like a douche when I think about all the freebies and ARCs I miss out on. Argh!


message 32: by Brigid ✩ (new)

Brigid ✩ "tricked into a motorcycle ride that ends up in Hell" --> All I can say is ... WOW.


message 33: by [deleted user] (new)

I don't know about you, but the summary and cover suggests that there may be some butchering of the Persephone myth.


message 34: by Kiki (new) - rated it 1 star

Kiki And thank you, Mommy. I feel much better now.


message 35: by Kiki (new) - rated it 1 star

Kiki I also don't know why they gave away pretty much the entire conflict in the summary for a book that isn't even out yet. Someone's clawing for readers after the disappointment of Halo...


message 36: by John (last edited Apr 21, 2011 09:00PM) (new) - rated it 1 star

John Egbert Awesome pre-reviewish thing. Thanks for the information about the angels, I wasn't quite sure what all of that stuff meant. Wow, I have a strange urge to write a angel-fantasy short story now that I know all of this.

PS: Death note is awesome. Totally. So is snarking bad books.


message 37: by Mel (new) - added it

Mel Lol that cover looks a lot better. But you know what they say: polish a turd, it's still a turd.


message 38: by Kiki (new) - rated it 1 star

Kiki True, Ducky, true. Shit's shit. You can't change the smell.

I will read this book, though. Just so I can snark about it on Goodreads. There are plenty more rants where this came from.

And Severus: you're welcome, my lovely! I'm glad I could pass on some angelic info. And write it! Write, write, write! We should all write!

Death Note is awesome. You are very and completely correct.

(Snarking books is also the boss. Just saying.)


message 39: by Brigid ✩ (new)

Brigid ✩ Beyond Birthday wrote: "♥ Brigid ♥ wrote: ""tricked into a motorcycle ride that ends up in Hell" --> All I can say is ... WOW."

I swear I didn't want to laugh, but it's too much.
Does Adornetto feel comfortable flagging ..."


Oh, don't worry. I laughed. I laughed hard.
Somehow I don't think she cares too much about the intelligence level of her characters; that was evident enough in the first book. Of course, she passed it off as Bethany being "innocent" or something like that––because she's just a silly inexperienced angel! ... Argh.
I don't know, maybe he drugs her? lol. But even then, it's pretty inexcusable. I didn't understand why she seemed to trust Jake so much in the first book, anyway. And wait––didn't they kill him with the magical power of their love?! I'm so confused! Guess I will have to read and torture myself find out.


message 40: by Sarah (new)

Sarah Your rage is similar to mine when I saw what Demi Moore did to the Scarlet Letter. To this day, if anyone mentions that movie, it jump starts an hour long rant. Don't even get me started on the idiotic Les Miserables adaptation. Some of us actually care about preserving the themes of the books we love!


message 41: by Nhi Le (new)

Nhi Le (The Literary Bystander) Wait, Halo isn't a STAND ALONE BOOK - but the *first* in a book TRILOGY? *cue instrumental from shower scene in Psycho*

I am the teeeeeniest bit curious about how the sequel turned out - but after reading Halo... yeah, you're definitely not gonna catch me reading it.


message 42: by Kiki (last edited May 27, 2011 07:23AM) (new) - rated it 1 star

Kiki I'm too curious, my dear. It's my worst trait. I'm going to read this book at the expense of my sanity, just to find out what happens. I'm masochistic like that.


message 43: by Nhi Le (new)

Nhi Le (The Literary Bystander) Geez Louise - what is she trying to be? The Australian teenage equivalent of Smeyer? We already have enough carbon copies of her - WE DON'T NEED MORE! D: D: D:

I was hoping it would not have to come down to this. But at least you will be able to warn the rest of the world to NOT READ THE BOOK afterward? *hugs*


Judith (Judith'sChoiceReads) I don't really know you, but I do love you. :) However my first and greatest love shall always be you reviews! Cheers!


message 45: by Cory (new)

Cory Wow. That trailer sucks. I added to the dislike total.


message 46: by ♔ Leah. (new) - added it

♔ Leah. The trailer... the fuck? S&M right at the end LOLOLOL.


message 47: by [deleted user] (new)

I'm Greek. Other kids grew up with Cinderella, I grew up listening (and later reading) about Zeus's sexual adventures, Hera's jealousy, an so on so on.
If you're so pissed about someone messing with angel mythology even though you are not an angel (at least I suppose you are not), imagine how pissed I am for someone messing with Greek mythology, which is essentially part of my literature heritage.
So thank you for pointing out THAT HELL DOESNOT EQUAL HADES. Not only is Mrs Adornetto mixing two mythologies, she's doing it half-assed too! (And I haven't even read the books). Now, if she told me that the Elysian Fields are the Paradise, fine, yeah, sure, whatever. That's acceptable (more or less). But Hades=Hell. Fuck no Mrs. Adornetto.
Anyway.
Off to watch that review.


Katie(babs) I ordered this from the Amazon Vine program because I read the first chapter and thought, why not lose myself in some sweet tween vision of Hell?


message 49: by Brigid ✩ (new)

Brigid ✩ Oh my goodness ... That book trailer. "BUT THEN JAKE KIDNAPS BETHANY. AND TAKES HER TO HELL. WHAT HAPPENS TO ANGELS IN HELL?" And yes, the chain around the ankle. Kinky indeed. Is it weird that I'm morbidly excited to read this?


message 50: by Kiki (new) - rated it 1 star

Kiki I'm morbidly excited to read it too, Brigid. Y'know, these books are so entertaining, but only because they're so shittastically bad that it's fucking hilarious. I love them.


« previous 1 3
back to top