warhawke's Reviews > When It Rains

When It Rains by Lisa De Jong
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
25494927
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: romance-love, tragic-heartbreaking, family-friendship
Recommended for: people who need to do some ugly crying

Genre: NA Contemporary Romance
Type: Standalone Book 1 of When It Rains series
POV: First Person - Female
Rating:




Kate Alexander and Beau Bennett had been best friends since they were kids. They told everything to each other until one day Kate had a secret she couldn’t part with. A secret that pulled her apart from everything that was good and changed their relationship.

Salvation came in the form of a new guy in town. Asher Hunt breathed new life into Kate. But he came with his own secret that could tear them apart.



I wanted an ugly crying book, I certainly got one with this even though it was more on the mild side lol!

There’s a difference between soul mates and true love. Looking at the surface, they are similar, but when I dug deep down inside, I found they were different.
 Is one type of love better than the other? I don’t know but I’m lucky enough to have found them both.


I do like Kate, but throughout the book I wasn’t happy with a lot of the decisions she made. She put herself in a corner and wallowed in her own misery. I understand what she went through was hard, but it was also hard to see how she was stuck on it.

He just wants what’s best for me, but I hate that he keeps sacrificing his own happiness to give it to me. I don’t deserve it.


I love Beau. He was sweet, caring and highly understanding. I wanted every best thing for him because he deserved it.



As much as I love Beau, Asher stole my heart. From the moment he was introduced, he captured my attention. I love how he made Kate opened up and how they healed each other.

We’re two people who aren’t happy when we’re apart, but can’t seem to get things right when we’re together.


When It Rains is a beautifully heartbreaking story of friendship and love of three young individuals who are just trying to find their feet in this world. It will make you appreciate the people around you because you’ll never know when life could turn you upside down.

Note 1: This is not a love triangle
Note 2: I love the napkins thing
Note 3: My eyes are a bit dry from the moisture lost hahah!

Books in the series:
When It Rains (Rains, #1) by Lisa De Jong After the Rain (Rains, #1.5) by Lisa De Jong Changing Forever (Rains, #2) by Lisa De Jong Living with Regret (Rains, #3) by Lisa De Jong


For more reviews/reveals/giveaways visit:


45 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read When It Rains.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

January 7, 2016 – Started Reading
January 7, 2016 – Shelved
January 7, 2016 –
2.0% "I hope my tears will fall like a torrential rain haha!\n \n "
January 8, 2016 –
19.0% " Whenever it rains, it all comes rushing back to me. Every single second of what happened that night flashes through my mind. \n \n --- I hope I won't have too many rain gif update hahah!\n \n "
January 8, 2016 –
37.0% " “But there are some things you just can’t change no matter how much you talk about them.” \n \n ---What the hell is his secret?! I'm speculating the shit out of this lol!\n \n "
January 8, 2016 –
41.0% " “From now on . . .” \n kiss. \n “When it rains . . .” \n kiss. \n “Think of me.”\n \n \n --- I tried. But I can't avoid posting raining gifs for this book updates... lol!\n \n "
January 9, 2016 –
64.0% " “You tell her or I will,” \n \n --- I knew it. I think I should brace myself! \n \n "
January 9, 2016 –
78.0% " "You light up my world even in my darkest moments.” \n \n "
January 9, 2016 –
100.0% " He’s my forever. \n \n "
January 9, 2016 – Shelved as: romance-love
January 9, 2016 – Shelved as: tragic-heartbreaking
January 9, 2016 – Shelved as: family-friendship
January 10, 2016 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-39 of 39 (39 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Patty ~ Wrapped Up In Reading Book Blog Get ready to CRY!!
I mean UGLY CRY!!


warhawke Patty ❤️❤️ Belongs To ❤️Kellan❤️Jesse❤️Lautner❤️Miller❤️Garrett❤️Dean and Archer❤️❤️ wrote: "Get ready to CRY!!
I mean UGLY CRY!!"


>>> I'm ready! Been waiting for the moment, but nothing yet so far haha!


Patty ~ Wrapped Up In Reading Book Blog Oh no it comes later!!
Like 80%
I cried loud
I cried hard
Next day my eyes were swollen


warhawke Patty ❤️❤️ Belongs To ❤️Kellan❤️Jesse❤️Lautner❤️Miller❤️Garrett❤️Dean and Archer❤️❤️ wrote: "Oh no it comes later!!
Like 80%
I cried loud
I cried hard
Next day my eyes were swollen"


>>> Ok hahaha! I'm only at 38% lol!


Patty ~ Wrapped Up In Reading Book Blog Oh just you wait!!
I swear I never cried that hard reading any other book.


message 6: by Anna (new)

Anna War hope you enjoying it i know ill cry all the time if i read it


warhawke Anna wrote: "War hope you enjoying it i know ill cry all the time if i read it"

Haha! Thanks Anna :D


message 8: by Joëlle (new) - added it

Joëlle Wonderful review! Glad this was a winner for you! xo


Maria What a great review War! This is one of my favorites, glad you enjoyed it =) xx


Ophelia's Book Blog Fantastic Review!


message 11: by Parvathy (new) - added it

Parvathy Fab review...:)


Alba and Her Secrets..♥ Great review, gorgeous!! :) xx


✦❋Arianna✦❋ Terrific review, War!;)


Jennifer Kyle Lovely review War! xx


Candace Fantastic review, warhawke! I remember being gutted by this story. :) xoxo


warhawke Joëlle wrote: "Wonderful review! Glad this was a winner for you! xo"
Thanks Joelle!

Maria wrote: "What a great review War! This is one of my favorites, glad you enjoyed it =) xx"
Thank you Maria :D

Ophelia's Book Blog wrote: "Fantastic Review!"
Thanks Ophelia ;)

Parvathy wrote: "Fab review...:)"
Thank you Parvathy :D

Alba and Her Secrets..♥ wrote: "Great review, gorgeous!! :) xx"
Thanks Alba!

Arianna wrote: "Terrific review, War!;)"
Thanks so much Arianna :D

Jennifer wrote: "Lovely review War! xx"
Thanks Jennifer!

Candace wrote: "Fantastic review, warhawke! I remember being gutted by this story. :) xoxo"
Haha! Thanks Candace :D


Patty ~ Wrapped Up In Reading Book Blog BEAUTIFUL review and FIVE STARS YAY!!
So you got the ugly cry or almost ugly cry? LOL
xoxo


message 18: by Snow (new) - added it

Snow Awesome...awesome...awesome!!! *wink*


message 19: by [deleted user] (new)

Excellent review xx


warhawke Patty ❤️❤️ Belongs To ❤️Kellan❤️Jesse❤️Lautner❤️Miller❤️Garrett❤️Dean and Archer❤️❤️ wrote: "BEAUTIFUL review and FIVE STARS YAY!!
So you got the ugly cry or almost ugly cry? LOL
xoxo"

I did cry a lot from 75% on hahah! Some of it ugly, some just sobs lol!

Snow wrote: "Awesome...awesome...awesome!!! *wink*"
Thanks Steppy :D

Maddie wrote: "Excellent review xx"
You changed name! I was wondering who is this Maddie lol! Thanks Maddie :D


message 21: by Sophie (new) - added it

Sophie  **2 Greek Girls Reading** Aww beautiful review, Hawkey!! :D


Sharon ∞❥ is an emotional book junkie ❥∞ wonderful review warhawke...glad u enjoyed it!


message 23: by Michelle (new)

Michelle Lovely review babe xxx


message 24: by Judith (new)

Judith Absolutely lovely review,sweetheart.Love your visuals and especially that gif.I'm definitely interested in this after your review,xx


Jamie ♡♡ submits to books ♡♡ I love the sound of this!! Great review darlin!! :))


message 26: by Amanda (new)

Amanda Great review, War.


Lisa *-* GiViNg It To YoU * LoCk StOcK & TwO SmOkiNg BaRrELs Great review, gorgeous!! xoxo


message 28: by Jen (new)

Jen Great review! A good cry is sometimes needed :)


message 29: by Hulya (last edited Jan 10, 2016 10:20PM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Hulya Kara Yuksel War, I'm glad that you cried. :P

As always great review honey. ;)


warhawke Salvatore wrote: "Aww beautiful review, Hawkey!! :D"
Thanks S!

Sharon ✽ is an emotional book junkie ✽ wrote: "wonderful review warhawke...glad u enjoyed it!"
Thank you Sharon ;)

Michelle wrote: "Lovely review babe xxx"
Thanks Michelle :D

Judith wrote: "Absolutely lovely review,sweetheart.Love your visuals and especially that gif.I'm definitely interested in this after your review,xx"
Thank you so much Judith!

Jamie ♡♡ submits to books ♡♡ wrote: "I love the sound of this!! Great review darlin!! :))"
Thanks Jamie :D


warhawke Amanda wrote: "Great review, War."
Thank you Amanda ;)

Lisa *-* GiViNg It To YoU wrote: "Great review, gorgeous!! xoxo"
Thanks a lot Lisa!

JR Mile wrote: "Great review! A good cry is sometimes needed :)"
Yes haha! Thanks JR :D

Hulya wrote: "War, I'm glad that you cried. :P

As always great review honey. ;)"

Thank you Hulya :D


Vrsha (PeekAtMyBookReview) Brilliant review Babe...and I love your graphics. They are so pretty!!!


warhawke Vrsha (PeekAtMyBookReview) wrote: "Brilliant review Babe...and I love your graphics. They are so pretty!!!"

Thanks so much Vrsha! :D


message 34: by Stacey is Sassy (new)

Stacey is Sassy Awesome review my lovely :-) ♥


warhawke Stacey is Sassy wrote: "Awesome review my lovely :-) ♥"

Thank you Stacey!


message 36: by S.M. (new)

S.M. West Gorgeous, War! xo


warhawke Suzanne wrote: "Gorgeous, War! xo"

Thanks Suzanne!


Ashley Gah, that is literally my favorite gif in the history of beautiful gifs <3333


warhawke Ashley wrote: "Gah, that is literally my favorite gif in the history of beautiful gifs <3333"

Thanks Ashley :D


back to top