Kevin Kelsey's Reviews > White Noise

White Noise by Don DeLillo
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
10445368
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: _library, read-2016, 1001-books, award-national-book-award, favorites, read-2018, read-it-again
Read 2 times. Last read March 18, 2018 to March 25, 2018.

March, 2018:
On a second read, I think I got another 2-3% of it than last time. I adore this book.

January, 2016:
I really enjoyed this, but I don't completely understand it yet. I've got about 95% of it, but that last 5% I think may only come after some rereading, and maybe 20 additional years of life experience. It feels like a book you could read several times over a life and always find a different meaning. Heavily metaphorical, very philosophical, clever. Death, consumerism, fear, modern life, existentialism, nihilism, etc.
92 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read White Noise.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

December 31, 2015 – Shelved
January 28, 2016 – Started Reading
January 28, 2016 –
page 61
18.71%
January 29, 2016 –
page 109
33.44% "Strange stuff, but I'm enjoying it so far."
January 30, 2016 –
page 204
62.58% "I get the title now, it's cooler than I was initially thinking."
January 31, 2016 – Finished Reading
March 18, 2018 – Started Reading
March 25, 2018 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-3 of 3 (3 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

John I don't think anyone can understand Delillo 100%. But this is definitely a classic of postmodern satire. I think Wallace was taking notes from this before writing Infinite Jest.


Kevin Kelsey John wrote: "I don't think anyone can understand Delillo 100%. But this is definitely a classic of postmodern satire. I think Wallace was taking notes from this before writing Infinite Jest."

That sounds right to me. I know that Wallace and DeLillo wrote to each often. I think that DeLillo even spoke at his funeral, if I remember correctly.


message 3: by Antonio (new)

Antonio Ippolito brilliant


back to top