Mohammad Zolfaghari's Reviews > A Fraction of the Whole

A Fraction of the Whole by Steve Toltz
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
23710390
's review

liked it

یک جورهایی می‌شه گفت فلسفه در عمل.
تری و مارتین، دو شخصیت اصلی که برادر هم هستند، در مواجهه با حقیقت مرگ، دو پاسخ متفاوت رو پی می‌گیرند. داستان ما رو همراه می‌کند تا ببینیم. پاسخ هر کدام (به خصوص مارتین) در عمل زندگی‌شون رو به چه شکلی در می‌آورد.
یعنی مثلا وقتی مارتین می‌فهمه همه یک روزی می‌میرن و با این حقیقت به طور جدی رو به رو می‌شه، ما می‌بینیم پاسخش چیه و چه تأثیری رو زندگیش می‌زاره.
به غیر از اوایل کتاب که داستان و ماجرایی حول مارتین و برادرش تری وجود داره، در مجموع به نظرم کتاب داستان نداشت. بیشتر کتاب طوری‌ه که انگار نویسنده مستقیم با خواننده صحبت می‌کند و منظورش رو می‌گه. انگار داستان اولویت اصلی نیست، بیشتر می‌خواد یک حرفایی بزنه و می‌گه، نتیجه‌گیری‌ها و حرف‌ها مستقیمه، مارتین کلی جاها حرف‌های فلسفی می‌زنه و ما می‌بینیم که باور داشتن به فلان فلسفه و پیگیری‌اش تا آخر، شخصیت رو چجوری جلو می‌بره.
نداشتن داستان در کنار طولانی بودن کتاب بعضی قسمت‌ها را کمی خسته‌کننده می‌کرد. اوایل کتاب به خاطر همین داشتن ماجرا و کلا تازه بودن داستان برای من خیلی جذاب‌تر بود.
اما حتی از جایی که دیگه داستانی تقریبا وجود نداشت، نوسان مارتین بین فروپاشی و لحظاتی که به خلق کردن می‌پردازه برام جالب بود. اینکه پی فلسفه‌اش رو می‌گرفت و توی تمامی تصمیماتش مثلا ساخت خونه‌اش کاملا نگاهش به زندگی رو بروز می‌داد. اینکه یک روزی خواهد مرد و مسأله معنای زندگی دائما جلوی چشم مارتین، جسپر و تری هست و باهاش درگیرن. اصلا از قصد نمی‌زارن از جلو چشمشون دور بشه و من با ایناش حال کردم.
به نظرم نویسنده تلاش نکرده کسی مارتین رو بفهمه ولی اگر تا حدی مارتین رو فهمیدید، فکر کنم داستان جالبی باشه براتون. در نهایت به نظرم کتاب عالی‌ای نیست ولی خوبه.
2 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read A Fraction of the Whole.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

December 10, 2015 – Shelved
August 13, 2019 – Started Reading
August 13, 2019 –
page 3
0.42% "I’ve never been good at chasing women— I always take no for an answer"
August 13, 2019 –
page 7
0.98% "there’s freedom in looking crazy"
August 13, 2019 –
page 7
0.98% "there’s freedom in looking crazy"
August 14, 2019 –
page 12
1.69% "The first step in self-liberation is to be free of self-respect"
August 25, 2019 –
10.0% "“I’m jealous of their happiness. And second, it infuriates me that they seem to have made up their minds without thinking first.”
 
“Go on.”
 
“It seems that they’re just keeping themselves busy at any and every task that distracts them from the impulse of thinking about their own existence...”"
August 25, 2019 –
12.0% "“Look, Marty, let me tell you something. Your life isn’t going to get any better. In fact, think of your worst moment. Are you thinking of it? Well, let me tell you. It’s all downhill from there.”
 
“Maybe.”
 
“You know you haven’t a chance in hell of happiness.”
...

“I advise you to commit suicide”"
August 27, 2019 –
15.0% "it constituted not a moral choice but rather a moral reflex. In short, I’m a sweetheart, but I’m cold about it"
August 28, 2019 –
17.0% "When you withdraw from the world, the world withdraws too, in equal measure

ما که هر قدم میریم عقب اون شش قدم میاد تو شیکممون"
November 29, 2019 –
30.0%
December 3, 2019 –
36.0%
January 25, 2020 –
47.0% "if his disease had a cause, it was excessive reflection."
February 14, 2020 –
51.0% "“Don’t be sad for me unless you’re prepared to be sad your whole lives. Otherwise forget it. What good’s a couple of hard weeks of tears and regret if a month later you’re laughing again? No, forget it. Just forget it.”"
March 17, 2020 –
67.0%
March 19, 2020 –
70.0% "Now that cancers were metastasizing to their heart’s content, atheism seemed like a pretty cruel thing to do to myself. I begged my brain to reconsider. I thought: Won’t I survive somewhere, in some form? Can I believe it? Please? Pretty please can I believe in the everlasting soul? In heaven or angels or paradise with sixteen beautiful virgins waiting for me"
March 23, 2020 –
71.0% "I was bored. What right does a dying man have to be bored? Time was killing me and I retaliated by killing time"
March 23, 2020 –
71.0% "I was bored. What right does a dying man have to be bored? Time was killing me and I retaliated by killing time"
April 1, 2020 –
75.0% "I believe that inequality is not the product of capitalism but the product of the fact that in a group of two men and one woman, one of the men will be taller and will have straighter teeth than the other, and he’ll get the woman. Thus I believe that economics isn’t the basis of inequality, straight teeth are!"
April 17, 2020 –
91.0% "I had many times imagined them already dead (as soon as I feel an emotional attachment to someone, I imagine his death, so as not to be disappointed later on)"
April 17, 2020 –
91.0% "I had many times imagined them already dead (as soon as I feel an emotional attachment to someone, I imagine his death, so as not to be disappointed later on)"
April 17, 2020 –
93.0% "fasting men survive while starving men die"
April 22, 2020 –
99.0% "“It’s hard enough to go through life disappointing yourself every second day, but disappointing others takes it out of you too. That’s why you should never answer the phone or the door. So you don’t have to say no to whoever’s on the other side.”"
April 22, 2020 – Finished Reading

No comments have been added yet.