E.A. Harwik's Reviews > A Time for Renewal

A Time for Renewal by Anna Jacobs
Rate this book
Clear rating

's review

it was amazing

A Time for Renewal by Anna Jacobs is book two of the author’s Rivenshaw Saga series.

Set in 1945, these books focus on the economic recovery of Great Britain in the aftermath of the European theatre of world war two. The setting is Lancashire, a small hamlet named Rivenshaw, which is rural enough to be insulated from the direct effects of the war’s catastrophic physical devastation but not from the economic impact and hardship everyone has to shoulder.

Anna Jacobs skilfully weaves a tapestry of characters seeking their own rewards. People longing for what will never return while others harbour a secret dread of not being included in the same scenario.

The focus is a need for affordable housing yet resources remain scarce. And the money trail is changed forever; old money doesn’t have the same clout while new money seems to smell different.

These books are genuine magic. They relate very closely to the romance of where many of us came from, nostalgically referred to as the good old days.

The author focus is on the town and in particular the changing influence and fate of the big house, Esherwood. The characters are woven into the story according to where they serve the community best.

The novel (and series) is pure reading genius. Five stars.

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read A Time for Renewal.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

Started Reading
November 10, 2015 – Finished Reading
November 18, 2015 – Shelved

No comments have been added yet.