Melissa ♥ Dog/Wolf Lover ♥ Martin's Reviews > The Dirt on Ninth Grave

The Dirt on Ninth Grave by Darynda Jones
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
17438949
's review
Nov 03, 2015

it was ok
bookshelves: netgalley-all, mystery-thriller-etc

My Blog Melissa Martin's Reading List

Sigh......

 :

I really loved the first book but I didn't like this one :-(



I read the first book and I loved it. I loved Charley and her snark and all of her friends and most definitely Reyes! I do own some of the other books, but I haven't read them as yet. This one book is not going to change me from going back and reading the prior books since I did love the first one.

Charley has amnesia and going by the name of Janey Doerr. Something terrible happened in the prior book and caused this to happen. All of her friends are surrounding her, including Reyes until..they hope..she comes back to her senses.

She still have Charley snark that I love though :-)

---->EXCERPT<----

♣♣♣♣♣

"Can I take your picture? I have to post this on one of those sites that has photos of UFOs and Sasquatch. Otherwise no one will believe me."

"They have programs."
"Right? Those things are great. I watched a zombie program last night, and tonight I'm going to watch this one about a blond chick who controls dragons. And there's this sexy short guy who's drunk all the time."
"Not those kinds of programs." She admonished me with a withering stare. It almost worked.
"There are clinics."


♣♣♣♣♣

Charley/Janey still sees ghosts and she's trying to figure out who she is and why she sees said ghosts. All the while she is working at The Firelight Grill as a waitress. Reyes comes around every day a long with her other friends and some even work there. I don't want to give too much away though.

 :

I like some of the things that went on between her and Reyes in this one, trying to find themselves so to speak. But I really didn't like when I found out what she is... this is just not that kind of book to me. I like the idea of Charley and her snark and her seeing ghosts and solving crimes. Not this other stuff.. It just doesn't go with who she is, in my opinion, when I found out at the end of the book. I'm sure all of this is told in the prior book.

Anyway, I know plenty of people love this book and many more will, it just wasn't for me. :-(

*I would like to thank NETGALLEY and ST. MARTIN'S PRESS for giving me the opportunity to read this book in exchange for my honest reivew.*

42 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Dirt on Ninth Grave.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

November 3, 2015 – Shelved
November 3, 2015 – Shelved as: to-read
December 14, 2015 – Started Reading
December 14, 2015 – Shelved as: netgalley-all
December 14, 2015 – Shelved as: mystery-thriller-etc
December 14, 2015 –
3.0%
December 14, 2015 –
8.0%
December 15, 2015 –
12.0%
December 15, 2015 –
18.0% "Great, I reading on two books I can't get into :-("
December 15, 2015 –
24.0%
December 15, 2015 – Finished Reading

Comments (showing 1-33 of 33) (33 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Aj the Ravenous Reader I rarely see you rate this low, Melissa. Sorry you didn't enjoy this as much as the others but great review.^^


Fafa's Book Corner Aww I'm sorry you didn't like this book :(
I hope the rest of the series gets better! Great review :)


Melissa ♥ Dog/Wolf Lover ♥ Martin Aj the Ravenous Reader wrote: "I rarely see you rate this low, Melissa. Sorry you didn't enjoy this as much as the others but great review.^^"

Thank you Aj, I don't rate this low very often. It has me bummed out that I didn't really like it. I was hoping for so much more because I like the characters :-(


Melissa ♥ Dog/Wolf Lover ♥ Martin Fafa's Book Corner wrote: "Aww I'm sorry you didn't like this book :(
I hope the rest of the series gets better! Great review :)"


Thanks hon, I have read the first one and it was great, I'm still going to read the other ones prior to this one. That's not the reason I didn't like this book, it just took on a new thing I don't really like. I saw her one cool way in the first book and then this one.. not so much.. she just needs to be her cool snarky self not a........ can't say.


message 5: by Erin (new) - added it

Erin Dunn Awe sorry you didn't like this one. I need to try this series at some point just to see what all the hubbub is about.


message 6: by Choko (new) - added it

Choko Wow... I have not gotten to this one, but I had so much hope...


Melissa ♥ Dog/Wolf Lover ♥ Martin Angel wrote: "Awe sorry you didn't like this one. I need to try this series at some point just to see what all the hubbub is about."

Yes you should. It cracked me up on the first one. I have to read the others. I didn't like this one so much and I don't think I will like the one before it. The books went in a totally different direction from what I was thinking. I don't like what her character was turned into. Oh well.


Melissa ♥ Dog/Wolf Lover ♥ Martin Choko wrote: "Wow... I have not gotten to this one, but I had so much hope..."

If you liked all of the other ones you will probably like this one. I just wanted Charley to be a fun living character that sees ghosts and helps solve crimes. That's not the case though :-(


Melissa ♥ Dog/Wolf Lover ♥ Martin If you liked the others then you will be fine Kim. I just don't like the way the story went from what I heard of the last one and this one I read.


Melissa ♥ Dog/Wolf Lover ♥ Martin I just don't like what the author turned her into. It just doesn't fit in with the quirky Charlie that I loved in the first book and wanted to stay that way. Yes, I read books that have to do with what Charlie is but it doesn't work for me in this series :-(


Aggeliki Hello, Melissa. I haven't read this book yet, but having read the series so far, I can't wait because it seems like a fresh twist to the same old adventures. I would urge you to read the rest of the series, even if you were disappointed with this one. It's really great, and the way the events happen throughout the previous eight books in order to get us and Charley to this point might even change your mind about the ninth!
Anyway, forgive me for butting in like this but I'm so enthusiastic about this series and the new book, I couldn't help myself. :D
I wish you great reading experiences up ahead and a happy new year!


Melissa ♥ Dog/Wolf Lover ♥ Martin Your not butting in at all :-). I'm sure you will enjoy the book. I don't think my mind wil change because I don't like what she is, do t want to give it away ;-). I loved the first one and I was hoping i was going to have many quirky adventures with her normal self. I do have most of the other books already and plan on reading them. I hope you enjoy this new book when you get to it :-)


Danielle (Danniegurl) If you have only read book one, how can you review this one properly? You get led to this point, it's always been known I feel like you have to read the whole series to know what's up, we find out what Charley is in like book 2. You've gotta read the others.


message 14: by Christina (last edited Jan 05, 2016 09:08PM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Christina Danielle (Danniegurl) wrote: "If you have only read book one, how can you review this one properly? You get led to this point, it's always been known I feel like you have to read the whole series to know what's up, we find out ..."

Danielle I already chewed her ass about the same thing but apparently she deletes any comment that doesn't agree with her. Unfortunately for her those of us with notifications on are still notified of others posting, which is how I discovered my comment was gone. It seriously pisses me off that she has the top "review" on here without even having read the damn series!


message 15: by Jenny (new) - added it

Jenny Clemmons I completely agree with Danielle. You are missing so much of her story...


message 16: by Kate (new) - rated it 4 stars

Kate I'm about to start reading this with a bit of reluctance because I didn't love the last couple of books and can't imagine how it can end well. Quite honestly, this may very well be my last Charley Davidson book (no matter how much I love Reyes). I am not surprised that you didn't like the book as how can a person read book 1 and then skip straight to book 9? That might work for some series but not this one; these are not really stand alone books. I thought your review was fair, if a bit odd, as you did give fair warning that you basically skipped the entire series. I don't like who Charley turned out to be either but there was build up to it and a whole mythology around it. It was weird but not a shock.

The first few books were the best, really quiet hilarious (before Charley became a caricature of herself), and some of my favorite books...I'm sorry that you missed out on those.


Alanna Pfeifler-McKee I agree with some of the other posters - if you've only read the first and ninth book, it doesn't seem fair to the author and community that you gave this one such a low rating. You're missing incredibly large details of Charley's life, which is - more than likely - why you didn't enjoy this one.


Jeanette I totally disagree with you and this review. The series is awesome and to read it out of order is insane. You can't understand the progression of the character otherwise. Charley is getting back to herself, but she has to grow and change otherwise you have the same book over and over again.


Booklover, Indianapolis Just to understand - you read the first book and liked it - but then skipped 2-8 plus the couple of short stories - all of which add to the overall storyline and show characters' growth along the way - and then read #9 and didn't like it because you didn’t see what was set up in #1 continuing in #9? With no idea how we got from Charley barely knowing Reyes and what she was to her being in love with Reyes and having amnesia after an incredibly traumatic incident? I don’t get it. It is a great series and I loved every book, but I get not everyone is going to feel that way. However, seems to me this is quite an unfair review since you had no real frame of reference for what was going on.


Courtney Booklover, Indianapolis - those are my feelings exactly. One must read the entire series in order to fully grasp it. I LOVED this new book!


message 21: by KM (new) - rated it 5 stars

KM Scobie I feel as though it's kind of hard to rate the ninth book in the series if you haven't read books 2-8. It doesn't really give the series justice.


Tracy I actually felt like this book had more of the original feel to it and was an improvement over the last few. Since you skipped SEVEN books and have none of the backstory, I am not surprised you would like this one less. That tends to happen. And now you have spoiled the plot for yourself. Each to their own, I guess.


message 23: by Mari (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mari Valencia-barajas I think you should have read the other 7 books leading up to this one before reviewing it . It unfortunate the authors overall star rating is dropping bc of it .


message 24: by Mari (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mari Valencia-barajas I think you should have read the other 7 books leading up to this one before reviewing it . It unfortunate the authors overall star rating is dropping bc of it .


Squallogal Going from book 1 to book 9 you've severely missed the point. This whole book needs the previous 8 books it hangs upon. There is a huge slow reveal that you've missed. You lost the heart of it because you don't understand what's gone down in book seven and eight.

I think this whole review is unfair for that reason. It would be like watching Star Wars, the first hour and then skipping ahead to "Luke, I am your father." You've missed all the relevant information and therefore lost the meat of the story arch.

Go back. Start again. Then when you get back to this book (even though you've spoilt it for yourself) read it again and review it. ESPECIALLY AS YOU GOT IT FROM NETGALLEY FOR FREE FOR AN HONEST REVIEW. Seriously think this kind of blogging/reviewing is as bad as the "We love everything, 5 stars all around, don't care about editing, writing, plot." Blogger reviews.

Be fair!


Squallogal Booklover, Indianapolis wrote: "Just to understand - you read the first book and liked it - but then skipped 2-8 plus the couple of short stories - all of which add to the overall storyline and show characters' growth along the w..."

Preach!


Squallogal Choko wrote: "Wow... I have not gotten to this one, but I had so much hope..."

Keep reading. You'll laugh yourself stupid all the way to this book and then you'll need tissues. The author doesn't let you down. Page turningly good. I've gotten several people recently addicted to this series. They all loved it. Don't let one unfair review sway you.


message 28: by Katy (new) - rated it 5 stars

Katy H I have all of these from Audible & they're HILARIOUS! I think if you read them all, you might like them but this one WAS different. In any case, maybe go ahead and give the others a try. Everything makes a lot more sense if you read all the books. The short stories are fun too but with the exception of Brighter Than the Sun, they're kind of just porn.


message 29: by Katy (new) - rated it 5 stars

Katy H P.S. You never need to apologize for having an opinion. :-)


Booklover, Indianapolis Gotta say, even if they are porn-y, there are at least one or two reveals of some sort in each short story. Worth reading (besides, what's wrong w/a little Charley-Reyes porn?!).


message 31: by Katy (new) - rated it 5 stars

Katy H Haha! I didn't say there was anything wrong with it.


Nessam Ok so this reviewer read the first book, and then skipped to the ninth? No wonder she didn't like it! You need to read books in order, otherwise you're confused and read everything out of context. I might not have liked what Charley is either but in the books the build-up is slow, revealing a detail at a time about Charley and her powers, and by the time you get there it feels natural. Seriously you just spoiled yourself the entire series, who in the world does that??


Squallogal Nessam wrote: "Ok so this reviewer read the first book, and then skipped to the ninth? No wonder she didn't like it! You need to read books in order, otherwise you're confused and read everything out of context. ..."

Exactly!


back to top