Jesse (JesseTheReader)'s Reviews > Illuminae

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
8114361
's review

really liked it

WOW. THIS WAS GOOD. It took me quite some time to really get into the story, but after around the 200 page mark I was hooked!
732 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Illuminae.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

October 30, 2015 – Started Reading
October 30, 2015 – Shelved
October 30, 2015 –
page 172
28.71%
October 30, 2015 –
page 172
28.71% "I think I'm going to have to hold off on reading this till closer to the live show, because I'm afraid I'll forget certain details! I AM REALLY ENJOYING THIS THOUGH!"
November 16, 2015 –
page 201
33.56% "Enjoying this, but I'm struggling keeping track of the characters."
November 17, 2015 –
page 350
58.43%
November 18, 2015 –
page 509
84.97% "WE'RE IN THE HOMESTRETCH & EVERYTHING IS CRAZY."
November 20, 2015 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-17 of 17 (17 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Michal Lynn (new) - added it

Michal Lynn I'm excited to read this, but I feel like I should set aside some time with a notebook to make sure I don't get lost!


Lindsay I completely agree with the 200 page mark. It seems like a long time to wait to get into a story, but the visual effects make it go really fast.

I don't think it's easy to get lost in. I would just advise paying attention to people's names/titles. I tended to get some of the army/marines mixed up.


message 3: by Serenity (new) - added it

Serenity Chambers One of my next reads! Can't wait!


Bethany It took me a while, too, but for me it was just getting used to the format and the excessive cussing of characters.


Emily I felt the same way!


Just Another Bookish Blog yep, after 200 pages things finally fell into place :) BUT IT’S SO AMAZING! I’m so close to being done with it! Can’t wait to see your live show!


Blake I absolutely loved this book. I was hooked from page 1 (not an exaggeration)!


message 8: by Kirsty (new) - added it

Kirsty ILLUMINAE IS THE BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!It has the best plot, characters,setting,and ending


message 9: by Brianna (new) - added it

Brianna Good to know!! I'm at around page 145 and I am feeling a bit disconnected from the story. I LOVED it at first, but now it's falling a bit short of my expectations. Hopefully I'll be hooked after pg. 200, just like you!!


message 10: by Danielbook (new) - added it

Danielbook what is it about?


Franziska I'm just about page 200 and I have to agree. It took me a while to get into this whole file reading thing and remembering all those characters who have more than just one name. Anyhow now after 200 pages I get really intrigued by this whole spaceship battle thing and Ezra's love to Kadey.


message 12: by Michelle (new)

Michelle Thank you so much for doing this review. This is one I'm really looking forward to reading in 2016!


Rebeca Flores It's taking me a while to get into the story too, I'm on page 175, I'll keep reading


Mukundan Vasuda I think it's taking me a while because of the jumbled pieces of the story that I am trying to patch up in my head. I am at the 200th page so hopefully everything falls into place.


message 15: by AlexB. (new) - added it

AlexB. Wow, is that a good thing or a bad thing???


Keanen Wells I do agree that this book had amazing parts to it.. But I just couldn't seem to get hooked on it!! Personally it was hard to understand or comprehend at some points in the book I think more detail and points of emphasis could've benefitted the story as a whole.


Rosie_Posie_Reads I just couldn't get into it... the formatting was just a distraction and it was hard to be hooked when I was confused. I'm sad that I couldn't get into it thought T_T


back to top