Ginger's Reviews > In Cold Blood

In Cold Blood by Truman Capote
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
14097149
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: 2017, buddy-read

I thought to myself, do I need to write another review for one of the best true crime books ever written? And then I thought, yeah, you do. You’ve written reviews on terrible, stupid and boring books and a book this good, it definitely deserves another one. This is the best story about true crime that I have ever read. Hands down.

After painting a peaceful scene in the Midwest plains of America, evil makes it's presence felt. This is how the book starts and Truman Capote’s writing had my blood chilled and my heart sad for the victims.

It is about the murders in 1959 of the Clutter family at their farmhouse in Holcomb, Kansas. The four murders received a ton of media attention, as the motive was unclear. (view spoiler)

For the reader, Capote’s vision was gripping and his outtake on the crime was fantastic. His character study was almost a biography. The killers were still impulsive and cruel, but he got into their minds and made them seem more human.

Capote took an actual event, a gruesome crime, and used his writing to bring it to life. The sad truth is that if he had not written In Cold Blood, no one outside of Holcomb, Kansas would know who the Clutter family is or the killers, Perry Smith and Dick Hickock. The murders and the execution effectively ended all of their lives but Truman Capote gave them all immortality in this amazing book.
130 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read In Cold Blood.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

October 20, 2015 – Shelved
October 20, 2015 – Shelved as: to-read
April 19, 2017 – Started Reading
April 19, 2017 –
page 0
0.0% "I was going to start this on Monday but Justin, my buddy read just confessed to me that he's already started it. Ha!"
April 22, 2017 –
9.0% ""Take ye heed, watch and pray: for ye know not when the time is." o.O"
April 23, 2017 –
22.0% "I should have read this along time ago. It's so good!"
April 24, 2017 –
39.0% "Perry & Dick. What the hell is the motive? And no, don't tell me GR friends! 😂"
April 26, 2017 –
50.0% "Million dollar question:
Do you think someone is born evil or do they get that way because of society and circumstances?"
April 27, 2017 –
66.0% "Wow!!!! What a bastard."
April 29, 2017 – Finished Reading
February 26, 2018 – Shelved as: 2017
August 1, 2018 – Shelved as: buddy-read

Comments Showing 1-50 of 53 (53 new)


message 1: by Samir (new)

Samir Nice review Ginger :) I'm glad you enjoyed it :)


Belle What an awesome review! Maybe I'll go back and give it a 5 now - haha. Although there were parts of the 4th section totally necessary to the story I think that's where it lost the 5 rating for me. Although those 2 grey cats were a highlight for me.


Ginger Samir wrote: "Nice review Ginger :) I'm glad you enjoyed it :)"

Thanks Samir! It was a great true crime/non fiction book!


message 4: by Ginger (last edited Apr 29, 2017 03:54PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Ginger Belle wrote: "What an awesome review! Maybe I'll go back and give it a 5 now - haha. Although there were parts of the 4th section totally necessary to the story I think that's where it lost the 5 rating for me. ..."

Ha! I know what you are thinking. I agree, Part IV has some issues! I didn't need a lot of the death row stories of the other killers or the legalize at the end. Not the courtroom part, that was great. I felt like I was in a John Grisham movie. haha Just all the extra at the end in where other lawyers were trying to get them off death row.
But I kept thinking, "Is this book one of the best in it's genre, true crime?" And without a doubt, I had to agree to myself that it was and that's what put me over to the 5 stars.


message 5: by Basia (new)

Basia Oh I so want to read this!!! Thank you!


Ginger Basia wrote: "Oh I so want to read this!!! Thank you!"

I hope you do Basia!! It was so good and I look forward to your review and rating one day. :)


Justin You read this too fast... I mean I'm reading this too slow... I mean great review! It's been fun to read along with you. Now I've gotta see what's up with these cats.


message 8: by Sr3yas (new)

Sr3yas Oooh, great review! I'be been meaning to read this ever since I watched "Capote" and "infamous".


message 9: by Supratim (new) - added it

Supratim Good review, Ginger!


message 10: by Ginger (last edited Apr 30, 2017 08:03AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Ginger Justin wrote: "You read this too fast... I mean I'm reading this too slow... I mean great review! It's been fun to read along with you. Now I've gotta see what's up with these cats."

Oh Awesome One, once I got past the 1/2 mark, I just couldn't quit. I hope you enjoy this book as much as I did. Looking forward to doing this again. It was fun my friend!!


Ginger Sr3yas wrote: "Oooh, great review! I'be been meaning to read this ever since I watched "Capote" and "infamous"."

I hope you like it Sr3yas!! It was really good!


Ginger Supratim wrote: "Good review, Ginger!"

Thanks Supratim!!


Peter Nice review Ginger. The opening of the novel was the most eery and evocative to me. Capote's description of a Kansas night was terrifying.


message 14: by Ginger (last edited May 08, 2017 07:53AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Ginger Peter wrote: "Nice review Ginger. The opening of the novel was the most eery and evocative to me. Capote's description of a Kansas night was terrifying."

Thanks Peter! I agree, the beginning of this book was well done. It was so peaceful and then the senseless violence came out of no where.
I had some issues with Part IV of the book but I still felt overall, this was a great book. I'll have to read it 10 years from now and see if my rating remains the same. :)


Melika Hick Fabulous review, Ginger! Have you seen the film "Capote"? It's based on Gerald Clarke's bio of Truman, but it's practically all about what T went through while researching and writing "In Cold Blood." It's a brilliant film, and quite chilling.


Guillermo  I just saw the movie, and I think it's an excellent supplement to In Cold Blood.


Ginger Melika wrote: "Fabulous review, Ginger! Have you seen the film "Capote"? It's based on Gerald Clarke's bio of Truman, but it's practically all about what T went through while researching and writing "In Cold Bloo..."

No, I haven't Melika and I'll definitely watch it now. It sounds great! Thanks for the rec!


Ginger Guillermo wrote: "I just saw the movie, and I think it's an excellent supplement to In Cold Blood."

Oh awesome Guillermo! Adding it to my list!


Melika Hick Ginger wrote: "Melika wrote: "Fabulous review, Ginger! Have you seen the film "Capote"? It's based on Gerald Clarke's bio of Truman, but it's practically all about what T went through while researching and writin..."

You're welcome, Ginger! Hope you love it! :D


Matthew Great review! I just read this in the past year and thought it was great. I still need to get to the other granddaddy of True Crime - Helter Skelter.


message 21: by Ginger (last edited Dec 07, 2017 07:00AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Ginger Matthew wrote: "Great review! I just read this in the past year and thought it was great. I still need to get to the other granddaddy of True Crime - Helter Skelter."

Thanks Matthew!
Hey, me too. We should do a BR on it and maybe we can get it in next year.
I've been wanting to read Helter Skelter: The True Story of the Manson Murders for years!


Matthew Ginger wrote: "Matthew wrote: "Great review! I just read this in the past year and thought it was great. I still need to get to the other granddaddy of True Crime - Helter Skelter."

Thanks Matthew!
Hey, me too. ..."


That is a good idea! I have the audio of it - read by Scott Brick - I love me some Scott Brick narration!


message 23: by Ginger (last edited Dec 07, 2017 07:05AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Ginger Matthew wrote: "That is a good idea! I have the audio of it - read by Scott Brick - I love me some Scott Brick narration!"

Holy moley. Since I don't do audio, I just googled him. He's done a ton of books!! He's the godfather of audio. hahaha
He did the audio for In Cold Blood as well.


Matthew Ginger wrote: "Matthew wrote: "That is a good idea! I have the audio of it - read by Scott Brick - I love me some Scott Brick narration!"

Holy moley. Since I don't do audio, I just googled him. He's done a ton o..."


Yes he did - in fact, I listened to it, too! He does most of the Pendergast books as well - at least the early ones.


Ginger Matthew wrote: "Yes he did - in fact, I listened to it, too! He does most of the Pendergast books as well - at least the early ones."

Nice!


Michelle Excellent review, Ginger. I enjoyed this book as well. Capote did an amazing job.


message 27: by Wendi (new)

Wendi Lee Great review, Ginger!


Ginger Michelle wrote: "Excellent review, Ginger. I enjoyed this book as well. Capote did an amazing job."

Thanks Michelle!! It definitely was a great true crime book to read.


Ginger Wendi wrote: "Great review, Ginger!"

Thanks Wendi!


message 30: by Jody (new)

Jody Wonderful review Ginger! :) I haven't delved into any true crime novels yet. Sounds interesting!


Ginger Jody wrote: "Wonderful review Ginger! :) I haven't delved into any true crime novels yet. Sounds interesting!"

Thanks Jody! This is definitely one to start with. It was excellent.


message 32: by Evgnossia (new) - added it

Evgnossia O'Hara I'm glad you decided to write a review! Sounds very interesting! I need to read this one!


Ginger Evgnossia wrote: "I'm glad you decided to write a review! Sounds very interesting! I need to read this one!"

Thanks Evgnossia! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!


Ginger Mark wrote: "Awesome review Ginger. My all time favourite book and you nailed it."

Thanks Mark!! Glad I did justice for your all time favorite. Whew! :D


message 35: by a. (new) - rated it 5 stars

a. This is in my top ten favorite books of all time. It's an amazing book.


message 36: by a. (new) - rated it 5 stars

a. And I don't "know" you but... I read your review and felt compelled to join the chorus.


message 37: by Ginger (last edited Dec 08, 2017 07:37AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Ginger ashley wrote: "And I don't "know" you but... I read your review and felt compelled to join the chorus."

No problem with me! I'm glad you joined in on the conversation Ashley. :D
I agree, it's an amazing true crime book!


Matthew Goodreads is like 7 degrees of Kevin Bacon. We can probably connect to everyone on here in less that 7 books. Heck, probably less than 5 - so, we all kinda "know" each other! :)


message 39: by Ginger (last edited Dec 08, 2017 07:37AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Ginger Matthew wrote: "Goodreads is like 7 degrees of Kevin Bacon. We can probably connect to everyone on here in less that 7 books. Heck, probably less than 5 - so, we all kinda "know" each other! :)"

So true!



message 40: by Sarah (new) - added it

Sarah Matthew, that's brilliant and I think it needs to be a new challenge somehow! Go for it - let's set it up!


Ginger Sarah wrote: "Matthew, that's brilliant and I think it needs to be a new challenge somehow! Go for it - let's set it up!"

I agree Sarah! hahaha


message 42: by Eric (new)

Eric Smith I have never read this even though I tried a couple of times, this was one of my father's favorite movies as he hung out at the bus station in Kansas City and meet Richard Blake when part of the film was shot there I guess seeing the film so much growing up spoiled trying to read it.


message 43: by Eric (new)

Eric Smith Robert Blake, I meant


message 44: by Ginger (last edited Dec 08, 2017 08:21AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Ginger Eric wrote: "I have never read this even though I tried a couple of times, this was one of my father's favorite movies as he hung out at the bus station in Kansas City and meet Richard Blake when part of the fi..."

I've never seen the movie Eric. I will try to one day. I hope you read this one day because I thought it was worth it.
Did you like the movie?


message 45: by Sarah (new) - added it

Sarah Ginger wrote: "Matthew wrote: "Great review! I just read this in the past year and thought it was great. I still need to get to the other granddaddy of True Crime - Helter Skelter."

Thanks Matthew!
Hey, me too. ..."


I have Helter Skelter and have been wanting to get to it for a while now, as well! Then again, my TBR pile/list of course, is super long....I'm interested in reading In Cold Blood too - haven't yet - and then watching the movie. And your review/comments have convinced me to read this one soon! Thanks


message 46: by Ginger (last edited Dec 08, 2017 12:35PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Ginger Sarah wrote: "I have Helter Skelter and have been wanting to get to it for a while now, as well! Then again, my TBR pile/list of course, is super long....I'm interested in reading In Cold Blood too - haven't yet - and then watching the movie. And your review/comments have convinced me to read this one soon! Thanks "

Awesome Sarah! I hope you like it as much as I did.
Yeah, I've got to get to Helter Skelter: The True Story of the Manson Murders as well.
We've got to many books on the TBR list. #firstworldproblems LOL


Ginger Lovely review!


Ginger Ginger wrote: "Lovely review!"

Thanks Ginger #1! *muah*


Matthew So much Ginger! Time to make some cookies!


message 50: by G.H. (new)

G.H. Eckel Hey, Ginger. Great review! Such a horrible crime and so well written about. Your review says it all in just a few paragraphs.

Hey, what html did you use to hide/reveal the spoiler?


« previous 1
back to top