Aj the Ravenous Reader's Reviews > Demons at Deadnight

Demons at Deadnight by A.  Kirk
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
30248594
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: easy-read, love-love-love, lol, five-stars, unexpectedly-good
Recommended to Aj the Ravenous Reader by: Ash and Melissa (Ever So Mela)


I had a really awesome weekend because of this book that gave me 404 pages of pure laughter and I’m really grateful to the awesome mother and daughter (A&E Kirk) authors and to my lovely friends, Ash and M short for Melissa (Ever so Mela) whose reviews convinced me to read the book. (Click their names for their reviews.) Actually, M kind of harassed me into reading the book and I’m ever thankful. Lol. I mean, who would not be? Six equally non-cheesy, hot heroes with equally impressive magical powers, (husband out of sight, I’m clear!)=HYPER SWOONING SKILLS ACTIVATED! Gaaaaaaaaaah!



Imagine the younger version of these guys:



*inhales, exhales (30 times) *

Yep! Them hotties also called the Hex boys (because they sure are hexy!) and one kick-ass, gorgeous, hilarious heroine (Aurora, why so lucky?) made me a happy gal. Lol.

The plot basically consisted of Aurora getting chased and tossed by demons, sent flying back to her home by her guardian angel, almost burned to death, hit by a car and even zapped into a state of coma and always, always ending up at the hospital. (LMAO!) And everytime it seems these Hex boys are always behind the scenes. Are they good news or bad? GO READ THE BOOK!^^

I know the plot isn’t to die for but it’s not every day that I end up loving all characters in a book and this is one of those extra special days because all the characters in this book (except for the demons) are to love even Bubbles (the Australian platypus pet toy of Aurora’s cute little sister.) Everyone is really funny in his/her own way that I enjoyed literally every single page of the book.

The chapters are short and easy to read and the writing is simply pleasurable. The authors’ impressive writing skills are displayed in the diverse personalities of the characters. There’s a specific language for the extremely smart hero, another for the not so smart one, a different one for Aurora’s cool parents and so on. What’s even more entertaining is the POV of the story as it is told by Aurora herself who is funny as heck. Here’s a glimpse of her colorful personality:

“I launched into a graceful ninja-like front roll, then stood my ground to face the monstrous heathen, fearless in my determination to vanquish the deadly foe. Nah, just kidding. I bolted…”

The last quarter of the plot was pure awesomesauce and even though the book ends with a cliffy, it’s still pure entertainment.

P.S. Thank you authors, for the bonus recipe pages. Love them! <3
87 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Demons at Deadnight.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

Started Reading
September 27, 2015 – Shelved
September 27, 2015 – Shelved as: easy-read
September 27, 2015 – Shelved as: love-love-love
September 27, 2015 – Shelved as: lol
September 27, 2015 – Finished Reading
May 13, 2019 – Shelved as: five-stars
May 13, 2019 – Shelved as: unexpectedly-good

Comments Showing 1-50 of 60 (60 new)


message 1: by Darina (new)

Darina Ooo Hot hereos with powers sounds intruguing.Amazing review Aj <333


Naomi &#x1f428; This sounds great - I'll have to read it :) Terrific review, Aj!


message 3: by Alejandro (new)

Alejandro Devilish clever review, Aj ;)


Neil (or bleed) So much fangirling on this one heh. Fantastic review, Aj! :)


message 5: by Tabetha (new)

Tabetha Aj, I was smiling throughout your very entertaining review, complete with a fabulous collection of very hot men (is my husband in the room?!) xxx


message 6: by Donita (new) - added it

Donita Luz I seriously have this book in my TBR for a long, long, long time, I can't remember exactly when and why I even add it. I think I have to start this book soon! <3 :) Entertaining review Aj! <3


message 7: by Jenny (new)

Jenny Very enjoyable review,Aj! =)


Aj the Ravenous Reader Shanna: Yeah. It's really enjoyable too. Thank you so much, sweetie. <3

Naomi: It really is, hun. Thank you so much. <3

Kuya Alejandro: *grins devilishly* Lol. Thank you so much,^^

Neil: I know! I can't help it. I haven't fangirled this much before. Hahaha. Thank you so much.^^

Ate Tabetha: Hahaha. Thank you so much. Hope you weren't caught by your husband. Lol.

Donita: Melissa was really insistent so I read finally read the book. No regrets. It was so much fun, hun. Thank you so much. <3

Jenny: Thank you, sweetie. <3


Jilly Awesome review, Ading AJ! Aurora sounds like my kind of girl. Plus, you included my man in the gifs, so bonus-super-friend-points for you too! ♥


message 10: by Masooma (new)

Masooma Brilliant review, Aj :) I feel like reading this book. ;)


message 11: by Henz (new) - rated it 3 stars

Henz Wonderful review Aj .... I can really feel the glee in your review .. I will be adding this book .. hahaha


message 12: by Vanessa (new)

Vanessa J. LOL at the hexy guys... xD *inhales, exhales many times too* Great review, Aj. Urban fantasy is not really my thing, but I admit this sounds funny.


message 13: by April (new)

April awesome review AJ! Based on your review this book seems hilarious. Will def check this out! XD


The Girl In Boots Amazing review aj!


Mac Dubista Keso The Bibliobibuli v(=∩_∩=) Awesome and intriguing review Aj! ^_^


message 16: by Pinky (new)

Pinky I love this review Aj!


Tanya (Girl Plus Books) Oh my, not one, not two... but SIX swoony heroes?! That's a whole lot of awesome for one book! :) Wonderful review, Aj!!


message 18: by Muse-ic ♬ (last edited Nov 08, 2015 01:26PM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Muse-ic ♬ LOVE the review Aj! omg I forgot about Bubbles ^^ ahhhhh the Hex Boys....I wouldn't mind keeping one or two of them for myself :D


message 19: by Chantal (new)

Chantal  (Every Word A Doorway) Oh, this sounds so good! You've really made me want to read it. I laughed at that last quote :) Great review, Aj!


message 20: by Melissa (Ever So Mela) (last edited Sep 28, 2015 07:51AM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Melissa (Ever So Mela) Well maybe next time I recommend you something you will pay attention sooner
LOL
It feels so good to be right :P
Great review and I totally agree with everything. The plots are a bit all over the place but still entertaining as ever. I can't wait for book 3 ^_^


message 21: by Tamara (new) - added it

Tamara This one was on my 'maybe' shelf but now thanks to this wonderful review I'm definitely going to read it!! :)


Rachel Maniacup Hahahaha! Very amazing,cute review little sis! You instantly got me here so this would definitely be on my tbr list!^^


message 23: by ✿ سخىة ✿ (new)

✿ سخىة ✿ Thrilled that you loved this so much that you decided to ditch off your husband for these guys Rofl. Fantastic review, AJ as always. :)))


Pearl Angeli *cries after reading your review*

I WANT THIS. You totally convinced me, AJ! It sounds really a fantastic read. And those guys they seem so interesting. :) Great, entertaining review, AJ dear! xo


Aj the Ravenous Reader Ate Jilly: Thank you so much. Yes! Aurora is your kind of girl! Yay for the super bonus friend points. Now I know how to easily earn them. Bahaha.

Masooma: Thank you so much, my friend. If you're in the mood to really laugh, this is a really good pick. <3

Henzy: Thank you so much, sweetie. This book did that to me. Lol. Glad you're adding it. <3

Vane: Lol! They're the kind you'd want to take home. Hahaha. I know, I know hun but you want to laugh a lot and be entertained, this is a really good choice. Thank you, lovely. <3

April: Thank you so much, hun. This is really hilarious! Lol.

Boots: Thanks a bunch, amazing Boots! <3

Mac and Pinky: Thank you very much, lovelies. <3

Tanya: Lol! I know, right? Awesome book this is! Haha. Thank you so much. <3

Sandra: Thank you so much, hun. Bubbles is a very important character. Lol. I wouldn't mind taking all of the Hex boys home. Bahaha.

Chantal: This is so much, hun. You'll definitely be entertained. Thank you so much. <3

M: Lol. I know, I know. I've learned my lesson, Master. Forgive my disobedience. Hahaha.

Tamara: Yay! This is a really good book to relieve your stress. Thank you so much. <3

Ate Rachel: Lol. Thank you so much, gorgeous momma! You will definitely love this one.

Scarlett: Lol. He wasn't around when I read this and wrote the review, Scarlett, so technically, I didn't ditch him. Lol. Thank you, hun. <3

Pearly: I knew what made you cry, Pearly- the hotties! Lol. I hope enjoy this one, Pearly. Thank you so much. <3


message 26: by ✿ سخىة ✿ (new)

✿ سخىة ✿ Ok I just misinterpreted your sentence Lol.


Aj the Ravenous Reader Lol. No problem, Scarlett. You can misinterpret an entire paragraph and I'd still love you. hehehe


Claire - The Coffeeholic Bookworm I love love love your review! Kinikilig ako :D


Katerina Aww loved your review Aj!!Seems like a super interesting book!!:D


Aj the Ravenous Reader Ate Claire: Lol. Thank you, thank you so much! Nakakakilig yung boys promise, especially Ayden.hehehe

Katerina: Aw, thank you so much, hun. Yes, this really is super interesting and entertaining.^^


message 31: by Aisha (new) - added it

Aisha This one is even more entertaining! I need this now! ^-^


message 32: by Weng (new)

Weng Hahaha very enjoyable review, Aj!! :p


Aj the Ravenous Reader Dex and Weng: Lol. Thank you so much! Very happy my silliness entertained you. <3


message 34: by Nyra (new)

Nyra Lovely review, Aj : )


Aj the Ravenous Reader Nyra wrote: "Lovely review, Aj : )"

Lol. Thank you, Nyra. I'm glad you thought this was lovely.hehehe. <3


Aj the Ravenous Reader Nyra wrote: "Lovely review, Aj : )"

Lol. Thank you, Nyra. I'm glad you thought this was lovely.hehehe. <3


message 37: by [deleted user] (new)

Another super fun review, Aj! I want to meet these hawt boys and this funny Aurora girl. ;)


message 38: by Jo-Jo (new) - added it

Jo-Jo Oh man, I have to read this, HAVE to read this, HAVE to read this!!! Did I mention, I HAVE to read this?


message 39: by Jo-Jo (new) - added it

Jo-Jo Seriously though, this sounds like that amazing type of book that I won't want to put down until I finish it. I really want to get to know these hexy boys!!!


message 40: by Jo-Jo (new) - added it

Jo-Jo oh, and Aurora, how could I forget her? lol Obviously my brain was on the males in the story. :)


message 41: by Aj the Ravenous Reader (last edited Oct 01, 2015 11:23PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Aj the Ravenous Reader Sarah: Lol. Thank you so much, Sarah. Go meet them! <3

Joanne: Yes, I think you really HAVE to read this, HAVE to read this, HAVE to read this. Did I mention you HAVE to read this? Lol! Go meet them! I'm sure your meeting will be pleasurable. Lol. Yes, Aurora is a really fun character too.


message 42: by A. (new) - rated it 5 stars

A. Wow Aj! Your review is both eloquent and a riot! We're thrilled you loved the book so much. Making you laugh is one of our number one goals, and you made us smile and laugh with this review!

THe gif and picture are sooooo fabulous. Comparing Hex Boys to our absolute favorite super heroes made us swoon! Thank you, thank you, thank you for the kind words and humor! And thanks to Ash and Melissa for badgering you - we mean suggesting you read it!

Hugs and Gratitude,
Alyssa and Eileen


message 43: by A. (new) - rated it 5 stars

A. Melissa (Ever So Mela) wrote: "Well maybe next time I recommend you something you will pay attention sooner
LOL
It feels so good to be right :P
Great review and I totally agree with everything. The plots are a bit all over the p..."


Thanks for the relentless support!
XOXO


message 44: by A. (new) - rated it 5 stars

A. Muse-ic wrote: "LOVE the review Aj! omg I forgot about Bubbles ^^ ahhhhh the Hex Boys....I wouldn't mind keeping one or two of them for myself :FlD"

They'd be totally willing!


message 45: by A. (new) - rated it 5 stars

A. Joanne wrote: "oh, and Aurora, how could I forget her? lol Obviously my brain was on the males in the story. :)"

THe Hex Boys always do their best to occupy your interest! But Aurora understands. They distract her too!


Aj the Ravenous Reader A&E wrote: "Wow Aj! Your review is both eloquent and a riot! We're thrilled you loved the book so much. Making you laugh is one of our number one goals, and you made us smile and laugh with this review!

THe ..."


OMG! Thank you so much for noticing and liking this review. I did love this so much and I'm already lining up the second book of the series. I'll definitely read it when I need lots of laughs.^^ Yes! Thanks to Ash and Melissa, especially Melissa for her stubborn recommendation.^^ You guys are awesome! <3 <3 <3

P.S. Lol at your replies to Muse-ic and Joanne.^^


Tamara Love your review Aj!! I want to read this!!!!! And the husband part had me laughing!!!


Aj the Ravenous Reader Tamara: Lol! Thank you so much, Tammy. I'm sure you'll enjoy this a lot. Looking forward to your review on this one. Also, thank you really for going through all of my reviews. I really appreciate it. Hope you're doing great. <3


Tamara I love reading your reviews Aj. They're always the best. Every single one is different and unique and I just have to read them. (Plus they give me book ideas hehehe)


message 50: by Toni (new) - added it

Toni THE LAST QUOTE THOUGH. Finally someone does the smart thing xD.
Lovely Review!


« previous 1
back to top