Laura the Highland Hussy's Reviews > Backstage Pass

Backstage Pass by Olivia Cunning
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
2043222
's review

really liked it

Review re-posted on Got Fiction?

I got this book for review, and it turns out it’s one I’ve read before! It looks like Sourcebooks is repackaging this series. If you like rockstar romance, I want to say this is the book that sort of kicked off that subgenre a few years ago.

I also want to say that once I realized I’d read this, I didn’t re-read it, so I”m not sure how it would hold up to my tastes now, 5 years later. Sometimes books really hold up well, sometimes they don’t. But here’s my original review from 2011 that was posted on the old Demon Lover’s Books & More site.

Original Review:

I won this is a goodreads first reads contest! Woot!! Happy dance!

I wasn't sure what to expect when I saw all the wonderful 4 and 5 star reviews for this book as it's not my normal fare.

Let me tell you what to expect from this book:
*expect super hot, steamy, and naughty sex in the first few pages.
*expect a real plot, you heard me, A REAL PLOT
*expect a direct look into the lives of the Sinners
*expect more hot, steamy, naughty sex
*expect humor, that's right, this steamy bit of naughty goodness has some of the best scenes. My favorite (what does this say about me? lol) is where Brian and Myrna haven't seen each other in about a month, and they can't make it out of the airport without a steamy sex scene in a bathroom stall...interrupted by the guy in the next stall farting. OMGsh I laughed so hard I had tears rolling down my cheeks!

Another awesome example is that due to the random bathroom guy, they couldn't finish so Myrna gave Brian a hand *wink wink* on the ride back to his tour bus, but used his lucky hat to cover what she was doing. His lucky hat became his get lucky hat and he gave it to his buddy....ummm...without wiping it out! You know that scene in There's Something About Mary, where she asks "Is that hair gel?" and uses it on her bangs? That is what I though of everytime I saw a scene with the lucky hat!

So, now you've seen the big points in this book that I would never had though to see in an erotic romance.

Moving on to the plot-quick review: Myrna is a human sexuality professor who loves the Sinners. Brian is the very drunk guitarist who she has a crush on. Myr wants a one night stand with her crush, Brian falls in love. How on earth will this work out?

The only thing I didn't like was the threesome scene. I don't mean the way it was written because I think it was soo sexy, trust me, Olivia Cunning can write. It's just that it was so far into the book-it was towards end, by that point we know Brian and Myrna are in love and it ruined it for me. I expect that in the beginning and middle where it's still new and has less chance of ruining a relationship. But I also know it will not bother most readers, it really is just me. However I think we needed the revelation that happens during that scene-I'm hoping some of those loose ends will be used throughout the series.

I wish more had been done with the abusive ex husband. I loved the end scene with the taser (evil grin here-but I won't spoil it for anyone else).

The fact that Brian and Myrna hit it off so quickly was awesome, but I felt that the little things like Myrna cooking for the guys, and helping out Brian's relationship with his dad- So many touching scenes really made me feel that there was more than just smokin' hot sex between them.

I can't wait for the next book Rock Hard and I can't wait to see what happens now that Myrna knows (view spoiler). Olivia Cunning is an amazing new talent in the erotic romance field and I will read anything she writes.

http://www.demonloversbooksandmore.co...
56 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Backstage Pass.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

January 10, 2011 – Shelved
February 17, 2011 –
page 7
2.03%
February 20, 2011 –
page 32
9.3% "Ooh, she's got some piercings!"
February 20, 2011 –
page 50
14.53% "No matter how secure I was in my body, I could never stand in front of the band while he played the notes written on my skin. Although that was such a hot steamy scene! OMGsh was that HAWT!!!!"
February 22, 2011 –
page 65
18.9% "The hubby read a passage and then told me I was reading porn (the idiot). So I asked him "well, did you like it?" He said it was about the guy doing stuff to the chick, so the question is, do I like it. Yes, Yes I do. He should read it and commit parts of that book to memory"
March 12, 2011 –
page 75
21.8% "whew, as if things weren't hot enough..."
March 17, 2011 –
page 81
23.55% "goodness, more sex? lol"
Started Reading
March 25, 2011 –
page 81
23.55% "the fates are seriously conspiring against me! everytime I sit down to read this book, the kids need me. Like really need me, not just grab a juice box need me. I WILL finish this book-it is so freakin' hot!"
March 25, 2011 –
page 120
34.88% "woohoo! I got to read for like 10 minutes this time before the kids jumped on me!"
March 25, 2011 –
page 184
53.49% "I like them back together. I also wonder how the ex will factor in..."
March 25, 2011 –
page 250
72.67% "I'm really irritated with Myrna for the whole "Oh but it's not like we're committed or anything.""
March 25, 2011 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-33 of 33 (33 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Stephanie enjoy those naughty rockers, Brian is so hot.


Laura the Highland Hussy lol! I keep hearing I need to keep the husband nearby-I guess he's getting lucky this weekend


Megan Riverina Romantics/Meggerfly I've heard good things about this!


Greta is Erikasbuddy Awesome win!! I bought it off Amazon the other week for around $5 ;) Squees!! Can't wait to hear your review!! You might move it up my pile... ok... you more than likely will lolz


Greta is Erikasbuddy Laura 'Highland Hussy' wrote: "lol! I keep hearing I need to keep the husband nearby-I guess he's getting lucky this weekend"

HAHAHS!!! Score!


message 6: by Laurie (new) - added it

Laurie Garrison Nice review. I recieved mine today from a friend, yep she was felling nice this weeek lucky me LOL. I cant wait to start it..


Greta is Erikasbuddy Awesome review!!

Fist pump!! HAHAS!!

I thought this book was ok but I wanted more RAWR than bedazzler ;) ... but i'm a picky pick ;P


Darkfallen sweet review!!
Greta jus informed me today that I need to read this and I must say your review has me looking oh so forward to it!!


Laura the Highland Hussy Darkfallen wrote: "sweet review!!
Greta jus informed me today that I need to read this and I must say your review has me looking oh so forward to it!!"


thanks! I really think that as long as you don't mind A LOT of sex, you're good. But at least it's not like porn sex, it's good, you can tell they care for each other sex :)


Nissie Lambert Great review,Laurie! I've learned something today. If anyone ever offers to give you their hat...Just say no! :)


Vicki Excellent review!


Laura the Highland Hussy thanks! And lol Nissie!


Nisha aww, poor Trey, I really like him.


Laura the Highland Hussy Nisha wrote: "aww, poor Trey, I really like him."

have you read the next one-Rock Hard?


Nisha not yet, I'm still reading this one. And it's hawt *fans self*


message 16: by Dinjolina (last edited Apr 12, 2011 09:39PM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Dinjolina I saw that you,me,nisha...we all have the menage scene problem. The way they kind of used Tray and the stuff you see there...sad.And wrong.


Laura the Highland Hussy Dinjolina wrote: "I sew that you,me,nisha...we all have the menage scene problem. The way they kind of used Tray and the stuff you see there...sad.And wrong."

For me, I think if the menage scene had been during their first couple days together when it really was "just sex," I would have been okay with it. But to put it almost at the end, and to see them risk their relationship for it? I just didn't like it.
And I know others might argue that their relationship was never at risk because they both (well all 3 I guess) consented, but I'd disagree because any time there's a third involved in a relationship it puts it at risk. I felt like brian just wanted to make Myr happy, Myr wanted a threesome, and Trey is (view spoiler)


Dinjolina I am soooooo illiterate this early in the morning.
My grammar...gah!

Any way...I agree.
It was just...wrong. And Myr being all bitchy about Trey being...well that was just evil of her!
And Brian! How he went all (view spoiler)


Nisha I don't understand why Brian is so insensitive to his BFF's feelings. It's obvious that in all other ways, they're close. But he seems to fall obsessively in love, and clearly that has only happened to women.

Brian and Trey kinda remind me of Quinn and Blay, but Quinn doesn't really fall hard for 'his' women.


Dinjolina Who? :/ What are they from?


Laura the Highland Hussy Dinjolina wrote: "Who? :/ What are they from?"

Qhuinn and Blaylock from the Black Dagger Brotherhood by JR Ward


Dinjolina Ooooohhhh...yeeeeah.I remember.
I haven't read a thing from those series for so long!
Poor me,right? :)


Laura the Highland Hussy Dinjolina wrote: "Ooooohhhh...yeeeeah.I remember.
I haven't read a thing from those series for so long!
Poor me,right? :)"


lol :)


Nisha Dinjolina, you crazy girl. I need to refresh my memory before I read the...latest book- The blue one that everyone's reading.


Laura the Highland Hussy Nisha wrote: "Dinjolina, you crazy girl. I need to refresh my memory before I read the...latest book- The blue one that everyone's reading."

Lover Unleashed ? I have it, I just need to finish blog books first :)


Nisha That one. I even have a copy, I just haven't gotten in the mood yet.


Laura the Highland Hussy Nisha wrote: "That one. I even have a copy, I just haven't gotten in the mood yet."

I TOTALLY get that! I want to actually be able to sit down and read it without the interruptions I know will happen, plus it is going to change my perspective on V and I'm just not ready for all the drama that this book involves. And I know I'll love it, and I know it's a 4 or 5 star book, but I'm just not in the mood for all that :)


Nisha I agree. All the talk about V and stuff. It's making me a little scared of what I might end up feeling after this.


Laura the Highland Hussy Nisha wrote: "I agree. All the talk about V and stuff. It's making me a little scared of what I might end up feeling after this."

I guess we'll just have to suck it up and read it :) LOL
trust in the WARDen and all that? :)


Nisha That's true. I do have trust in her to deliver. I was a little disappointed with Lover Mine, but I think it was because of the build up for JM during the earlier books.


Laura the Highland Hussy Nisha wrote: "That's true. I do have trust in her to deliver. I was a little disappointed with Lover Mine, but I think it was because of the build up for JM during the earlier books."

I had trouble getting in to LM. Once I got past the first 60 pages or so I was definitely back in the "zone" but lately I feel like both her series are like that. Once I get into it, it's great! it's a 5 star book, but just the task of getting into her world can be daunting


Nisha It's like we have to relive it to get back to reading it. :D


Laura the Highland Hussy yeah, definitely.


back to top