Matthew's Reviews > The Nightingale

The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
16254355
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: gr_awards_2016, historical-fiction, 2016, book-a-book-club, library

4.5 to 5 stars - This is a very complete book. I hope that makes sense when I say it. I was satisfied with the entire experience.

Emotional and at times nerve-wracking. Love and hope mixed with fear and suffering. Hard choices that are unavoidable, easy choices that come with great risk. This book is a historical fiction roller coaster ride.

Even if you are not into historical fiction or WWII, I think this is worth checking out. Also, I would highly recommend it to those who enjoyed Between Shades of Gray and/or The Book Thief.
212 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Nightingale.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

September 16, 2015 – Shelved
September 16, 2015 – Shelved as: to-read
November 2, 2015 – Shelved as: gr_awards_2016
November 5, 2015 – Shelved as: historical-fiction
December 28, 2015 – Shelved as: 2016
December 28, 2015 – Shelved as: book-a-book-club
December 28, 2015 – Shelved as: library
January 1, 2016 – Started Reading
January 4, 2016 –
page 83
18.86% "Ugh . . . Nazis!"
January 5, 2016 –
page 122
27.73% "Isabelle finds a purpose, Vianne is in a Catch-22"
January 6, 2016 –
page 161
36.59% "Back to Paris"
January 7, 2016 –
page 199
45.23% "Gotta be careful in WWII France"
January 8, 2016 –
page 234
53.18% "The Nightingale has sung"
January 11, 2016 –
page 295
67.05% "Sisters reunited - situation not ideal"
January 12, 2016 –
page 358
81.36% "Fighting for survival against the odds"
January 13, 2016 –
page 348
79.09%
January 13, 2016 –
page 405
92.05% "The end of the War is near!"
January 14, 2016 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-24 of 24 (24 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Tabetha You are referencing wonderful books!--I am loving it also so far!


Matthew Tabetha wrote: "You are referencing wonderful books!--I am loving it also so far!"

Following up on this - looks like you went 5 stars, too! I have been away from WWII historical fiction for awhile. Might be time to find another title!


Calis Johnson This book had me crying.


Matthew Calis wrote: "This book had me crying."

Definitely - very emotional!


message 5: by Svetlana (new)

Svetlana great review Matthew! I've had this on my TBR a long time.. that needs to change asap


Matthew Svetlana wrote: "great review Matthew! I've had this on my TBR a long time.. that needs to change asap"

You should! It has been a couple of years, but it still sticks with me!


Chelsea Humphrey I'm so glad to see you enjoyed this one Matt!


Matthew Chelsea wrote: "I'm so glad to see you enjoyed this one Matt!"

Thanks! Did I see you posting to a current Nightingale discussion?


message 9: by Tom (new) - rated it 5 stars

Tom Lewis Thanks for the heads up about "Between Shades of Gray!" I'm gonna check it out.


Matthew Tom wrote: "Thanks for the heads up about "Between Shades of Gray!" I'm gonna check it out."

No problem! I see you gave this one 5 stars, so I think you will really like that one!


Eileen I absolutely loved The Great Alone and I also loved The Book Thief. I am about to dive into this book and am really looking forward to it. If it captivates me anywhere as much as The Great Alone, I'm probably going to be listening to it obsessively so I can find out how it ends! I'm going to check out Between Shades of Gray. Interestingly, The Book Thief is on my list to reread this year as well.


Matthew Eileen wrote: "I absolutely loved The Great Alone and I also loved The Book Thief. I am about to dive into this book and am really looking forward to it. If it captivates me anywhere as much as The Great Alone, I..."

Sounds like you have a lot of great books ahead of you - enjoy!


Eileen Thanks Matthew! I've ended up starting several books that have been on my list because of your reviews!


Matthew Eileen wrote: "Thanks Matthew! I've ended up starting several books that have been on my list because of your reviews!"

Nice! Glad I can help . . . but, if you don't end up liking them, I'll just quietly sneak out the back!😆


Eileen Matthew wrote: "Eileen wrote: "Thanks Matthew! I've ended up starting several books that have been on my list because of your reviews!"

Nice! Glad I can help . . . but, if you don't end up liking them, I'll just ..."


LOL, deal! Though so far you've been spot on. But I'll let you know when I hit some of the highlights of your 2018 year. ;)


Matthew Eileen wrote: "Matthew wrote: "Eileen wrote: "Thanks Matthew! I've ended up starting several books that have been on my list because of your reviews!"

Nice! Glad I can help . . . but, if you don't end up liking ..."


That is great to hear - I hope the trend continues!


Sophie I'm french and my grandparents have been through WW2, so I'm usually wary and tired of tearjerkers and basic romances masquerading as historical fiction.
However, I've hear so much good things about this one that I'll eventually have to pick it up. As usual, your review is on point Matthew :)


Matthew Sophie wrote: "I'm french and my grandparents have been through WW2, so I'm usually wary and tired of tearjerkers and basic romances masquerading as historical fiction.
However, I've hear so much good things abo..."


Thank you, Sophie! It will be interesting to see what you think as the perspective of someone closer to the subject matter is always important to get.


message 19: by Pedro (new)

Pedro Great review, Matthew. Don’t know why, but for some reason I always thought she was kind of a romance writer and for that reason have never read anything by her.


Matthew Pedro Matilde wrote: "Great review, Matthew. Don’t know why, but for some reason I always thought she was kind of a romance writer and for that reason have never read anything by her."

Thanks! I know she has a lot more books than I realized, but I am not sure which genre she is commonly associated with.


Sophie Yep, well, usually I agree with you Matthew but not on this one. I was actually so angry I wrote a lengthy review of this book. I get why so many people liked it but I definitely didn't.


message 22: by Matthew (last edited Mar 25, 2019 08:23AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Matthew Sophie wrote: "Yep, well, usually I agree with you Matthew but not on this one. I was actually so angry I wrote a lengthy review of this book. I get why so many people liked it but I definitely didn't."

Yes - just read your review. Well said! We can't always agree, 100%, right! And, what fun would reading be if we didn't have a few books to grump about! :)

Also, you have a much better first hand view of that area and its history than I do. I have run into that myself when stories are set where I live - I wonder if they even researched!?


Sophie Matthew wrote: "Sophie wrote: "Yep, well, usually I agree with you Matthew but not on this one. I was actually so angry I wrote a lengthy review of this book. I get why so many people liked it but I definitely did..."

Frankly I doubt this book has ever been re-read by anyone a bit versed in french history, let alone a historian :/ That's a shame, really, it could have been so much better !

And yes, sometimes a big rant feels pretty nice. I even think it can make you think a lot about what makes a book work or not ^^

PS : I still value your advice a lot ;))


Matthew Sophie wrote: "Matthew wrote: "Sophie wrote: "Yep, well, usually I agree with you Matthew but not on this one. I was actually so angry I wrote a lengthy review of this book. I get why so many people liked it but ..."

I wonder with many books if they every really got a copy editor involved . . .

Sophie wrote: "PS : I still value your advice a lot"

You too, Sophie! :)


back to top