Gabby's Reviews > The DUFF: Designated Ugly Fat Friend

The DUFF by Kody Keplinger
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
3083931
's review
Jan 07, 2011

it was amazing
bookshelves: chick-lit, e-books, romance, unforgettable, favorites

D-Designated
U-Ugly
F-Fat
F-Friend



In a group of friends there is always a DUFF or the "ugly duckling" the one compared to her friends she is very unattractive, she doesn't have a sexy body and not a lot of boys is chasing her. Bianca Piper is the duff in her small group of friends a name given to her by the school's biggest womanizer Wesley Rush, Bianca hates Wesley but one night she kissed Wesley to numb her pain and forget about her problems at first that kiss was just an escape, but that kiss became so much more...


BOOK REVIEW:

*i'm actually happy that Me and the main character have the same perception about boys and love you see she hates boys and thinks that love is a deep word that takes years and years to develop,. while me, I'm just crushing on male celebrities but I'm not actually falling head over heels to the School's heartthrob, i pretty much don't care about them. and i usually ignore them.. LOL

* maybe i was a bit shocked about Bianca's action so she could forget about her pain and problems. I mean do you have to kiss and sleep with some guy so you can forget about your problem? not just once but soooooooooo many countless times... and yeah it's kinda bitchy,slutty and dirty.


why 5 stars?

5 stars because...

-i actually like the story there's a valuable lesson that you will get when ur done reading the book and the book pretty much talks about normal teenage problems like heart breaks, family break-ups, trying to fit in, dealing with teen angst and peer pressure.

- the love team is quite different sure you already hear of Ugly duckling + dashing dude = WEEE!!! TYPICAL LOVETEAM . but in this book you'll get BITCHY UGLY DUCKLING + MAN-WHORE DASHING DUDE= a not so typical loveteam

- Escape is impossible so why not embrace it? ____ a very good quote to live by.. :)

In the book Duff is Designated Ugly Fat Friend, you'll get the impression that they are an outcast,pathetic,horrible and monstrous, but in reality each and every one of us is a DUFF none of us is perfect and all has insecurities of their own... So yeah.. I'm also a DUFF. :D
3 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The DUFF.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

January 7, 2011 – Shelved
January 14, 2011 –
1.0%
January 14, 2011 –
27.0%
January 14, 2011 – Shelved as: chick-lit
Started Reading
January 15, 2011 –
71.0% "oooohhhhhh!!! im so excited to know how the book will end! :)"
January 15, 2011 –
80.0% "OMG!!!"
January 15, 2011 – Finished Reading
January 20, 2011 – Shelved as: e-books
January 20, 2011 – Shelved as: romance
January 20, 2011 – Shelved as: unforgettable
January 21, 2011 – Shelved as: favorites

Comments (showing 1-22 of 22) (22 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Julie (new) - added it

Julie wow, cute and interesting story gabby ^^ just read your reason for giving it a five star then found myself wanting to read it!

I want to include this one to my 100 book challenge hehe


Gabby thanks julie!! try mo to.. kaya lng ndi xa maxadong wholesome.. but quick read ang libro 288 pages lng kc.. ^_^


message 3: by Joyzi (new) - added it

Joyzi Ganda ng review mo Gabby, nakakacurious tuloy basahin


message 4: by Julie (new) - added it

Julie @gabby: ah wala nang wholesome issue sakin lalo na sa book na binabasa namin ni joyzi bwahaha baka candy nalang kalabasan nyan LoL

i will! oo nga mukhang light read! :)

@joyzi: agree!


Gabby @julie-hahaha! ala na bng wholesome? lolz anu bng binabasa nyo? haha.
@joyzi- thank u! ^^ i dont know qng magustuhan mo din ung story. gusto ko kc ung main character kc pareho kmi ng perception . hehe...


message 6: by Julie (new) - added it

Julie @gabby: beauty series by anne rice. ayun di din wholesome gabby haha kaya nabanggit ko lang ^^


message 7: by Joyzi (new) - added it

Joyzi @Julie naku pati si Gabby sinasabihan mo ng ganyan, baka basahin niya na din yun ^^


Gabby wow! sinearch ko yan sa wiki yng binabasa nyo.. hehe.. parang rated X.. LOLZ antayinko na lng review nyo.. haha!


message 9: by Joyzi (new) - added it

Joyzi Oo gabby rated X nga ^^


message 10: by Julie (new) - added it

Julie @joyzi: >.< oo nga eh, ayoko naman na sabihan si gabby na wag basahin yun baka lalo lang maging curious kaya eto nako ang B.I. ko na ata :(

@gabby: please anak sana di mo ko i-condemn...lol


Gabby haha!! nako it's OK mommy.. haha! antayin ko na lng review nyo ni joyzi.. hehe . ndi pa ata aq ready sa rated X books.. haha! LOL


message 12: by Julie (new) - added it

Julie very good girl *nods* :) hahaha


message 13: by Joyzi (new) - added it

Joyzi Gabby 18 ka na ba? Kasi I'm not really recommending it kung below 18 ka pa


Gabby oo joyzi, pero tingin mo ba ndi naman aq magkakaron ng nightmares pag binasa ko yan?? hehe.. (parang bata) LOLZ


message 15: by Joyzi (new) - added it

Joyzi Medyo, kung sensitive ka sa sexual violence and rape


message 16: by Julie (new) - added it

Julie @gabby: may time para sa lahat :) hehe
ay gabby! galing akong NBS kanina sa MoA nakakita nako ng Bloody Valentine haha naalala kita nung nakita ko. mga 300+ ata


Gabby @julie: hehe.. sweet naman naalala mo q.. haha!! oo nakita ko din un..isip aq qng bibilhin ko.. manipis lng pala akala ko super kapal.. LOLZ

@joyzi: uy! nabasa ko review mo kay sleeping beauty.. hmmm.. mejo na curious aq ., gusto ko basahin na hindi.. hehe.,


message 18: by Joyzi (new) - added it

Joyzi Kung gusto mo basahin available naman siya sa 4shared.com


message 19: by Julie (new) - added it

Julie @gabby: ako din nalinlang sa book na yun haha hinawakan ko pa talaga para lang makombinse na maliit lang talaga XP para lang palang pocketbook


Gabby @joyzi: ok! thank you! pero nangingibabaw ang kagustuhan kong basahin yan... hehe

@julie: oo! makapal pa ata goosebumps ko dun.. hehe.. kaya lng ang ganda ng cover... weee!! excited din a sa bonding ni jack and schuyler.. hehe


message 21: by Julie (new) - added it

Julie gabby naman eh hahahah nagulat ako >.< may bonding na pala na mangyayari hahahaha

uunahan na kita magbasa! hihihihih *witch laugh*
hahaha *bully-mode*


message 22: by Joyzi (new) - added it

Joyzi @Gabby sige basahin mo XD


back to top