warhawke's Reviews > The Tied Man

The Tied Man by Tabitha McGowan
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
25494927
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: dark-gritty-disturbed, romance-love
Recommended to warhawke by: CC

Type: Standalone book 1 of The Tied Man series
POV: First Person - Dual
Rating:





Lilith Bresson was a famous artist forced to return to her homeland to repay her father’s debt by doing a painting for Lady Blaine Albermarle. She was invited as a guess at Albermarle Hall not knowing the true horror hiding behind the luxurious gateway façade.

Finn Strachan was Lady Albermarle’s handsome young companion. Behind the prim and proper persona, he was a man desperate for any kind of escape he could manage. But Lilith’s arrival brought in complications he didn’t see coming.



What first caught my attention about this book was the unconventional role of the hero and heroine. It’s not something you find a lot among the chock-full of alpha heroes on bookshelves.

‘Y’know what my job is, huh? It’s to say ‘Yes’ and keep saying it until whoever’s paying decides they’ve had enough. It doesn’t matter if I’m not happy, or if it disgusts me, or even if it hurts like I’d rather fucking die. So deal with it. I have to.’


I think it’s impossible for anyone not to love Finn. He was a helpless victim but that didn’t make him weak. It took strength to endure the things he had to as long as he did.



It took me a while to warm up to Lilith. She was a fierce, independent female character, but she could also be abrasive at times. What I love about her is that she knew when to fight and when to be docile.

In my long and illustrious career I had been fucked by a procession of evil bastards, but none ever quite matched the sublime cruelty of Blaine.


I think it’s been a long time since I truly hated a character and Blaine earned her place in this one. And she hardly even lifted a finger.

‘And that means the less of this... kind of thing there is, the easier it’ll be for you. Sometimes the more you have, the more you’ll miss it when it’s gone.’


I love the secondary characters, Henry, Gabriel and Nat, each in its own way. I love Nat since the beginning and I was so angry with Lilith at how she treated him.

The story flowed at a good pace and I don’t think it’s that dark. I mean there were some horrifying scenes that would be hard for those with gentler heart/stomach to read, but the overall feel was lighter than I expected. There were also some funny bits scattered throughout the book.

“But at the end of the day, everything I do costs me. The only question is how much.”


What I love the most about this book is the friendship between Finn and Lilith. I didn’t see The Tied Man as a love story. I saw it as a story of friendship and sacrifices. And it certainly not erotic. There were explicit scenes but it wasn’t meant to titillate. Instead it was used to show the horror and the depravity of Albermarle Hall.

Personally, one thing I found to be a bit of a challenge was the writing. There were a lot of British words and slangs that I’m not familiar with and I had to constantly refer to dictionary and Google. I also wish there was more to Finn’s background.

For the ending, I might be among the very few who actually love it ended that way. I would be perfectly content with it but of course I would still read book 2 when it comes out.

The Tied Man was a story of two individuals who formed a beautiful relationship by feeding off each other’s strength to survive physical and psychological assaults. It is recommended to those looking for an unconventional story and don’t mind delving into the depraved world of sexual slavery.

Note:
The Tied Man is a complete story that can be read on its own.
Books in the series:

The Tied Man (The Tied Man, #1) by Tabitha McGowan The Tied Man Unbound (The Tied Man, #2) by Tabitha McGowan

For more reviews/reveals/giveaways visit:


55 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Tied Man.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

August 28, 2015 – Started Reading
August 28, 2015 – Shelved
August 28, 2015 –
1.0% "This one has been on my TBR for a loooong time. After some additional endorsement from a couple of friends, I'm diving in this one :D\n \n "
August 28, 2015 –
10.0% " Finn had the face of a fallen angel. \n The very first time I met him, Finn Strachan stole my breath.  \n \n ---The only thing this hottie didn't match to the detailed description is the eyes. Finn had wide eyes. But I like sexy narrow eyes too :p\n \n "
August 29, 2015 –
24.0% " ‘So, what do you usually do when you can’t sleep?’ \n ‘Usually I can sleep.  That’s the bloody problem.’  I gave him a sideways glance.  ‘Other than that, I find masturbation to be effective.  Why, what about you?’ \n \n ---Hahaha!\n \n "
August 29, 2015 –
40.0% " "If you choose to leave Albermarle now, I give you my solemn promise that I will hurt  Finn Strachan beyond all measure.  How does that make you feel, Lilith?’ \n \n "
August 29, 2015 –
47.0% " I wanted to argue through the night to prove him wrong, but we both knew he was right. And I was the only one who could do anything to fix it \n \n --- I don't like the sound of this...\n \n "
August 30, 2015 –
62.0% " ‘I’m coming back,’ Lilith mouthed behind Blaine’s back, and I almost allowed myself to believe her. \n \n ---I sure hope so. I'm already feeling separation anxiety, what more Finn lol! \n \n "
August 30, 2015 –
77.0% " I was watching a man shutting down, and I was terrified \n \n ---Those sick bastards\n \n "
August 30, 2015 –
86.0% " ‘‘What the hell do you see in me, Lili?  ‘Cos I sure as fuck can’t see it in myself.  Jesus, I’m this sorry, broken thing next to them!   \n \n ---Oh Finn, I see everything in you. Everything that they're not :(\n \n "
August 31, 2015 –
100.0% "I never thought I would end up loving Gabe!\n Even old Henry who pissed me off earlier, now I just want to smack his head and hug him haha!\n \n "
August 31, 2015 – Shelved as: dark-gritty-disturbed
August 31, 2015 – Shelved as: romance-love
August 31, 2015 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-42 of 42 (42 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by [deleted user] (new)

How is the books so far?


warhawke Madeleine wrote: "How is the books so far?"

It's going good :D


message 3: by [deleted user] (new)

Awesome pics and gif's love them!


warhawke Madeleine wrote: "Awesome pics and gif's love them!"

Thanks ;)


message 5: by Sophie (new)

Sophie  **2 Greek Girls Reading** Awesome review, warhawke! :)) It's troubling when you have to search for words indeed, but I'm glad you loved it nonetheless! :D

PS: I had to google titillate xD


✦❋Arianna✦❋ Awesome review, warhawke!;)


April Stunning review War!! I can't wait for the 2nd book; she has me beyond curious as to where she's gonna take these characters :)


Jennifer Kyle Terrific review War!! Can't wait for next book xx


message 9: by Jessica's (new)

Jessica's Totally Over The Top Book Obsession Great review Warhawke! :)


message 10: by Silvia (new)

Silvia Drascall woow...need this one too...love your review..thx for sharing


Alba and Her Secrets..♥ Fabulous review, hon!! :) xx


message 12: by J (new) - rated it 5 stars

J Wonderful review. I love Finn & Lily and you've exquisitely captured the feelings I had when reading TTM. I am looking forward to TTMU because I feel like Finn & Lily became part of my life and I just need more of them.


Patty ~ Wrapped Up In Reading Book Blog Oh Boy!!!!
I LOVE YOUR ART!!
Lovely Review!!
So happy you enjoyed this one and DAMN, your Finn is HOT!!!
xoxoxoo


message 14: by Michelle (new)

Michelle Awesome review pics gifs brilliant
Have 2 read this xxx


message 15: by Truuss (new)

Truuss I always love your review(s) xx


message 16: by CC (new) - rated it 5 stars

CC Outstanding review and art, Hawkey!! I'm so glad you read this one!! When I was deciding to read it, the unique hero/heroine dynamic appealed to me as well!


message 17: by Rag (new) - added it

Rag Fab review War!


warhawke ღSophieღ wrote: "Awesome review, warhawke! :)) It's troubling when you have to search for words indeed, but I'm glad you loved it nonetheless! :D

PS: I had to google titillate xD"

Hahah! thanks Sophie :D

Arianna wrote: "Awesome review, warhawke!;)"
Thanks Arianna ;)

April wrote: "Stunning review War!! I can't wait for the 2nd book; she has me beyond curious as to where she's gonna take these characters :)"
Oh yeah. I actually hope it's more heartbreaking than this one lol!

Jennifer wrote: "Terrific review War!! Can't wait for next book xx"
Thanks Jennifer! I hope it comes soon ;)

Jessica wrote: "Great review Warhawke! :)"
Thank you Jessica :D

Silvia wrote: "woow...need this one too...love your review..thx for sharing"
Thanks so much Silvia ;)


warhawke Alba and Her Secrets..♥ wrote: "Fabulous review, hon!! :) xx"
Thanks Alba! :D

Judy wrote: "Wonderful review. I love Finn & Lily and you've exquisitely captured the feelings I had when reading TTM. I am looking forward to TTMU because I feel like Finn & Lily became part of my life and I..."
Aww, thank you so much Judy!

Patty ❤️❤️ Belongs To ❤️Kellan❤️Jesse❤️Lautner❤️Miller❤️Garrett❤️Malcolm and Archer❤️❤️ wrote: "Oh Boy!!!!
I LOVE YOUR ART!!
Lovely Review!!
So happy you enjoyed this one and DAMN, your Finn is HOT!!!
xoxoxoo"

Haha! Yeah, I want him lol! Thanks Patty ;)

Michelle wrote: "Awesome review pics gifs brilliant
Have 2 read this xxx"

Thanks Michelle! Hope you'll enjoy :D

Truus wrote: "I always love your review(s) xx"
Thanks Truus ;)

CC wrote: "Outstanding review and art, Hawkey!! I'm so glad you read this one!! When I was deciding to read it, the unique hero/heroine dynamic appealed to me as well!"
Definitely different ;) Thanks CC!

Rag wrote: "Fab review War!"
Thanks Rag :D


message 20: by Peggy (new)

Peggy Dabney Awesome review! :D


Lo Bookfrantic OH War...I love this review so much!! I want to read this book and the next one too lol...Hopefully I can read it before the second one comes out haha (right?! lol)...Anyhow...Awesome art as always, fantastic review!!


message 22: by Jen (new) - added it

Jen Brilliant review Warhawke! I loved how you described this book as not a romance but more a friendship and such...I am glad to know that bit before going into it..so thank you!♥


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Stunning review WaWa. I want to read but not sure I can handle.. = Dxo


warhawke Peggy wrote: "Awesome review! :D"
Thanks Peggy :D

Loyda wrote: "OH War...I love this review so much!! I want to read this book and the next one too lol...Hopefully I can read it before the second one comes out haha (right?! lol)...Anyhow...Awesome art as always..."
You probably have plenty of time. It's been a long time since book 1 came out lol! Thanks Loyda :D

Jen wrote: "Brilliant review Warhawke! I loved how you described this book as not a romance but more a friendship and such...I am glad to know that bit before going into it..so thank you!♥"
Thanks Jen!

SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ wrote: "Stunning review WaWa. I want to read but not sure I can handle.. = Dxo"
Not if you don't like reading about people's depravity lol! Thank you SuSu ;)



Dusti Hanrahan SO glad you enjoyed this! I have had it to read forever as well and you just made me bump it up for sure!!!


warhawke Dusti wrote: "SO glad you enjoyed this! I have had it to read forever as well and you just made me bump it up for sure!!!"

>>>Thanks Dusti! Hope you'll enjoy it when you get to it :D


message 27: by Judith (new) - added it

Judith Fab review,gorgeous...with great images.I started this ages ago but couldn't get into it...might have to give it another go after your review:))


message 28: by Cristina (new)

Cristina Amazing review War ;)


message 29: by Mercedes (new) - added it

Mercedes Awesome review war, I really like the look of this Finn guy ;)


Lisa *-* GiViNg It To YoU * LoCk StOcK & TwO SmOkiNg BaRrELs Fantastic review darling, I loved this book, and I agree I liked the way it ended too. xoxo


warhawke Judith wrote: "Fab review,gorgeous...with great images.I started this ages ago but couldn't get into it...might have to give it another go after your review:))"
Oh I didn't know that. Thanks Judith :D

Cristina wrote: "Amazing review War ;)"
Thanks Cristina!

Mercedes wrote: "Awesome review war, I really like the look of this Finn guy ;)"
I know... I'm salivating for him hahaha!

Lisa *-* GiViNg It To YoU wrote: "Fantastic review darling, I loved this book, and I agree I liked the way it ended too. xoxo"
Good to know! Thanks Lisa ;)


Candace Fabulous review, Warhawke! Glad you enjoyed it. :)


Deanna❤Pink Lady❤️ Fantastic review Hun!! ♥


Olga therebelreader Wonderful review (y)


message 35: by [deleted user] (new)

Awesome review babe!


warhawke Candace wrote: "Fabulous review, Warhawke! Glad you enjoyed it. :)"
Thank you Candace ;)

Deanna❤Pink Lady❤️ wrote: "Fantastic review Hun!! ♥"
Thanks Deanna :D

Olga The.Rebel.Reader wrote: "Wonderful review (y)"
Thank you Olga!

Madeleine wrote: "Awesome review babe!"
Thanks Mad! :D


message 37: by Anna (new) - added it

Anna Fab review


warhawke Anna wrote: "Fab review"

>>> Thanks Anna :D


message 39: by Stacey is Sassy (new)

Stacey is Sassy Wonderful review and images my lovely :-) ♥


warhawke Stacey is Sassy wrote: "Wonderful review and images my lovely :-) ♥"

>>> Thank you Stacey!


Kay (❦ ᴗ ❦ ✿) BooksandMe depraved world of sexual slavery huh.. Fab review Az!


warhawke ☛ Kay wrote: "depraved world of sexual slavery huh.. Fab review Az!"

>>> Thanks Kay :D


back to top