Danielle's Reviews > Haven

Haven by Kristi Cook
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
3099179
's review
Dec 10, 2010

it was ok
bookshelves: debs11

Between 2 and 3 stars. My thoughts are all in my status updates
Review in form of a vlog here: http://overflowingshelf.blogspot.com/...
1 like · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Haven.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

December 10, 2010 – Shelved
December 10, 2010 – Shelved as: debs11
February 14, 2011 – Started Reading
February 14, 2011 –
page 1
0.25%
February 14, 2011 –
page 19
4.74% "*sigh*"
February 16, 2011 –
page 42
10.47% "I find myself talking to this book"
February 16, 2011 –
page 63
15.71%
February 16, 2011 –
page 88
21.95%
February 17, 2011 –
page 114
28.43%
February 18, 2011 –
page 114
28.43% "Here we go again"
February 18, 2011 –
page 119
29.68% "No shit you don't know a lot about him you just met him"
February 18, 2011 –
page 123
30.67% "Oh no. The mysterious I don't want to hurt you line."
February 18, 2011 –
page 129
32.17% "Oh god. Gag me with a spoon."
February 18, 2011 –
page 133
33.17% "I'm trying so hard not to say what in actually feeling right now"
February 18, 2011 –
page 137
34.16% "*cringe* that PHRASE! *shutters*"
February 18, 2011 –
page 137
34.16% ""Geez, three cups of spiked coffee, and I hadn't even notice? I was worse off than I thought." --Yeah you are. because you thinking about some BOY"
February 18, 2011 –
page 144
35.91% "Geez, three cups of spiked coffee, and I hadn't even notice? I was worse off than I thought." --Yeah you are. because you thinking about some BOY"
February 18, 2011 –
page 148
36.91% "oh. my. god. such a cheesy line"
February 18, 2011 –
page 150
37.41% ""'i try to stay away from you, but I just can't do it.'" - ahh reminiscent of another book *eyes Twilight*"
February 18, 2011 –
page 154
38.4% "He comes to the dance as a vampire...i wonder why"
February 18, 2011 –
page 163
40.65% "wtf is going on..."
February 18, 2011 –
page 163
40.65% "so saw that coming a mile away. I think a blind person could of saw that coming."
February 18, 2011 –
page 169
42.14% "Now she denying the truth that is BLATANTLY OBVIOUSLY TRUE"
February 18, 2011 –
page 171
42.64% "2 you knows in 2 pages..."
February 18, 2011 –
page 171
42.64% "make that 3 in 2 pages"
February 18, 2011 –
page 177
44.14% "This is a better written scene straight out of twilight"
February 18, 2011 –
page 178
44.39% ""It was Aidan. Of course it was. Hadn't I known it all along?" - No you didn't. But I did."
February 18, 2011 –
page 181
45.14% "he had to chuckle...at least he didn't chuckle darkly."
February 18, 2011 –
page 184
45.89% "Yay. I like Violet for acknowledging Vampire is a monster and being freaked out by that fact. it is a good thing."
February 18, 2011 –
page 190
47.38% "Now i'm picturing Aidan with a very weird british accent for some reason..."
February 18, 2011 –
page 193
48.13% "*le sigh*"
February 18, 2011 –
page 197
49.13% "she just asked about his sleeping habits and I was extremely worried it would be an Edward Cullen reply of " i like watching you sleep""
February 18, 2011 –
page 198
49.38% "Do not be jealous of some dead girl. Please. Violet you will lose some of the respect I have for you."
February 18, 2011 –
page 200
49.88% "Oh god. this sentence: "It's not like I want to...well, you know." JUST SAY IT! Don't beat around the bush!"
February 18, 2011 –
page 203
50.62% "omg was that what I think it was??"
February 18, 2011 –
page 206
51.37% "Did he just say "lair""
February 18, 2011 –
page 207
51.62% ""And yet I still found him beautiful, my Aidan." The my Aidan killed this for me."
February 18, 2011 –
page 208
51.87% "oh gosh. this discussion is so awkward."
February 18, 2011 –
page 208
51.87% "omg "simultaneous penetration" i'm so weirded out"
February 18, 2011 –
page 209
52.12% "This is so awkward. Please stop this discussion about sex and vampirism"
February 18, 2011 –
page 209
52.12% "HAHAH VAMPIRISM AS AN STD!!!"
February 18, 2011 –
page 214
53.37% "Please stop saying "you know" it's so much better when you just say what "you know" really is"
February 18, 2011 –
page 214
53.37% "there was two "you knows" within like two paragraphs. oh god. too close together"
February 18, 2011 –
page 216
53.87% "Oh, i do like the Peter Pan reference for the vampire relationship. Probs cause I love Peter Pan"
February 18, 2011 –
page 221
55.11% "that was weird"
February 18, 2011 –
page 221
55.11% "What the heck does "hot pocket" mean? It is definitely not referring to the food in this sentence."
February 18, 2011 –
page 229
57.11% "Who is Jenna and why is she important all of a sudden"
February 18, 2011 –
page 230
57.36% "Beautiful use of the phrase "you know": "'Well, I figured she was jealous of you, anyway. You know, about Aidan. Not that they've ever...you know..""
February 18, 2011 –
page 234
58.35% "Action and drama out of nowhere."
February 18, 2011 –
page 238
59.35% "*nods head* yes he is sounding more like a professor than a teenager."
February 18, 2011 –
page 240
59.85% "Female vamps have the "primal urge" to bite men and turn them into vampires....wow."
February 18, 2011 –
page 242
60.35% "Such a twilight line..."
February 18, 2011 –
page 243
60.6% "WTF!! "I was supposed to be frightened. But there was no denying that I was totally turned on." this is seriously wrong."
February 18, 2011 –
page 244
60.85% "Woah. And now she is complaining about getting what she was wanting a minute ago."
February 18, 2011 –
page 249
62.09% "cheesy..."
February 18, 2011 –
page 250
62.34% "WTF"
February 18, 2011 –
page 256
63.84%
February 18, 2011 –
page 256
63.84% "this came out of nowhere. convenient because of violet's visions"
February 18, 2011 –
page 256
63.84%
February 18, 2011 –
page 257
64.09% "Time for bed. To be continued tomorrow."
February 19, 2011 –
page 258
64.34% "Here we go again"
February 19, 2011 –
page 261
65.09% "What? Really? Violet is there weapon? this came out of nowhere."
February 19, 2011 –
page 262
65.34% "This whole thing about the other vampires/bad vamps came out of nowhere."
February 19, 2011 –
page 264
65.84% "*Groans*"
February 19, 2011 –
page 269
67.08% "Oh. Declaration of love. Of course"
February 19, 2011 –
page 270
67.33% "Haha a image from twilight the movie just flew into my head. Of edward magically being propelled against the wall..."
February 19, 2011 –
page 271
67.58% "did she really just say that! *looks again* omg she did."
February 19, 2011 –
page 272
67.83% "'I guess my breaching his mind had cured the vampire verison of a hard-on he'd been suffering from" WTF!"
February 19, 2011 –
page 277
69.08% "time is so jumpy in this novel."
February 19, 2011 –
page 278
69.33% "Did she really just try to get him to take his shirt off? Like that? Really? Would that ever work?"
February 19, 2011 –
page 279
69.58% "And now she goes from completely obsessed with thinking about him to jealous."
February 19, 2011 –
page 280
69.83% "Thoughts bounce from jealousy to lust so quickly. like a ping pong ball"
February 19, 2011 –
page 281
70.07% "Her emotions....ALL OVER THE PLACE! SERIOUSLY GET A GRIP GIRL."
February 19, 2011 –
page 283
70.57% "Her visions are really annoying. and convenient plot device. Seriously only thing that moves the plot"
February 19, 2011 –
page 285
71.07% "oh more "you knows""
February 19, 2011 –
page 285
71.07% "I'm kind of annoyed that she lies to everyone but Aidan. Very bad friend."
February 19, 2011 –
page 285
71.07% "She has to "fake" teenage angst....no sweetie you don't have to fake any angst at ALL"
February 19, 2011 –
page 285
71.07% ""... trying to get some ass" can say that but not sex"
February 19, 2011 –
page 286
71.32% "Good question friend who i don't remember name. Do you two have any things in common?"
February 19, 2011 –
page 287
71.57% "Goo friend! Call Violet out."
February 19, 2011 –
page 287
71.57% "What choice did you have? YOU COULD TELL YOUR FRIENDS THE TRUTH!! that is the other choice."
February 19, 2011 –
page 291
72.57% "oh god. "an electric jolt went through my body at his touch -- our connection.""
February 19, 2011 –
page 292
72.82% "They just spent some time staring at eachothers eyes..."
February 19, 2011 –
page 292
72.82% "And....now intense make-out time"
February 19, 2011 –
page 293
73.07% "Omg what are you doing??? Violet, you are even questioning yourself to stop. "Oh my God, what was I saying?""
February 19, 2011 –
page 300
74.81% "oh god. it's valentine's day. please don't be a sappy chapter"
February 19, 2011 –
page 304
75.81% "Violet grows a bit of a backbone for random people."
February 19, 2011 –
page 306
76.31% "Really what is the point of this Jenna character? I don't even remember who she is just that Violet is always jealous of her."
February 19, 2011 –
page 308
76.81% "Of course Isabel, the girl Aidan loved a century ago looks just like Violet. Shocking."
February 19, 2011 –
page 308
76.81% "And now she immediately believes he never loved her."
February 19, 2011 –
page 310
77.31% "Woah...Cece is your best friend? I don't know anything about her..."
February 19, 2011 –
page 313
78.05% "I don't know what to say. Violet is being so stupid."
February 19, 2011 –
page 313
78.05% "I want to shake Violet. YOU ARE BEING OVER EMOTIONAL AND STUPID! GET A GRIP GIRL!"
February 19, 2011 –
page 314
78.3% "Stop being jealous and freaking out over a DEAD girl"
February 19, 2011 –
page 315
78.55% "Talking out loud to the book now."
February 19, 2011 –
page 316
78.8% "Violet, your being overdramatic. REally? your gonna just end the relationship for this really? really?"
February 19, 2011 –
page 318
79.3% "Still can't say sex. Really, I would rejoice if you would just say it. Really, it's not that hard to say it. SEX."
February 19, 2011 –
page 321
80.05% "Close friend from home just appeared in the story from no where."
February 19, 2011 –
page 322
80.3% "Life is so boring without Aidan. Violet is like living in an dream state."
February 19, 2011 –
page 322
80.3% "Dinner time. For me. Thank god."
February 19, 2011 –
page 322
80.3% "Back to reading"
February 19, 2011 –
page 323
80.55% "Violet. You are stupid. Broke up with Aidan for a completely stupid reason and still made at him. You are stupid."
February 19, 2011 –
page 334
83.29% "Everything would be so much better if Violet admitted she was wrong."
February 19, 2011 –
page 337
84.04% "Friends you will have for life...you spend no time with them"
February 19, 2011 –
page 339
84.54% "I predict that this new Dr. Hottie teacher is a bad vampire. Just saying."
February 19, 2011 –
page 344
85.79% "Convenient way to bring Aidan and Violet back together"
February 19, 2011 –
page 346
86.28% "First time we hear that Violet likes her Abercombie and Fitch pants. Don't know why we need to know this."
February 19, 2011 –
page 347
86.53% ""he finished with my right knee and move to my left, repeating the slow, sensuous lick..." - I'm seriously creeped out that she is turned on by him licking her wounds."
February 19, 2011 –
page 347
86.53% ""By the time he finished, I was reduced to a quivering mass on the bed, panting and squirming." This girl has serious issues."
February 19, 2011 –
page 349
87.03% "Oh the vampires have tribunal...."
February 19, 2011 –
page 354
88.28% "Oh an exclamation mark. I don't like those"
February 20, 2011 –
page 355
88.53% "I like the chapter title. "A Little Help From My Friends" but really, Violet has friends???"
February 20, 2011 –
page 357
89.03% "I too would react like Violet was some crazy brainwashed person if my friend started spewing out that her boyfriend was a vampire, because that would be crazy."
February 20, 2011 –
page 357
89.03% ""'i saw him once, just outside the window,' Cece whispered sounding slightly dazed. 'I thought I must have imagined it.' 'That's crazy,' Sophie said, shaking her head. 'You're on the 5th floor.' Kate folded her arm, glaring at me. 'What, next you're going to tell us he can fly?'" -this literally brought the LOLs HAHAH FLYING"
February 20, 2011 –
page 358
89.28% ""Drawing prey to him" WHY this relationship is bad. PREY. Vampires eat people"
February 20, 2011 –
page 359
89.53% "Marissa is one character that is bundled up in confusion"
February 20, 2011 –
page 359
89.53% "That was quick. They didn't believe her two pages ago and now all for vampire existing"
February 20, 2011 –
page 363
90.52% "Omg why are you still jealous of a dead girl!! "just thinking about her made me angry." Violet, you have serious issues"
February 20, 2011 –
page 367
91.52% "I'm telling you Dr. hottie seems like bad news."
February 20, 2011 –
page 367
91.52% "Ewww. Did she really just lick her lips and think "It's been so long." when Aidan mentions a kiss"
February 20, 2011 –
page 369
92.02% "Oh look. She has a Burberry trench coat. Don't know why that was needed"
February 20, 2011 –
page 370
92.27% "this Tribunal of vampires is mysterious. All these rules and laws but don't know what they are, just that they are there"
February 20, 2011 –
page 373
93.02% "Stuff is about to go down."
February 20, 2011 –
page 376
93.77% "I really hope all this build up leads to something good...but I know it's not gonna."
February 20, 2011 –
page 378
94.26% ""Time seemed to stand still, and I think I might have forgotten how to breathe." -- no, no, no. you did not forget to breathe or you'd be dead."
February 20, 2011 –
page 379
94.51% "This action better be good."
February 20, 2011 –
page 380
94.76% "OMG JULIUS HAS A GOATEE!! This is laughable. I don't know why. not expecting the baddie to have a goatee"
February 20, 2011 –
page 383
95.51% "Way to be smart violet and let everyone know your the Sabbat."
February 20, 2011 –
page 383
95.51% "Of course that's what is gonna happen. Yes it is just like your vision."
February 20, 2011 –
page 385
96.01% "What a good friend Violet. *sarcasm*"
February 20, 2011 –
page 385
96.01% "Oh and aidan gonna try to play the jealousy/liar card to get violet to do what you want. way to go."
February 20, 2011 –
page 387
96.51% "That was fast. and anti-climatic."
February 20, 2011 –
page 389
97.01% "oh course she collapses ina a sobbing heap."
February 20, 2011 –
page 390
97.26% "After waking up from passing out after a vampire attack the first thing that violet is concerned about is being late for class...?"
February 20, 2011 –
page 390
97.26% "YES! And Aidan agrees with me on that point!"
February 20, 2011 –
page 390
97.26% "Oh wow. Violet is really stupid. Thinking everything from the night before was a dream."
February 20, 2011 –
page 391
97.51% ""My friends?" Yes, your friends? which friends?"
February 20, 2011 –
page 391
97.51% "The mystery of that girl Jenna, is now explained."
February 20, 2011 –
page 395
98.5% "Wow Violet is so dumb."
February 20, 2011 –
page 396
98.75% "Oh. Wow."
February 20, 2011 –
page 397
99.0% "Of course she would be."
February 20, 2011 –
page 398
99.25% ""I am your, heart and soul." Just sounds wrong and creepy in this book."
February 20, 2011 –
page 400
99.75% "Yes. there are lots of unanswered questions. I doubt they are gonna be answered now too."
February 20, 2011 –
page 401
100.0% "OMG ITS OVER! YAY!"
February 20, 2011 – Finished Reading

Comments (showing 1-4 of 4) (4 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Pam (new) - rated it 3 stars

Pam Victorio stream of awesome


Danielle Pam wrote: "stream of awesome"

aww thanks


message 3: by Tasha (new)

Tasha You get five stars!!!


message 4: by Rebecca (last edited Feb 20, 2011 04:19PM) (new)

Rebecca you did it!! How did you survive finishing this book?


back to top