Brandi's Reviews > Beauty and the Mustache

Beauty and the Mustache by Penny Reid
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
5494655
's review

really liked it
bookshelves: emotional, laugh-out-loud


4.5 Stars

description

I adored this story. I can't believe I waited so long to meet bossy and broody, Drew Runous - a sexy, outdoorsy, alpha male type, who also - quotes Nietzsche, bakes pies and writes poetry. Yes, I did quiet a bit of swooning.

He was the bodice ripper, Scottish highlander or Viking conqueror, historical romance kind; an unshaven, lion wrestling, mountain man recluse, toss you over his shoulder and plunder your goodies kind of handsome. He was both scary and swoony. I wanted to braid his beard. I also wanted to run away.

Ashley Winston is a fun, caring, and relatable heroine. Growing up with 6 brothers was tough, they were rowdy and did not make her life easy. Now after being away for 8 years, a family crisis has her heading back to the Tennessee mountains, but things have changed. One of my favorite things about this story was Ashley's interactions with her family, it was heartwarming and made this romantic comedy even more special.

I was someone who could hold her own in any situation, be it a discussion on post-modernism or Japanese art as an influence on Van Gogh;...or standing up to four bearded masturbators (obsessed with schedules, no less) in the upstairs bathroom of my momma's house.

Drew and Ashley circle around each other, but when they finally come to come together, there is a lot of butter melting going on.

description

Beauty and the Mustache was a wonderful read, filled with endearing characters who will have you laughing, swooning and possibly shedding a few tears.

description
description
I can't wait to jump into Truth or Beard and spend some more time with the Winston Brothers.
73 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Beauty and the Mustache.
Sign In »

Quotes Brandi Liked

Penny Reid
“You underestimate how deeply you cut when your intentions carry no knives.”
Penny Reid, Beauty and the Mustache

Penny Reid
“With you there are only two distances that matter:  Here. Not here. You are not here.”
Penny Reid, Beauty and the Mustache

Penny Reid
“No. Since I first saw you. Since I first laid eyes on you and felt sorry for every beautiful thing that was made no longer resplendent—nullified by your being.”
Penny Reid, Beauty and the Mustache

Penny Reid
“Apathy between family members makes the blood they share turn to water.”
Penny Reid, Beauty and the Mustache

Penny Reid
“There is a stillness that accompanies the death of a loved one. Everything becomes quieter, but it’s not just sound that is dimmed. Movement, action, perception, emotion—everything is distant and removed.”
Penny Reid, Beauty and the Mustache


Reading Progress

July 20, 2015 – Started Reading
July 20, 2015 – Shelved
July 20, 2015 –
2.0% ""I swear to the god of moonshine, I am going to pinch your nipples straight off your chest!"\n description \n LOL. That was some first impression!"
July 21, 2015 –
27.0% " "RACCOON!!!"\n The moment was both terrifying and preposterous. I hadn't run from the four-hundred-pound black bear, but I was running from a rabid, smaller-than-average raccoon. \n description\n I would be running too!"
July 21, 2015 –
78.0% " When you cried, I learned what helplessness tastes like. Because all I could do was swallow. \n description"
July 22, 2015 – Shelved as: emotional
July 22, 2015 – Shelved as: laugh-out-loud
July 22, 2015 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-42 of 42 (42 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by S.M. (new)

S.M. West Great review, Brandi! I have to get to this series. xo


*J* Too Many Books Too Little Time Great review B!


FMABookReviews Terrific review, Brandi!


Jacqueline's Reads Great review!


Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤  Fantastic review sweetie :))


message 6: by Jennifer (new)

Jennifer Kyle Wonderful review Brandi!!! Sounds so good xx


Brandi Suzanne wrote: "Great review, Brandi! I have to get to this series. xo"
Thanks, Suzanne. I'm a bit of a cheater, this is the first book in the series, I've read. I'm such a rule breaker. Lol. xx

J *I did it all for the nookie.The book nookie* wrote: "Great review B!"
Thanks, J! :))

FMABookReviews wrote: "Terrific review, Brandi!"
Thanks, FMA! <3

Jacqueline's Reads wrote: "Great review!"
Thanks, JR! x

Pavlina loves Dex ❤❤ wrote: "Fantastic review sweetie :))"
Thank you, Pavlina! x

Jennifer wrote: "Wonderful review Brandi!!! Sounds so good xx"
Thanks, Jennifer! <33


message 8: by Michelle (new)

Michelle Wonderful review Brandi:))


Aisling Zena Fab review Brandi! :)


message 10: by Dee (new) - rated it 5 stars

Dee Montoya Wonderful review, B!!! Love it!


message 11: by Exina (new)

Exina Amazing review, Brandi!


NinaReader Great review Brandi! I need to make time for more Penny Reid in my life.


Anna Banana Great review, Brandi! I'm so happy you ended up enjoying it :)


message 14: by * Meli Mel * (new) - added it

* Meli Mel * FAB review, Brandi!! xx


Brandi Michelle wrote: "Wonderful review Brandi:))"
Thanks, Michelle! :))

Aisling Zena wrote: "Fab review Brandi! :)"
Thanks, Aisling! :))

Dee wrote: "Wonderful review, B!!! Love it!"
Thank you, Dee!! xx

Exina wrote: "Amazing review, Brandi!"
Thanks, Exina! :))

NinaReader wrote: "Great review Brandi! I need to make time for more Penny Reid in my life."
Thanks, Nina! I will definitely be reading more of her work :))

Anna Banana wrote: "Great review, Brandi! I'm so happy you ended up enjoying it :)"
Thanks, Anna!! Loved it <3

Meli Mel *Ty and Zane's Creeper* wrote: "FAB review, Brandi!! xx"
Thanks, Meli! xx


ღFloღ the coffee addict Wonderful review, Brandi!! Can't wait to get back to this series. ;D


Rachel Reads Ravenously Great review and images Brandi! xoxo


Brandi ღFloღ the coffee addict wrote: "Wonderful review, Brandi!! Can't wait to get back to this series. ;D"
Thanks, Flo! I really enjoyed this one! xx

Rachel ♥Reads Ravenously♥ wrote: "Great review and images Brandi! xoxo"
Awh! Thank you so much, Rachel! xx


Christy Fabulous review, Brandi! xoxo


Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» FAB review and art, hon!! I think I'm probably the only who hasn't read a Penny Reid book yet, and I am going to rectify that ASAP! I wanna meet her alpha men! ;D Can't wait! So happy you enjoyed this! :D xoxoxox


message 21: by Rag (new)

Rag Amazing review Brandi!


message 22: by Mysza (new)

Mysza Gorgeous review Brandi!


Brandi Christy wrote: "Fabulous review, Brandi! xoxo"
Thanks, Christy! xx

Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» wrote: "FAB review and art, hon!! I think I'm probably the only who hasn't read a Penny Reid book yet, and I am going to rectify that ASAP! I wanna meet her alpha men! ;D Can't wait! So happy you enjoyed t..."
Thanks, sweetie! I haven't read many, but so far, they are always fun :))

Rag wrote: "Amazing review Brandi!"
Thanks, Rag! x

Mysza wrote: "Gorgeous review Brandi!"
Thanks, Mysza! xx


Patty ~ Wrapped Up In Reading Book Blog BEAUTIFUL review Brandi!! :)
xoxo


Amy | Foxy Blogs I'm with Patty- BEAUTIFUL job, Brandi


Wendy'sThoughts Your review matched the book. I was so moved by the poetry and writing of this....deep feelings but the romance of it all. Your review brought it all back :D


Brandi Patty ❤️❤️ Belongs To ❤️Kellan❤️Jesse❤️ Miller❤️Garrett❤️Malcolm and Archer❤️❤️ wrote: "BEAUTIFUL review Brandi!! :)
xoxo"

Thank you, Patty! xx

Amy (Foxy) wrote: "I'm with Patty- BEAUTIFUL job, Brandi"
Awh! Thanks, Foxy! <33

Wendy'sThoughts wrote: "Your review matched the book. I was so moved by the poetry and writing of this....deep feelings but the romance of it all. Your review brought it all back :D"
Thank you much, Wendy! I really enjoyed this one! x


Angela (Reading Frenzy Book Blog) Absolutely wonderful review, Brandi! I've wanted to read this series for awhile. Now I'm REALLY to read this but damn stupid life for cutting into my reading time! :)


message 29: by Amanda (new)

Amanda Fab review, Brandi.


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) Wonderful review Brandi! xo


message 31: by ♥Rachel♥ (new)

♥Rachel♥ Lovely review, Brandi! :)


Stacey is Sassy Great review my lovely. I read T or B without reading this one. I've got it on my list and your review makes me want to read it now. Soon... :-) ♥


Brandi Angela wrote: "Absolutely wonderful review, Brandi! I've wanted to read this series for awhile. Now I'm REALLY to read this but damn stupid life for cutting into my reading time! :)"
RL can be such a bitch! Lol. I know the feeling too well ;) I was a bit of a rebel and read out of order, lol. So, I'm not sure how the first books in the series are, but I loved this one - and it introduces characters in her new series Truth or Beard, I just finished and loved it :)

Amanda wrote: "Fab review, Brandi."
Thanks, Amanda! :))

Lady Vigilante (Feifei) wrote: "Wonderful review Brandi! xo"
Thank you so much, Feifei! xx

♥Rachel♥ wrote: "Lovely review, Brandi! :)"
Thanks, Rachel! :))

Stacey is Sassy wrote: "Great review my lovely. I read T or B without reading this one. I've got it on my list and your review makes me want to read it now. Soon... :-) ♥"
Thanks, Stacey! Lol, yeah, I read this one so I would be ready for T or B, since it introduced the brothers. Since you enjoyed Truth, you should read this one :))


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Wonderful review Brandi! = ))


Brandi SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ wrote: "Wonderful review Brandi! = ))"

Thank you, SueBee! <33


message 36: by Ksenia (new) - added it

Ksenia Beautiful review, Brandi! I haven’t heard about this book before, but it sounds good. Added it to my tbr.


Brandi Ksenia wrote: "Beautiful review, Brandi! I haven’t heard about this book before, but it sounds good. Added it to my tbr."

Thank you so much, Ksenia! I hope you enjoy it :)


Geri Reads Loved my Drew. Great review, Brandi.


♥Sharon♥ Lovely review Brandi!! This one was my favorite of the series. xx


Brandi ♥~♥Geri ~ the Racy Lit Reader ♥~♥ wrote: "Loved my Drew. Great review, Brandi."
Thanks, Geri! Me too! :))

♥Sharon♥ wrote: "Lovely review Brandi!! This one was my favorite of the series. xx"
Thanks, Sharon! I'm so bad, this one was the first in the series, I've read. lol. I will have to go back, but I'm glad a picked a good one to start with :))


message 41: by Jen (last edited Jul 28, 2015 02:45PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jen Awesome review, Brandi! I can't believe I haven't read this yet. After reading Truth or Beard this is so moving up my list :)) Four bearded masturbators...hmmmm


Brandi Jen wrote: "Awesome review, Brandi! I can't believe I haven't read this yet. After reading Truth or Beard this is so moving up my list :)) Four bearded masturbators...hmmmm"

Yes! I picked it up because it introduces the Wilson brothers, I really enjoyed it. If you liked Truth or Beard I can't see you not enjoying this one! x


back to top