Nikyta *Miss Forgetful*'s Reviews > The Invisible Chains - Part 1: Bonds of Hate

The Invisible Chains - Part 1 by Andrew Ashling
Rate this book
Clear rating

Wow, this is was intense read. Well written and captivating, I experienced a wide range of emotions and felt at times like I was the one being deceived and lied to. I was sucked into the story faster than I thought possible and it took all I had to put the book down to get some sleep.

First and foremost, this is a very dark, complex epic fantasy that's only just beginning and not for the faint of heart. I have no doubt as this epic story continues that every dark and horrible event will happen but I'm also hoping along with those terrible things will lie something beautiful and magical about, and in, these stories.

Anaxantis while a weak, kind and fragile young boy in the beginning of the story grows up and becomes almost the exact opposite. He becomes a young man who's strong, cunning, hateful, cruel and cold at times but still has a sense of honor and caring about him in regards to certain matters. Ehandar, Anaxantis' half-brother, changed as well. He was arrogant, mean and dismissive in the beginning but turns into essentially a slave by the end having fallen for the deceit and web of half-lies Anaxantis created to act out his revenge on the hurtful acts Ehandar did to him. The love shared between the half-brothers, while true and honest, is not so simple. It's confusing and twisted and based a lot on hurt, deception, abuse, revenge, hate and remorse. It's intriguing while at the same time sad and astonishing. Sad because their roles are reversed and you get a taste of how deep Ehandar's love is for Anaxantis and just how unstable Anaxantis is at times.

From the beginning the brothers are doomed to fail, set up by their father, the king, who thought the two of his youngest sons were essentially useless. The brothers, however, are trying anything in their power to prove their father wrong once they know about their destined failure. With Anaxantis' brains and Ehandar's fighting abilities, you'd imagine they'd make the perfect, formidable pair. Unfortunately, Ehandar is too arrogant to listen to his younger brother and sets events in motion that leads them to where they get to by the end of the book. From there everything in Ehandar's life turns to dust while Anaxantis' becomes everything he desires. He takes to the life of lord governor and becomes ruthless and efficient, anticipating things before they happen and dealing with them accordingly. He makes friends based on usefulness instead of what class they are from and before he knows it, he's become a lord governor that people want to follow. I could write a synopsis about this book and just go on and on and on, writing ever single little thing about this story but that would make for one long review, even though this one is already long. Lol

All you need to know is this: It's captivating. There's a bunch of entertaining characters and interesting places, plans of action and horrible acts. Manipulations, deceits, betrayals, a hint of cruelty and remorse. It's a fantastic read and above all else, it's the start of an epic one. There's more to it and I can't wait to read it. I want to know what happens to Anaxantis and Ehandar and whether or not they get an HEA (which they better or else I'm coming after you, Andrew ;-P). I want to know about all the secondary characters like Hemarchidas, Lethoras, Bortram, Obyann (who's so cute and surly), Arranulf, and Rahendo but most of all, I want to know how Anaxantis handles his family and the battle and whether or not Ehandar will ever retain everything Anaxantis made him lose.

I definitely can't wait for the sequel. It can't come soon enough! Whole-heartily recommended :D
7 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Invisible Chains - Part 1.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

December 2, 2010 – Shelved
April 9, 2011 – Started Reading
April 9, 2011 – Shelved as: self-published
April 9, 2011 –
April 9, 2011 –
6.0% ":'-("
April 9, 2011 –
31.0% "^_^"
April 9, 2011 –
40.0% "Anaxantis is getting so evil!!!"
April 9, 2011 –
48.0% "Oh Ehandar you are such a fool :'-("
April 10, 2011 –
74.0% "My heart bleeds for Ehandar :'-("
April 10, 2011 –
April 10, 2011 –
April 10, 2011 – Shelved as: broken-to-bits
April 10, 2011 – Shelved as: adbp
April 10, 2011 – Shelved as: angst
April 10, 2011 – Shelved as: all-time-favs
April 10, 2011 – Shelved as: cruelty-abuse
April 10, 2011 – Shelved as: family-relations
April 10, 2011 – Shelved as: cliff-hanger
April 10, 2011 – Shelved as: injury-recovery
April 10, 2011 – Shelved as: m-m
April 10, 2011 – Shelved as: scifi-fantasy
April 10, 2011 – Shelved as: friends-or-enemies-to-lovers
April 10, 2011 – Shelved as: royalty
April 10, 2011 – Shelved as: master-slave
April 10, 2011 – Shelved as: military
April 10, 2011 – Shelved as: kidnapped-hostage-taken
April 10, 2011 – Shelved as: series-serial
April 10, 2011 – Shelved as: want-pbhc
April 10, 2011 – Shelved as: stockholm-syndrome-kinda
April 10, 2011 – Shelved as: unrequited-yearning
April 10, 2011 – Shelved as: deception-betrayal-lies-omissions
April 10, 2011 – Finished Reading

Comments (showing 1-17 of 17) (17 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Alyosha Niky I think this is the opposite of Bubbles-safe

Nikyta *Miss Forgetful* ROFL. It is that! But I'm loving it so much! I love Anaxantis and Ehandar is warming up to me. Im at 19% but I'm wondering if Anaxantis is just bidding his time to get revenge on Ehandar

Alyosha sure he is!I'm certain they all will turn against each other many times still

I'm at 17%

Nikyta *Miss Forgetful* Well I'm hoping they really do love each other! Lol I kinda feel like Botram is a spy tho :-/ do you have that feeling too?

message 5: by Alyosha (last edited Apr 09, 2011 02:48PM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Alyosha Me too, but I doubt Anaxantis' feelings are real. I would bet he is harboring a cruel revenge. Maybe he will plot it so that Ehandar will become his slave? I'm pretty sure Ehandar's love is true, though

Yeah, someone has to be a slave and Botram would fit the bill, maybe?

Nikyta *Miss Forgetful* Lol. Yeah. He seems kinda fishy :-/

I actually believed Anack when in the beginning he said he felt more for Ehandar than just brotherly love. I hope that's still true or else I'm gonna be heartbroken! I already can't wait or the sequel! Lol

Alyosha Yes, me too, but that's exactly why I feel like his feelings of hate are true too.

And no, someone doesn't have to be slave lol, a spy *facepalm*

Niky I just stepped on pizza and now my feet are full of tomato sauce and cheese? How do I get out of this..mmm mess? Without dirtying the floors??

Alyosha Oh, and where are you at? I have read 40%

Nikyta *Miss Forgetful* 31% now. Had to eat dinner lol

Nikyta *Miss Forgetful* ROFL! I didn't even see your comment about the pizza! How does one even step in pizza, Aly?! :P

Alyosha I KNOW!! But I did!! TWICE. I think someone has stolen my brain :( Only a total fool would step on pizza - twice.

Some idiot (I swear it wasn't me) left her pizza lying next to bed, tried to get up and sank her feet on it. And then repeated the process half hour later.

Alyosha okay babe, I need to go to sleep. Don't you dare finish while I'm sleeping lol

message 13: by Nikyta *Miss Forgetful* (last edited Apr 09, 2011 07:38PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Nikyta *Miss Forgetful* Hmm. Sounds like that pizza purposely put itself somewhere it knew you'd be stepping in. Darn those saucy little buggers! ;P

Alyosha Nikyta wrote: "Hmm. Sounds like that pizza purposely put itself somewhere it knew you'd be stepping in. Darn those saucy little buggers! ;P"

I KNOW! I'm going to feed it to my puppy as a punishment and laugh evilly as Rontti slobbers on it (this has nothing to do with the fact that my feet has been on it. twice)

Nikyta *Miss Forgetful* Lol. I'm sure your pup will thinks it's a reward!!

Guys, I cried when Ehandar gave up his name and titles and then as he was crying in Anaxantis' rooms. :'-(

Alyosha Me too. What Ehandar did was horrible and bad but the way the story was told you can't help but root for him!

Nikyta *Miss Forgetful* Yeah and even though what he did was bad I think he dud more than make up for it since then since I feel like Anaxantis has essentially done just the same and more to him

back to top