♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥ 's Reviews > To Kill a Mockingbird

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
16496589
's review

really liked it

4.5 Stars



I asked a fellow blogger and fan of To Kill a Mocking Bird.... "How does one review this book without writing a complete thesis on it?" The simple answer is, it's nigh on impossible. There's no short or succinct way to fully express the intricacies weaved through the layers that are showcased in this coming of age story. Layers that eloquently depict the hypocrisies and injustices of life during its historical time-frame. The story explores courage, convictions, hope, race, class, prejudice, acceptance and equality. It's steeped in the history of 1930's life in deep South, America and is told through the eyes of eight year old Scout Finch who's surrounded by interesting characters and situations crafted together to produce thought provoking nuances and scenarios worthy of analysis and praise.



To Kill a Mocking bird is a book I've longed to read for some time. Most readers I've discussed the story with have long since read or studied it. (I'm fairly late to this book party!) Most have a deep affection for the story and I can truly understand why, the prose is certainly capable of providing a thought provoking and stimulating discussion. In all honesty I struggled to connect with the story for around the first 32% which I now see as Harper Lee luring me into her fictional world, ensnaring me with her characters, visually vivid descriptions and her simply told, yet poignant story packed with complexity and deep meaning. At 32% I felt myself turn into the story and I practically devoured the remaining book during the course of 24 hours, eager to learn of Tom Robinson's fate and the consequences for Atticus and his family.


52 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read To Kill a Mockingbird.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

July 10, 2015 – Shelved
July 10, 2015 – Shelved as: to-read
October 7, 2015 – Started Reading
October 11, 2015 –
100.0% "Review to come"
October 11, 2015 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-27 of 27 (27 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Carissa (new)

Carissa Great review, Jxxx.


Amy | Foxy Blogs Great review ❤️


message 3: by Jennifer (new)

Jennifer Kyle Fab review Jxxx <3


message 4: by TeriLyn (new)

TeriLyn Perfectly stated, Jxxx :)


✦❋Arianna✦❋ Great review, J!xx


Mirjana **DTR - Down to Read** Fantastic review, J! I remember loving this book when I read it for school...so many years ago....and have been meaning to do a re-read just to see what my older self would think of this. I re-read The Great Gatsby a couple of years ago and couldn't figure out for the life of me what the fuss is about that book.


message 7: by Geri Reads (new)

Geri Reads Terrific review, Jxxx. One of the best memories I had in my childhood was spending one of my summer breaks reading this book. Without fail, every summer, I read this book. Still one of my faves to this day. :)


message 8: by Rose (new)

Rose  He Great review , this book never gets old


message 9: by ♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥ (last edited Oct 14, 2015 01:03PM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥ Carissa wrote: "Great review, Jxxx."

Thank you, Carissa xoxo


♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥ Amy (Foxy) wrote: "Great review ❤️"

Thanks, Amy xoxo


♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥ Jennifer wrote: "Fab review Jxxx <3"

Thank you, Jennifer xoxo


♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥ TeriLyn wrote: "Perfectly stated, Jxxx :)"

Thank you, friend <3 xox


♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥ Arianna wrote: "Great review, J!xx"

Thank you, Arianna xoxo


♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥ Mirjana ***Let's Sound It Out - - - Mary-On-A*** wrote: "Fantastic review, J! I remember loving this book when I read it for school...so many years ago....and have been meaning to do a re-read just to see what my older self would think of this. I re-read..."

Thanks so much, Mirjana! I also have The Great Gatsby on my TBR list, hoping to read soon... I've heard mixed reports but its one of those I feel I should read at some point. xoxo


message 15: by ♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥ (last edited Oct 14, 2015 01:08PM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥ ♥~♥Geri ~ the Racy Lit Reader ♥~♥ wrote: "Terrific review, Jxxx. One of the best memories I had in my childhood was spending one of my summer breaks reading this book. Without fail, every summer, I read this book. Still one of my faves to ..."

Ahh, thank you, Gerri. So many people I've spoken to have so much affection for this book which I absolutely love. xoxo


♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥ Rose wrote: "Great review , this book never gets old"

Thank you, Rose!! <3 xoxo


message 17: by ♥Sharon♥ (new)

♥Sharon♥ Wonderful review friend! I'm probably one of few that hasn't read this book. Glad you enjoyed it!


message 18: by * Meli Mel * (new)

* Meli Mel * Fabulous review, J!! :D xx


message 19: by Jessica (new)

Jessica Alcazar FANTASTIC review! As I was reading it, I was taken back 25 years ago when I devoured this book! WELL DONE! :)


message 20: by Ingie (new)

Ingie Great review, Jxxx! I really should read this one some day too. Good to see all your stars,


message 21: by Michelle (new)

Michelle Fab review J xxx


Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤  Fantastic review Jxxx :)


message 24: by Pam (new) - added it

Pam Lovely review, Jxxx :)


Deanna❤Pink Lady❤️ Wonderful review my friend!!! xoxo-


♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥ Thanks so much everyone! I loved reading and chatting about this book <3 xoxo


Sammy Loves Books Excellent review, Jxxx. I have always loved this book. Have you seen the movie? It's so good!


back to top