Judy D Collins's Reviews > An Evil Mind

An Evil Mind by Chris Carter
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
11063006
Chris Carter delivers an edgy, razor-sharp, evil, dark, and twisted psycho-crime suspense thriller, AN EVIL MIND —a sadistic, psychotic serial killer with only seven words, “I will only speak to Robert Hunter.” A man who has not spoken a word since being arrested.

Haunting words which will forever change LAPD detective, and the former criminal behavior psychologist's life.

A labyrinth of creepy twists and grotesque turns. The secrets of the past refuse to keep quiet in this disquieting, taut thriller. Readers beware: what flows through these pages is not always easy to stomach, but I dare you to take your eyes off the page.

A freak accident at the local Wyoming diner starts the unraveling of gruesome brutal murders, a chain of events of a sick and twisted serial killer, whose thrills come from torturing and killing. Beginning with two severed heads in the trunk of a car.

Detective Robert Hunter is all set for a vacation in Hawaii, when he receives the call from FBI’s National Center for the Analysis of Violent Crime and its Behavioral Analysis Unit. A FBI specialty department providing support to national and international law enforcement agencies involved in the investigation of unusual or serial violent crimes.

For years the FBI had made attempts to recruit Hunter. Hunter would rather be a detective with the LAPD’s Robbery-Homicide Division than join the most advanced serial killer—tracking force in the US, and even, the world.

Hunter is the lead detective for the Ultra-Violent Crimes Unit, a special unit created by the LAPD to investigate homicides and serial homicides where overwhelming brutality and or sadism had been used by the perpetrator. Hunter was the best at what he did. His arrest record provided that. He had always declined their offers.

Now the FBI needs Hunter’s assistance, as he is personally involved with some of the victims and the perpetrator. He is the only one which will be able to provide answers to the clues. What makes this so shocking---the person in question and prime suspect, is Hunter’s former Stanford roommate and fellow criminal psychologist! The three friends in college: Robert, Lucien, and Susan.

How could be have been friends with Lucien? Of course, Lucien was always smart and after obtaining his psychology degree from Stanford, Lucien applied to Yale for a PhD in criminal psychology. He was accepted, did three years of coursework, and then simply disappeared. He never completed his doctorate. When did he turn into a sadistic killer?

Instead of Hawaii for a leisurely vacation, Hunter is quickly whisked away to the FBI Behavioral Research and Instruction Unit in Quantico and into something that could only be described as a hellish nightmare. No one had ever come across anyone quite like this monster. Brutality is actually minor, with what is yet to come. Hunter soon will learn of his own past, and how the evil mind of someone he once knew would bring to light to these events.

At first Lucien says he is innocent, leading Hunter with a series of clues to the remote Western North Carolina area (know this area). However, when Detective Hunter and Taylor arrive at the cabin, a shocking discovery. Lucien is indeed a sociopath, guilty, and worse, the gruesome haunting killings are people close to Hunter. He is taunting, everyone, especially Hunter.

Lucien plays a sick game of cat-and- mouse, so he can showcase his work. He loves to brag, thinking he can change the world. He is proud. All the puppets play along with the puppet master, until they find all the hidden information and notebooks to lead them to all the victims, bodies, remains, and families.

Lucien. Going under many other alias and identities. A living, breathing, walking mystery. Someone who had lied to everyone throughout his life. He was focused and determined. A manipulator. Before it is over there will be 80 families. Someone has to stop this monster. Justice. A twenty-five year murder spree. Sadly, Lucien has all this information and knowledge about psychology and criminal behavior; however, fails to see his own psychosis.

It's gruesome, grisly and attention grabbing!

Original, dramatic, dark, and disturbing-- readers will find themselves holding their breath, for the next page. My first book by talented Chris Carter, a former profiler—who definitely knows his way inside the criminal minds of the twisted and sadistic serial killer. Scary, psychopaths abound in our everyday life. Watch out for those pies.

A wicked horrific ride! Carter delivers raw and intense emotions, not only from the killer; also his main characters, pulling you further into the unfolding drama.

Fans of Karin Slaughter and Paul Cleave (two of my favorite crime authors), will devour. I had pre-ordered the audiobook, and after reading the advanced reading copy, glued to my iPod, listening---a chilling performance by
George Newburn. Having spent time in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil --could imagine myself back on the beach—with the breathtaking views of the mountains. This is one spot you can see both at one time.

Intrigued. After finishing the book, immediately going to Audible to purchase Carter’s books, especially the Robert Hunter series. Was so bummed, as NO other books in the series, offered in English??? Hopefully they will be added (similar to Paul Cleave) . . We are slowly getting some of his backlist, here in the states. Publishers: Please get Chris Carter’s books on audio for all the US fans. I typically read only new books—my blog focuses on new releases, so when I find an author I love, I rely on audio to get my backlist “fix”.

Highly recommend AN EVIL MIND -- if you want an intelligent, and sophisticated—well-written chilling page-turner. An intriguing series, and an author, who not only is a profiling expert---a talented criminal psychological novelist. He nails the details. Carter has been added to my favorite author list.

Can't wait for I AM DEATH coming to US July 14, 2016.

A special thank you to Atria Books and NetGalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

JDCMustReadBooks

Love the new covers
13 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read An Evil Mind.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

June 22, 2015 – Shelved
June 22, 2015 – Shelved as: to-read
June 22, 2015 – Shelved as: 2015-new-releases
June 22, 2015 – Shelved as: chris-carter
June 22, 2015 – Shelved as: netgalley-arc
November 13, 2015 – Started Reading
November 16, 2015 –
page 50
13.59%
November 17, 2015 – Shelved as: to-read
November 20, 2015 –
page 100
27.17%
November 22, 2015 –
page 150
40.76%
November 23, 2015 – Shelved as: adult-fiction
November 23, 2015 – Shelved as: books-read-in-2015
November 23, 2015 – Shelved as: thriller
November 23, 2015 – Finished Reading
December 2, 2015 – Shelved as: suspense
December 2, 2015 – Shelved as: psychological-thriller
December 2, 2015 – Shelved as: psychological-suspense
December 2, 2015 – Shelved as: crime-thriller
December 2, 2015 – Shelved as: criminal
December 2, 2015 – Shelved as: horror

Comments Showing 1-4 of 4 (4 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Angela (last edited Dec 02, 2015 11:53AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Angela DeSilva Ooooh sounds so good. Its on hold at library must read. Great review!


Judy D Collins Hi Angela, Thanks, this is YOUR kind of book! Cannot wait to hear your thoughts.


Angela DeSilva Yes, sounds like I will love it. Have you read any other books by this author? My library only has this one. I have a few books to read and review before I can start this one. I am getting ahead of myself with library holds and ARCs.


Judy D Collins I know the feeling! I am so far behind writing reviews. I tend to finish and rush to start the next book. No, have not read his other books in the series. Really wanted to purchase them via audible, but not available in US. I cannot wait for #7, I Am Death, coming July, 2016. It is available on NetGalley for UK, but not for US..possibly later.

My resolution next year. Read Less books and spend more time writing good reviews (on time) and posting. :)


back to top