Stacia's Reviews > Zen and the Art of Happiness

Zen and the Art of Happiness by Chris Prentiss
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
349714
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: other, 2012, 2010, 2011, own-digital, own-physical, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020
Read 9 times. Last read January 2, 2020 to January 4, 2020.

I loved this little book. Maybe the ideas aren't anything necessarily new, but they came at a time when I was open to internalizing them. I plan to keep this book handy for frequent re-reading.

11/28/12 - I just finished reading this for the 3rd time. If I was stranded on an island with only one book, this would be the one I want.

1/3/2015 - I've now read this 4 times. I can't believe it's been over 2 years since my last read. It was a great way to start off the year.

1/2/2016 - I guess it's an annual tradition for now to read this at the beginning of the year. It's always interesting to see what stands out on a reread, depending on where I find myself in life.

1/2/2017 - Annual read completed. I'm consuming a lot of content about mindfulness lately and this book fits in nicely.

1/3/2018 - This year's read is complete. I'm improving at applying the principles to many situations, but some of the big stuff (chronic illness, political disaster) are still hard to see as the "best possible thing that could happen."

1/1/19 - Another year, another discovery of bits I hadn’t focused on previously. It’s always worth the time to read this little book and be reminded that while the world around me may not be within my control, my reactions to it are.

1/4/20 - Frustrated with work. Reading this book helped me reassess my approach.
3 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Zen and the Art of Happiness.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

Started Reading
January 1, 2010 – Finished Reading
November 11, 2010 – Shelved
Started Reading
January 1, 2011 – Finished Reading
January 12, 2012 – Shelved as: other
October 3, 2012 – Started Reading
October 3, 2012 – Shelved as: 2012
November 28, 2012 – Shelved as: 2010
November 28, 2012 – Shelved as: 2011
November 28, 2012 – Finished Reading
May 22, 2013 – Shelved as: own-digital
January 1, 2015 – Started Reading
January 1, 2015 – Shelved as: own-physical
January 1, 2015 –
13.0%
January 1, 2015 –
13.0% "It's been too long since I last read this little book."
January 2, 2015 –
41.0%
January 3, 2015 –
86.0%
January 3, 2015 – Shelved as: 2015
January 3, 2015 – Finished Reading
January 1, 2016 – Started Reading
January 1, 2016 –
page 0
0.0% "Time for my annual re-read to start the year."
January 1, 2016 –
page 18
12.41% "Another year, another re-read."
January 1, 2016 –
page 0
0.0%
January 1, 2016 –
43.0%
January 2, 2016 –
58.0%
January 2, 2016 – Shelved as: 2016
January 2, 2016 – Finished Reading
January 1, 2017 – Started Reading
January 1, 2017 –
15.0%
January 1, 2017 –
page 15
10.34%
January 1, 2017 –
page 35
24.14%
January 2, 2017 –
page 35
24.14%
January 2, 2017 – Finished Reading
January 3, 2017 – Shelved as: 2017
January 1, 2018 – Started Reading
January 1, 2018 –
42.0% "My annual reading of my favorite little book."
January 2, 2018 –
72.0%
January 2, 2018 –
72.0%
January 3, 2018 – Finished Reading
January 4, 2018 – Shelved as: 2018
January 1, 2019 – Started Reading
January 1, 2019 –
page 87
60.0%
January 1, 2019 – Finished Reading
January 4, 2019 – Shelved as: 2019
January 2, 2020 – Started Reading
January 2, 2020 –
page 13
8.97%
January 3, 2020 –
58.0%
January 4, 2020 – Shelved as: 2020
January 4, 2020 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-1 of 1 (1 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Jenny (new) - added it

Jenny I neeeeeeed to read own this!


back to top