Matthew's Reviews > Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World

Dewey by Vicki Myron
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
16254355
's review

liked it
bookshelves: 2015, audio, library, non-fiction, biography

This was an okay book - not great, but pretty interesting and easy to follow. It was an interesting (and sometimes bizarre) mix of emotions; happy, sad, or even disturbing.

Here are a few observational bullet points:

- 30% of this book is about the cat. If you expect to have a book just about the cat, you will be very disappointed.
- 30% is about small town America, 80s farm crisis, etc. This was sort of interesting, but unexpected.
- 30% is about the author's difficult life. She went through a lot, and I almost felt like writing this book must have been therapy for her to get things off her chest. It seemed like every few pages something else bad was happening to her - I felt bad for her!
- 10% is about how to run a library

I listened to the audio book. It kept me going on the drive home from vacation.
25 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Dewey.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

June 6, 2015 – Started Reading
June 6, 2015 – Shelved
June 6, 2015 – Shelved as: 2015
June 6, 2015 – Shelved as: audio
June 6, 2015 – Shelved as: library
June 6, 2015 – Shelved as: non-fiction
June 6, 2015 – Shelved as: biography
June 6, 2015 –
28.0%
June 7, 2015 –
91.0%
June 8, 2015 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-6 of 6 (6 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Rachel Aranda The audiobook was definitely better than reading the physical copy. I read both at the same time to keep going. I was mostly interested in Dewey than anything else in this book.


Matthew Rachel wrote: "The audiobook was definitely better than reading the physical copy. I read both at the same time to keep going. I was mostly interested in Dewey than anything else in this book."

Interesting - did you go into it planning to do audio while reading a physical copy, or did the physical copy drive you to pick up the audiobook?


Rachel Aranda The physical copy was boring me so I borrowed the audiobook to continue reading it.


Matthew Rachel wrote: "The physical copy was boring me so I borrowed the audiobook to continue reading it."

That is a really good idea!


Rachel Aranda Matthew wrote: "Rachel wrote: "The physical copy was boring me so I borrowed the audiobook to continue reading it."

That is a really good idea!"


I don't do it often but it really helped with this book.

I did it again with Anna Karenina as it was super long, and the names were impossible to pronounce on my own. An audiobook help with certain books.


Matthew Rachel wrote: "Matthew wrote: "Rachel wrote: "The physical copy was boring me so I borrowed the audiobook to continue reading it."

That is a really good idea!"

I don't do it often but it really helped with this..."


I am thinking about when I finally read Anna Karenina whethet I will read it or do audio - I am leaning audio.


back to top