Baba 's Reviews > Sweet as Sin

Sweet as Sin by J.T. Geissinger
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
4669232
1 Don't-make-fun-of-trans*-people star. DNF @40%. Full review posted June 15, 2015

 photo oie_Wvv8dhWlMkm3 1_zpse6avtxja.gif
 photo Bildschirmfoto 2015-05-17 um 21.22.15_zpsi40hrz95.png

"Are there, like, transgender strippers waiting on my front porch right now?"
Grace stared at me with a straight face. "Don't be ridiculous. I'm sure they're transgender midget strippers."
"Transgender midget furries!"
Chloe giggled maniacally. "Dressed like ewoks!"


Or this (she was very sober)...

Kenji leapt up and down, squealing and clapping as if he'd just been crowned Miss Futuristic Eurasian of Indeterminate Gender Identity.

I'm not a member of the LGBT+ community but those quotes are insensitive, offensive, and dehumanizing toward transgender people. As if that wasn't enough, they're also insulting to people with dwarfism, and they're kink-shaming (mocking furries).

Those quotes make the fact that someone is transgender (or a dwarf, or into kink) the butt of a joke. The punchline is: the strippers are funny because they're transgender. Their gender identity is seen as a comical trait, rather than simply part of who they are.

Some people might argue, "It's just a joke!" But making someone's gender identity, or kink preference, the punchline to a joke is deeply dehumanizing.

If you replaced "transgender" with "black" in the quotes above, would it still be funny, or would it be racist?

Now, some might intervene and say they were tipsy and we should cut them some slack. I'm sorry, I just don't feel lenient right now. Besides, they were aware of what they were talking about.

 photo oie_rm27t5cpIaYl_zpsr8h7bgns.png

Right. What a delirium. I'm experiencing a bone-deep and blood-rocking annoyance flaring through me because I have to struggle through yet another terribly clichéd romance story with terribly annoying characters. Insta' love *eye roll* and impossibly ridiculous.
And stupid. Yep.

 photo oie_DQecw2YktYWt_zpsnc6tyx3o.gif
 photo oie_T7S4wnOVDNRF_zpsxbm8qmiv.gif

 photo oie_lRr5KYGLQME4_zpsevsem3rh.gif

My pulse pounded so hard I felt it jumping in my fingertips.

I'm nursing a severe headache. Thank you.

We stood there silently for a few seconds that felt like a geological epoch.

His lips curved into a smile that left me stunned, both by the beauty of it and by my sheer surprise of its appearance.

"She only told us up to the point where you kissed her on the bed and her panties melted."



The talk about love at first sight while being a few percent into a story is totally ridiculous. While insta' love doesn't work for me at all, I can deal with insta' lust when it's done well and, more importantly, when I can feel it. Although their alleged chemistry must be a foolishly bad joke.

It's totally new to me that the French word abasourdi means love at first sight. Abasourdi est le participe passé du verb abasourdir. If I remember correctly, abasourdir is used in the sense of being stunned, bewildered, dazed, astounded etc.

Love at first sight in French means coup de foudre ---> J'ai eu un coup de foudre. It was love at first sight.

Dear Authors,

Get your facts straight and contact someone who commands a foreign language.

Thank you.


Chloe was practically swooning at the thought of me kissing Nico. "Oh, God, I bet he tastes like sunshine. Does he taste like sunshine?"
No, Chloe. He actually tastes like crack. Or what I assume crack must taste like: heaven.


All right. Let's taste him heaven and sunshine. Not.


Chloe gulped. Her eyes were so wide they took up half her face.

That must be…um…scary.

My head tucked against his chest, I sighed. Then, realizing I hadn't yet brushed my teeth, I mashed my lips together in horror. And my hair. And my face!

The lame dirty talk:

"Other stuff? I sounded like Minnie Mouse I was so breathless.
He chuckled. "The way my dick gets hard just lookin' at you. The way you get wet when I touch you."
Oh, God. We were back to the dirty talk. And we were in my house. Alone.


It is very unfortunate that Sweet as Sin is another one of those books…

IjustmetthesxiestmanaliveandIthinkI'mhyperventilatingandmypantiesaredrenchedandI'mhavinganout-of-bodyexperiencebecausethismustbeloveatfirstsightandIdon'tknowwhattosaybecauseOMGabossyrockstarwhogetsalwayswhathewantsandhewantstomakemehisforever.

"You lie for shit, woman. It has everything to do with me. You know it. I know it." His voice dropped. "And my hard cock sure as fuck knows it, too."
I laughed to cover my shock. No one had ever spoken to me the way he did. I couldn't believe the nerve of this man.
I couldn't believe how much I liked it.


What gives? In an act of mental derangement, you're talking about love, then Mr. Galactic Ego is a dick you don't like. Shortly afterwards you're being starstruck again, swooning and lovey-dovey gazes all-inclusive.

Poor writing, extremely clichéd, totally unrealistic and filled with vapid characters who were not too shy to produce contrived drama that infuriated me. My eyes practically popped out of their sockets because I had to roll them all the time. Honestly, this bunch of imbeciles took the cake on the occasion of that ineffable paparazzi incident. I can't even. *double headdesk*

I get it. There's really nothing new under the sun anymore but come on! That's just contrived drama games for kids. The heroine is in her mid-twenties and the hero is thirty-one-years old, yet I felt like I had to deal with a bunch of juvenile kiddies. Kat and her friend Chloe acted like brainless twats. Unfortunately the hero wasn't anything to write home about either. I really disliked him greatly. Insta' love is a hard one to sell to me at any given moment but this specific topic in Sweet as Sin was a complete and utter failure. It was handled terribly bad and the insta' lust fell totally flat for me as well because I did not feel it. Also, they just met and practically in a blink of an eye they had the talk about trust. Ludicrous doesn't even begin to cover it.

"He (view spoiler)All for a woman Nico's known for two weeks?

It's totally absurd. Let's not forget he even (view spoiler)

I quote:

My point is simply that I'm not an innocent country girl who's never been away from her little hometown to see the world. I'd moved all over the States as a kid, I'd met all kinds of different people, I'd lived in LA for years, and I'd worked in the industry, which meant even if I didn't personally have wealth, I was exposed constantly to people who did.

Seriously? Thanks for a good laugh but this broad is anything but sophisticated or urbane. In fact, she's an immature drama queen.

She blew a fuse when she saw (view spoiler) But instead of asking a simple question to clear the air, she preferred to stay freakishly mad. After she came out of the shower (view spoiler)

What.A.Stupid.Farce.

I suddenly felt shy. What would he think? "Um. Come on in."
And then he was in my bedroom.
Squee!
He roved around the room like a big cat, restless in a new cage, sniffing things out.


*facepalm*

Bottom line, I truly love a great and well-written rock star story. Unfortunately, Sweet as Sin didn't do it for me at all. It was a failure and huge nuisance all along the line yet I guess that the "proper" audience will gobble it up like candy. However, those readers who are not into gratuitous drama and shallow characters should check out:

How to Kill a Rock Star
Louder Than Love

These two books answer my wishes. Phenomenal writing, unforgettable heroes and an all-around captivating storyline.


Expected publication: July 14th 2015


All quotes are taken from the pre-published copy and may be altered or omitted in the final copy

**ARC courtesy of Montlake Romance via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review**


 photo oie_GTO7bs0C5cnv_zpsct2xyhna.gif
159 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Sweet as Sin.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

May 16, 2015 – Started Reading
May 16, 2015 – Shelved
May 16, 2015 – Shelved as: netgalley
May 16, 2015 –
10.0% " photo oie_JMmxnc4gJnMH_zpswmieslpi.gif\n My ARC request got approved before I knew that my friend V didn't like it. She was right, it's not my cuppa either. Clichéd and ridiculous. Geez, I was ready to quit at 4%."
May 16, 2015 – Shelved as: bored-out-of-my-mind
May 16, 2015 – Shelved as: rolls-eyes
May 16, 2015 – Shelved as: risk-of-aneurysm
May 16, 2015 – Shelved as: coup-de-grâce
May 16, 2015 – Shelved as: what-in-the-ever-lovin-fuck
May 16, 2015 – Shelved as: books-everyone-loved-but-baba
May 17, 2015 – Shelved as: dumb-twats-bitches-or-annoying-h
May 17, 2015 –
40.0% " photo oie_dZTZs4SWcBB6_zpsx1l63nje.gif\n Duh. Yeah, I'm going to help you. DNF.\n \n Dear Joaquin,\n \n Deliver us from vapid characters and ridiculously contrived drama.\n \n Thank you."
May 17, 2015 – Shelved as: dnf
May 17, 2015 – Shelved as: one-star-reads
May 17, 2015 – Shelved as: worst-books-ever
May 17, 2015 – Finished Reading
July 10, 2015 – Shelved as: trees-died-for-this-crap

Comments Showing 1-50 of 105 (105 new)


message 1: by Nawal (new)

Nawal loool you're awesome baba


Baba  Nawal wrote: "loool you're awesome baba"

Gosh. It's fucking ridiculous. Again. I can't even. :(

P.S. Nice to know you did get a good laugh out of it, though. :)


Lisa *-* GiViNg It To YoU * LoCk StOcK & TwO SmOkiNg BaRrELs Oh Gawd Baba LOL...I take it....UMM.....you didn't enjoy it....LOL....well at least I get a laugh....and a good ole eye full of Charlie!!


Aisling Zena Terrific review! Sorry this one too fell short Baba. I don't get why authors that use foreign languages in their books don't research it properly. It's relatively easy to do in this day and age.


message 5: by [deleted user] (new)

Great review, Baba!


message 6: by Nawal (new)

Nawal Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Archer, Dean, Adrian, Dan & Hunter wrote: "Nawal wrote: "loool you're awesome baba"

Gosh. It's fucking ridiculous. Again. I can't even. :(

P.S. Nice to know you did get a good laugh out of it, though. :)"


I do know what you mean, not liking a guy then somehow liking him because of his 'bad' aura... that one gets over used!
hahaha I always do love reading your reviews!


message 7: by Jen (new) - added it

Jen OMG Baba..your poor pounding head..sigh...when does this stop hey??!! So sorry this was another cliche romance book for you..I have to say though, that second pic of Charlie..OMG...That is beyond beautiful!!!! I LOVE it, and want to cuddle it..(I realize this sounds immature and creepy; but I can't help it!!) Have a great weekend!♥


*P*u*r*p*l*e* Masochist Insta love stories were usually a miss for me too. Hope your next read is a winner!


Baba  *P*u*r*p*l*e* Masochist wrote: "Insta love stories were usually a miss for me too. Hope your next read is a winner!"

Thanks, Purple. It's a very hard one to sell. :(


Baba  Jen wrote: "OMG Baba..your poor pounding head..sigh...when does this stop hey??!! So sorry this was another cliche romance book for you..I have to say though, that second pic of Charlie..OMG...That is beyond b..."

Thanks, Jen. I just don't know. It's scary what kind of books have been published in the last couple years. I seem to be picking up all the bad ones lately. :((
Hah. We can cuddle Charlie together. Lol
Have a wonderful Sunday! xoxxo


Baba  Nawal wrote: "Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Archer, Dean, Adrian, Dan & Hunter wrote: "Nawal wrote: "loool you're awesome baba"

Gosh. It's fucking ridiculous. Again. I can't even. :(

P.S. Nice to know you did get a..."


Thanks, lovely. Glad you're enjoying my reviews! Yeah, what happened here was so rushed and unrealistic. OMG, all the stupid and contrived drama. UGHHHH. xxx


Baba  Tammie wrote: "Great review, Baba!"

Thanks, Tammie. :)


Baba  Aisling Zena wrote: "Terrific review! Sorry this one too fell short Baba. I don't get why authors that use foreign languages in their books don't research it properly. It's relatively easy to do in this day and age."

Thanks, Aisling. It's a mystery to me as well because it's so easy to get in touch with someone who commands a foreign language. :(


Baba  Lisa *-* GiViNg It To YoU wrote: "Oh Gawd Baba LOL...I take it....UMM.....you didn't enjoy it....LOL....well at least I get a laugh....and a good ole eye full of Charlie!!"

Lol Er...you guessed right, Lisa lovely. *sigh* I just can't seem to find any great reads lately. :( xoxox

P.S. Glad you got a good laugh out of it, though! :)


message 15: by Saffron (new)

Saffron Wow sounds like a total train wreck :/


message 16: by * Meli Mel * (new)

* Meli Mel * Great review, Baba! Hopefully you'll enjoy your next read. :)


message 17: by Dusti (new) - added it

Dusti Hanrahan you are having a tough go with bad books lately. Hopefully it will be great from here!


La-Lionne I'm going to be honest and say that I only got halfway through your review, because I needed to pic my jaw up from the floor. I haven't read this book but I'm a huge fan of the author's paranormal series. The reason I love her writing is because of how modern and understanding her characters are.
The quotes you used in your review is absolutely horrible. Not because I thought they weren't true, but because of how discusting they were. It made me confused and so, so incredibly sad. I can't believe that an author that like/d so much, would joke about something like that. It's not fucking funny!


message 19: by Judith (new)

Judith Great review Girl...better luck next time and i have to agree with Jen,Charlie's looking especially gorgeous in 2nd image,Xxx


Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤  Wonderful review sweetie xx


message 21: by SheReadsALot (new)

SheReadsALot Honest review preview, Lady B. Those quotes are bad. No thanks. :/


message 22: by Aisling Zena (new) - added it

Aisling Zena Oh wow, so the foreign language wasn't the only major blip I see.. Love the toilet paper cat gifs! :)


message 23: by Leah (new)

Leah Thank you for standing up for trans* people, B. I'm glad you spoke out about this.


message 24: by Cristina (new) - added it

Cristina Great honest review Baba :D


Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» OMG, love, I'm dying of laughter! Not cause of your pre-review, cause your reviews are always FANTABULOUS, but cause of some of these quotes. But first of all, insta-love...no fucking thank you. I agree with you 100%, insta-lust I can get if its done right and I can feel it to my bones, and hell even insta-love, if the author does a SUPERB job at making me believe in the couple so much that I don't question ANYTHING about them, then yeah it works. However, in stories like this, and I have read plenty of stories like this, I HATE it! Its like you said, unrealistic and stupid. And the heroine sounds like the usual TSTL heroines. If you're listening to the man "ask you out" while in the bathroom, my first thought would be to STOP unrolling the damn tissue paper. How could you be not aware of the fact that you're unrolling it???

Now the quotes: Beware my ranting...once again! LOL :P

First: "My head tucked against his chest, I sighed. Then, realizing I hadn't yet brushed my teeth, I mashed my lips together in horror. And my hair. And my face!" --> I don't get it. Did she also forget to brush her hair and her face?? OR did she mash together her hair and her face?? CONFUZZLED!

Second: If she thinks crack tastes like heaven, then I can see why "experiences" so many moments of "infinite deliriums". *snicker*

Third: the transgender stuff, I totally see the implication! Not cool. I'm not part of the LGBT community either, but da fuq?? Even jokes have limits, and this "convo" these two idiot characters have is not acceptable.

Lastly: This quote: "Chloe gulped. Her eyes were so wide they took up half her face." I am so sorry but this is seriously what I imagine...I shit you not, this goes through my head EVERY time I read that!

description

LMFAO..XD Anyways, I've taken enough of your time! Looking forward to your full review, my love! FABULOUS prelim! :D xoxoxoxox


message 26: by Amy (new)

Amy Some people should take a LGBT training course before publishing. Then again, being intolerant jackasses is also their right,


message 27: by Amy (new)

Amy LGBT sensitivity training course*


message 28: by Maya (new) - added it

Maya These "jokes" are really disturbing. And the fact that an author would think they would be funny ... I don't even know what to say. Ugh!


message 29: by [deleted user] (new)

Wonderful review Baba! As always!


Baba  Kat Stark wrote: "Wonderful review Baba! As always!"

Thanks, Kat. :)


Baba  Maya wrote: "These "jokes" are really disturbing. And the fact that an author would think they would be funny ... I don't even know what to say. Ugh!"

Yes, they are, Maya. I don't know what the author was thinking when she wrote this. :((


Baba  Amy wrote: "Some people should take a LGBT training course before publishing. Then again, being intolerant jackasses is also their right,"

Amy wrote: "LGBT sensitivity training course*"

I couldn't agree more, Amy! :/


Baba  Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» wrote: "OMG, love, I'm dying of laughter! Not cause of your pre-review, cause your reviews are always FANTABULOUS, but cause of some of these quotes. But first of all, insta-love...no fucking thank you. I ..."

Hahaha! Oh myyyyy…that gif is seriously creepy. Half of her face are eyes and the other half are all about big teeth and a big mouth. Thank you, Maida love…you seriously rock! Priceless. :))
I know I'm not the only one who has a problem with insta' love. But, if she had written some great and palpable chemistry and made her characters interesting AND intelligent, the story could have worked out for me. The heroine drove me effin' nuts and the hero…well, he was nothing to write home about either. In my book, he's also a douche. But what was also incredibly irritating were the heroine's friends, esp. Chloe. Ugh.

That tissue paper scene was so idiotic. :(

The quotes:
I'm not sure anymore but I think it was the trivial paparazzi incident. Such a level of angst is only understandable for a life and death situation which, quite frankly, wasn't the case. The paparazzi arrived at her home and took a few pics of a bunch of brainless and scared chicks who freaked out and requested the police to save them. As if they had nothing else (and more important) to do. Anyway, Nico comforted her or what-the-hell-ever...and then she remembered that she hadn't brushed her teeth yet. She forgot to brush her hair too and her face...probably without make up. Yeah, what a farce. :P

That crack comment of yours...er...cracked me up. Lol

The transgender joke was not funny at all. :((

Thanks again, Maida love! :) xoxox


Baba  Cristina wrote: "Great honest review Baba :D"

Thanks, Cristina. :)


Baba  Leah wrote: "Thank you for standing up for trans* people, B. I'm glad you spoke out about this."

You're welcome, Leah. :)


Baba  Lisa wrote: "Fantastic honest review, Baba!"

Thanks, Lisa. :)


Baba  Aisling Zena wrote: "Oh wow, so the foreign language wasn't the only major blip I see.. Love the toilet paper cat gifs! :)"

Unfortunately there wasn't anything in this book that would have worked out for me, lovely. :(


Baba  SheReadsALot wrote: "Honest review preview, Lady B. Those quotes are bad. No thanks. :/"

Thanks, Lady S. Yeah, they are bad. :(


Baba  Pavlina loves Dex ❤❤ wrote: "Wonderful review sweetie xx"

Thanks, hon. :) xxx


Baba  Judith wrote: "Great review Girl...better luck next time and i have to agree with Jen,Charlie's looking especially gorgeous in 2nd image,Xxx"

Thanks, dear. Yes, Charlie is looking gorgeous! :) xxx


message 41: by Baba (last edited May 19, 2015 09:17AM) (new) - rated it 1 star

Baba  La-Lionne wrote: "I'm going to be honest and say that I only got halfway through your review, because I needed to pic my jaw up from the floor. I haven't read this book but I'm a huge fan of the author's paranormal ..."

I'm sorry, Jurgita. I know this must be rather shocking for you. I'm aware there is a difference between PNR and contemp romance (the writing style). Yet I'm glad that we are on the same page in regards of making fun of trans* people. It's not funny at all. :((


Baba  Dusti wrote: "you are having a tough go with bad books lately. Hopefully it will be great from here!"

You can say that again, Dusti! :/


Baba  Meli Mel *Ty and Zane's Creeper* wrote: "Great review, Baba! Hopefully you'll enjoy your next read. :)"

Thanks, Meli. :)


Baba  Supreet *The Cupcake Queen* wrote: "Wow sounds like a total train wreck :/"

Yeah, it was a train wreck, at least to me. :(


La-Lionne Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Archer, Dean, Adrian, Dan & Hunter wrote: "La-Lionne wrote: "I'm going to be honest and say that I only got halfway through your review, because I needed to pic my jaw up from the floor. I haven't read this book but I'm a huge fan of the au..."

No, the quotes are absolutely not okay.
It feels like this book is written by a completely different author :(. In my last review, for one of her books (PRN), I even said that Geissinger's sense of humor is right up my ally. But I've never read a story of her's where she mocked any of your above mentioned groups of people. That's why it's such a shock to me. I almost want to ask "What in a hell was she smoking while writing this book?" Seriously, what the hell?


Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Archer, Dean, Adrian, Dan & Hunter wrote: "Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» wrote: "OMG, love, I'm dying of laughter! Not cause of your pre-review, cause your reviews are always FANTABULOUS, but cause of some of these quotes. But first of all, insta-love....."

I agree with you completely, love. Like I said, insta-anything only works for me if, like you said, there is chemistry you feel to your bones and realistic characters that deliver that chemistry seamlessly. But, with these two I can see why it didn't hit a home run. :(

And yeah, cause my first thought after being comforted would be about makeup?? SO STUPID. LOL :P She reminds me of the the stupid girls in horror movies that ALWAYS go towards the "bad" sound even though they know they shouldn't. Hahah! Idiotic.

And glad I could 'crack' you up. LOL! :P xoxoxoxo


Penelope ✘ that awkward girl that doesn't go here ✘ No, characters being drunk is not an excuse to degrade a group of people. Ugh, why, authors, why?


Baba  La-Lionne wrote: "Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Archer, Dean, Adrian, Dan & Hunter wrote: "La-Lionne wrote: "I'm going to be honest and say that I only got halfway through your review, because I needed to pic my jaw up f..."

Yeah, the author's humor didn't work for me at all. Making fun of those people was a big WTF moment. :(


Baba  Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» wrote: "Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Archer, Dean, Adrian, Dan & Hunter wrote: "Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» wrote: "OMG, love, I'm dying of laughter! Not cause of your pre-review, cause your reviews are always FANTABULOU..."

It sure as heck didn't hit a home run, Maida love! Insta' love is always hard to sell to me on any given day, and this author just pushed all the wrong buttons, IMO.
Hah. Exactly my thoughts. It's laughable that she would have thought about her hair and makeup at that moment. Oh, sorry, she was in the presence of a rock star god. So of course she should have looked pretty. *sigh*
I don't watch horror movies but know exactly what you mean. Lol xoxox


Baba  Penelope wrote: "No, characters being drunk is not an excuse to degrade a group of people. Ugh, why, authors, why?"

I'm with you, Penelope. :/


« previous 1 3
back to top