Tanja (Tanychy) St. Delphi/James's Reviews > The Shadow of the Wind

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
4465641
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: favorites, my-little-library
Recommended to Tanja (Tanychy) by: a friend
Recommended for: Everyone
Read 2 times. Last read January 3, 2012 to January 8, 2012.

The fact is that I’ll never be able to write a real review for this book. Here is why :

1. I’m not good enough.
I’m not now and I’ll never be. It doesn’t matter how many books you have read or how smart you are, you’ll never be good enough for that. You won’t be able to find exact words and it’s not just you. Only person who can is the author himself, but I think he already said everything he wanted.
Don’t believe me?
- “Books are mirrors - you only see in them what you already have inside you.”
- “The moment you stop to think about whether you love someone, you've already stopped loving that person forever.”
- “A story is a letter that the author writes to himself, to tell himself things that he would be unable to discover otherwise.”
- “There are few reasons for telling the truth, but for lying the number is infinite.”
- “In the shop we buy and sell them, but in truth books have no owner. Every book you see here has been somebody’s best friend.”

Do you now?

2. It’s impossible.
I’ll try to describe it. It’s not the same feeling but the result is. You know that moment, or better said that feeling, when you see someone who means a lot to you and you have that beautiful feeling inside of you. Now try to describe it. You can’t? I know.

3. And last but not least....
Please allow me to quote the author:
“Once, in my father's bookshop, I heard a regular customer say that few things leave a deeper mark on a reader than the first book that finds its way into his heart. Those first images, the echo of words we think we have left behind, accompany us throughout our lives and sculpt a palace in our memory to which, sooner or later — no matter how many books we read, how many worlds we discover, or how much we learn or forget — we will return.”
And this is mine.
632 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Shadow of the Wind.
Sign In »

Quotes Tanja (Tanychy) Liked

Carlos Ruiz Zafón
“Fools talk, cowards are silent, wise men listen.”
Carlos Ruiz Zafon, The Shadow of the Wind

Carlos Ruiz Zafón
“Books are mirrors: you only see in them what you already have inside you.”
Carlos Ruiz Zafón, The Shadow of the Wind

Carlos Ruiz Zafón
“People tend to complicate their own lives, as if living weren't already complicated enough.”
Carlos Ruiz Zafón, The Shadow of the Wind

Carlos Ruiz Zafón
“Sometimes we think people are like lottery tickets, that they're there to make our most absurd dreams come true.”
Carlos Ruiz Zafón, The Shadow of the Wind

Carlos Ruiz Zafón
“Never trust anyone, Daniel, especially the people you admire. Those are the ones who will make you suffer the worst blows.”
Carlos Ruiz Zafón, The Shadow of the Wind

Carlos Ruiz Zafón
“There are few reasons for telling the truth, but for lying the number is infinite.”
Carlos Ruiz Zafón, The Shadow of the Wind

Carlos Ruiz Zafón
“People talk too much. Humans aren't descended from monkeys. They come from parrots.”
Carlos Ruiz Zafón, The Shadow of the Wind

Carlos Ruiz Zafón
“A story is a letter that the author writes to himself, to tell himself things that he would be unable to discover otherwise.”
Carlos Ruiz Zafón, The Shadow of the Wind

Carlos Ruiz Zafón
“One of the pitfalls of childhood is that one doesn't have to understand something to feel it. By the time the mind is able to comprehend what has happened, the wounds of the heart are already too deep.”
Carlos Ruiz Zafón, The Shadow of the Wind

Carlos Ruiz Zafón
“Time goes faster the more hollow it is. Lives with no meaning go straight past you, like trains that don’t stop at your station.”
Carlos Ruiz Zafón, The Shadow of the Wind

Carlos Ruiz Zafón
“One loves truly only once in a lifetime, Julian, even if one isn’t aware of it.”
Carlos Ruiz Zafón, The Shadow of the Wind
tags: love

Carlos Ruiz Zafón
“Destiny is usually just around the corner. Like a thief, a hooker, or a lottery vendor: its three most common personifications. But what destiny does not do is home visits. You have to go for it.”
Carlos Ruiz Zafón, The Shadow of the Wind

Carlos Ruiz Zafón
“Once, in my father's bookshop, I heard a regular customer say that few things leave a deeper mark on a reader than the first book that finds its way into his heart. Those first images, the echo of words we think we have left behind, accompany us throughout our lives and sculpt a palace in our memory to which, sooner or later—no matter how many books we read, how many worlds we discover, or how much we learn or forget—we will return.”
Carlos Ruiz Zafon, The Shadow of the Wind

Carlos Ruiz Zafón
“Every book, every volume you see here, has a soul. The soul of the person who wrote it and of those who read it and lived and dreamed with it. Every time a book changes hands, every time someone runs his eyes down its pages, its spirit grows and strengthens.”
Carlos Ruiz Zafón, The Shadow of the Wind

Carlos Ruiz Zafón
“The moment you stop to think about whether you love someone, you've already stopped loving that person forever.”
Carlos Ruiz Zafón, The Shadow of the Wind

Carlos Ruiz Zafón
“Bea says that the art of reading is slowly dying, that it's an intimate ritual, that a book is a mirror that offers us only what we already carry inside us, that when we read, we do it with all our heart and mind, and great readers are becoming more scarce by the day.”
Carlos Ruiz Zafón, The Shadow of the Wind

Carlos Ruiz Zafón
“Memories are worse than bullets.”
Carlos Ruiz Zafón, The Shadow of the Wind

Carlos Ruiz Zafón
“A secret's worth depends on the people from whom it must be kept.”
Carlos Ruiz Zafón, The Shadow of the Wind

Carlos Ruiz Zafón
“Making money isn't hard in itself... What's hard is to earn it doing something worth devoting one’s life to.”
Carlos Ruiz Zafón, The Shadow of the Wind

Carlos Ruiz Zafón
“In the shop we buy and sell them, but in truth books have no owner. Every book you see here has been somebody’s best friend.”
Carlos Ruiz Zafón, The Shadow of the Wind

Carlos Ruiz Zafón
“If you really want to possess a woman, you must think like her, and the first thing to do is win over her soul. The rest, that sweet, soft wrapping that steals away your senses and your virtue, is a bonus.”
Carlos Ruiz Zafón, The Shadow of the Wind


Reading Progress

Finished Reading (Other Paperback Edition)
October 27, 2010 – Shelved
June 5, 2011 – Shelved as: favorites
June 26, 2011 – Shelved as: favorites (Other Paperback Edition)
June 26, 2011 – Shelved (Other Paperback Edition)
January 3, 2012 – Started Reading
January 3, 2012 –
page 2
0.41% "I saw it in library today and I just couldn't resist it. There is one part in the book that says something like there is certain book that you'll read and it will stay inside of you forever and you'll always go back to that book...and I think I found mine!"
January 5, 2012 –
page 187
38.4% ""In the shop we buy and sell them, but in truth books have no owner. Every book you see here has been somebody’s best friend." True story!"
January 8, 2012 – Finished Reading
September 20, 2012 – Shelved as: my-little-library

Comments Showing 1-48 of 48 (48 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Zemira (Kylo Ren fangirl) Warner Je li ovo prevedeno? Još uvijek nisam otišla do biblioteke da se učlanim. Koja sramota.


Tanja (Tanychy) St. Delphi/James Jeste, prevedeno je. Ima kod nas u biblioteci par primjeraka, sigurno ima i kod vas. :)


Zemira (Kylo Ren fangirl) Warner Super. Baš se radujem. Zvuči zanimljivo.


Tanja (Tanychy) St. Delphi/James Obavezno mi javis kad je uzmes! :) PS. jesi isla do Konzuma? Ja cu u ponedeljak valjda su stigle knjige.


Zemira (Kylo Ren fangirl) Warner Išla sam onaj dan kad sam ti rekla,ali nije bilo knjiga. Idem ponovo u ponedjeljak. Mislim,sredina je januara. Rekli su da će stići tada. Prilično sam sigurna da će doći ove sedmice.


Tanja (Tanychy) St. Delphi/James Tako su i meni rekli. Pa cu otici u ponedeljak. Valjda ce sve knjige stici.


Mare I like =D


Miloš Precisely... :-)


Tanja (Tanychy) St. Delphi/James Ah jedan je Zafon :)


message 11: by Luis (new) - rated it 5 stars

Luis Peres Excelent review and probably the only way to speak about this enchanted book.


Tanja (Tanychy) St. Delphi/James Thank you :)


Synnøve Spot on:)


message 15: by Lora (new) - rated it 5 stars

Lora I didn't know how to write a review for this book, but you said what I felt. Well done :)


Tanja (Tanychy) St. Delphi/James I am really happy to hear that. Thank you Lora :)


message 17: by Patrick (new) - added it

Patrick Waters I just found this app and was going to write a review on one of my favorite books of all time. However, after reading your review, I am going to write it on another book. Nothing I say can improve upon what you wrote here. Granted, I am such a huge fan, the bar was set pretty low. But one of the quotes actually brought a tear to my eye. Think about that. You made me tear up in a book review (even if the actual words were written by somebody else)

The one comment I will add is thus: do not miss this book. It is better than what you are reading now. God forbid you get hit by a milk truck tomorrow (my Dad always used to say that...), but if you did and continued to read whatever you are reading now, you would die having missed one of the greatest treats of my reading life. Get this book today. Seriously.


message 18: by Tanja (Tanychy) (last edited Oct 19, 2014 01:03PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Tanja (Tanychy) St. Delphi/James And this is why I decided to be a review and to share my thoughts about books. Thank you so much for your amazing comment and you have no idea how proud I'm to make you feel some things about this book again.

Needless to say, I second everything you said. People go and read this book. Now!

Thank you so much.


Andrew It is a beautiful book, and I enjoyed your review. This is one of a handful of books I could read every week and never get bored, it is a stunning piece of fiction, already an all-time classic for me.


message 20: by Tanja (Tanychy) (last edited Oct 31, 2014 03:03AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Tanja (Tanychy) St. Delphi/James Couldn't agree more! Actually, the first book I reread every year is this one. It never gets old.


message 21: by Anna40 (new)

Anna40 This is the perfect review for this book. Now I'll run and grab another time this book I've read so many years ago and try to remember these emotions I've felt... Greetings from Barcelona!


message 22: by Tanja (Tanychy) (last edited Jul 21, 2015 01:21PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Tanja (Tanychy) St. Delphi/James Thank you so much! I'm sure you will love it this time around, as I have read it a couple of times myself and it always gets me emotional.
Greetings from Bosnia!
Oh and please, walk down Barcelona's streets for me, until I get a chance to do it myself :)


message 23: by [deleted user] (new)

SO TRUE... I only could write that it deserved far more than 5 stars... I KNOW.


Samuel I really loved the review you made of this amazing book, the quotes you selected, the description of the feelings that can't really be put to words, everything.

I just bought this book as a gift for a friend and after reading your review I'm going to search for my copy and read the book again just to feel those emotions one more time.


message 25: by Ann (new) - rated it 5 stars

Ann Exactly! !!!!!!!


message 26: by Jon (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jon I love this book as well
A book lovers book
A wonderful mystery with characters you love and hate
Reading it for the 4th(5th)? Time and still enjoying it
Wish there was a real Cemetery Of Lost Books!


Tanja (Tanychy) St. Delphi/James Thank you all for your kind words! I'm so happy that you feel the same for this book!


Drafter I listened to the audio version of this book in my car a year ago, it lingers so now whenever I am on a road trip, I think about it....


Tanja (Tanychy) St. Delphi/James I suggest listening to it every time you go on a road trip :)


Paula Liza Completely agree. Beautiful review. Thanks


Tanja (Tanychy) St. Delphi/James Thank you for your kind words :)


Susan Bos i have question what do you mean for number one


Tanja (Tanychy) St. Delphi/James Susan Bos wrote: "i have question what do you mean for number one"

There are no words that can do justice to the story. It is a book that speaks for itself and ours is just to enjoy its story.


Steven I'm in the middle of it and i know i'm reading my best book ever for me so far


Tanja (Tanychy) St. Delphi/James Steven wrote: "I'm in the middle of it and i know i'm reading my best book ever for me so far"

Glad to hear that :)


Karina I couldn't have said it better myself. Absolutely loved this book!!


Tanja (Tanychy) St. Delphi/James Karina wrote: "I couldn't have said it better myself. Absolutely loved this book!!"

I'm so happy to hear that and I hope you'll enjoy the rest of the series.


message 38: by Simon (new)

Simon I think the author is the less propitious person to judge its own book


Iniyan Xavier Please recommend some books which are also beautifully written.. Even if the mystery per se is not so complete.


Tanja (Tanychy) St. Delphi/James Iniyan wrote: "Please recommend some books which are also beautifully written.. Even if the mystery per se is not so complete."

Honestly, that is really really hard! I'm more of a fantasy reader myself and rarely read mystery/thrillers. First book that comes to my mind is The Book Thief.


Altaira León I love this review. You are more than great ❤️


Tanja (Tanychy) St. Delphi/James Altaira Leon wrote: "I love this review. You are more than great ❤️"

Thank you so much :)


message 43: by Kathy (new) - added it

Kathy Valentine Love this review. And love the book so far.


message 44: by Suha (new) - rated it 4 stars

Suha Beautiful :-)


Tanja (Tanychy) St. Delphi/James Suha wrote: "Beautiful :-)"

Thank you so much :)


Kathy wrote: "Love this review. And love the book so far."

I'm so happy you love it. Thank you :)


Svetlana So true!


صفيّة الصافي Amazingly good Woooow !


message 48: by Hana'a (new) - added it

Hana'a Mohammed 😳😳💙💙💙💙💙


back to top