Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-»'s Reviews > Midnight Alias

Midnight Alias by Elle Kennedy
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
3161105

RATING: 3 Not As Good As the First One Hearts! :)

Midnight Alias, the second installment in Elle Kennedy’s thrilling Killer Instincts series, takes us on a new mission with another member of Jim Morgan’s mercenaries, and introduces us to a new villain for whom killing is child’s play and pandering a means to “level-up” in the mafia. While the suspense element creates an action-packed, entertaining storyline, this installment, sadly, is not on par with what was expected.

Admittedly, the conflict lies with our protagonists and their speedy romance. Luke, the sexy Cajun SEAL, is just as carefree, yet badass, as we remember him from the first book, and Olivia is our resilient, determined stripper caught in the middle, unintentionally, of her boss, Angelo’s, drug-dealing business. Where Luke’s charming character garners much like, Olivia’s evokes a different response. Her resolve to help her mom maybe admirable, yet her annoying and unnervingly idiotic decisions are anything but. Luke and Olivia’s relationship also draws much scrutiny, a combination to the insta-lust, rushed declarations of love, and Olivia just not “it” for Luke or perhaps Olivia’s character falls flat in face of one of Noelle’s kickass Chameleons taking the romantic stage. Whatever the reason, Luke and Olivia’s fruition into a couple didn’t make sense, and ultimately didn’t gain any appreciation.

Despite the failure as a couple, the attraction between Olivia and Luke is palpable with some very steamy smexy scenes. And as always, Luke’s team members all play minor roles, giving us peeks into their personalities, and building our anticipation for their impending stories. As in this case, more than the main couple, Trevor and Izzy captivate with their scorching chemistry – the sparks leaping off the pages – and Derek’s enigmatic character beckons our curiosity to unravel his layers.

Overall, Midnight Alias keeps the balance between suspense, action and romance, and albeit the inadequacy of the romance, the good guys vs. bad guys theme keeps us fully invested to the point where we’re left nothing short of satisfied as we anticipate Trevor and Izzy’s book.



Posted: June 27, 2015
27 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Midnight Alias.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

May 13, 2015 – Shelved
May 13, 2015 – Shelved as: to-read
June 14, 2015 – Started Reading
June 16, 2015 –
52.0% "I do like sexy Cajun Luke...Olivia has yet to warm up to me though. *fingers crossed* that changes. :)"
June 18, 2015 –
100.0% "This was okay. Review to Come..."
June 18, 2015 – Finished Reading
June 27, 2015 – Shelved as: action-romance-hot-stuff
June 27, 2015 – Shelved as: author-i-lurve
June 27, 2015 – Shelved as: delicious-men
June 27, 2015 – Shelved as: favorite-series
June 27, 2015 – Shelved as: romantic-suspense
June 27, 2015 – Shelved as: sexy-ex-men-or-men-in-uniform

Comments Showing 1-45 of 45 (45 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Lye (new)

Lye Enjoy hun!!


Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» Lye wrote: "Enjoy hun!!"

Thanks so much, sweets! :D xxx


Patty ~ Wrapped Up In Reading Book Blog Enjoy Sweetheart!! :)
xoxoxo


Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» Patty ❤️❤️ Belongs To ❤️Kellan❤️Jesse❤️ Miller❤️Garrett and Archer❤️❤️ wrote: "Enjoy Sweetheart!! :)
xoxoxo"


Thanks, babe! I am enjoying this! All the action is just right for me! The heroine could use work, but I'm loving my boys too much too care. LOL :P xoxoxoxox


Patty ~ Wrapped Up In Reading Book Blog Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» wrote: "Patty ❤️❤️ Belongs To ❤️Kellan❤️Jesse❤️ Miller❤️Garrett and Archer❤️❤️ wrote: "Enjoy Sweetheart!! :)
xoxoxo"

Thanks, babe! I am enjoying this! All the action is just right for me! The heroine coul..."


HAHAHAH!!
Most of the time, I don't care for the heroine!
As long as the men are HOT, I can deal!
xoxoxoxo


Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» Patty ❤️❤️ Belongs To ❤️Kellan❤️Jesse❤️ Miller❤️Garrett and Archer❤️❤️ wrote: "Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» wrote: "Patty ❤️❤️ Belongs To ❤️Kellan❤️Jesse❤️ Miller❤️Garrett and Archer❤️❤️ wrote: "Enjoy Sweetheart!! :)
xoxoxo"

Thanks, babe! I am enjoying this! All the action is just right..."


Ohhh you said it! Who cares about the women...WE'VE GOT OUR ALPHA MEN! LOL :P xoxoxoxo


Patty ~ Wrapped Up In Reading Book Blog Hmm!!
What's the verdict Hun???


Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» Patty ❤️❤️ Belongs To ❤️Kellan❤️Jesse❤️ Miller❤️Garrett and Archer❤️❤️ wrote: "Hmm!!
What's the verdict Hun???"


This one is a 3 Hearts for me. I LOVE Luke, the sexy Cajun, and the plot was okay. But, the heroine, I couldn't connect with at all! :/ It was one of those reads, where I didn't picture someone like her ending up with someone like him. KWIM??


Patty ~ Wrapped Up In Reading Book Blog Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» wrote: "Patty ❤️❤️ Belongs To ❤️Kellan❤️Jesse❤️ Miller❤️Garrett and Archer❤️❤️ wrote: "Hmm!!
What's the verdict Hun???"

This one is a 3 Hearts for me. I LOVE Luke, the sexy Cajun, and the plot was okay. B..."


Yes. I understand!!
You know there are very few books where I connect with or even like the heroine. I'm thinking if you gave this a three, I won't even bother with it.
It doesn't matter if I skipped this right?
I am just guessing each book would be about different couples, so they can be read as standalones. :)


Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» Patty ❤️❤️ Belongs To ❤️Kellan❤️Jesse❤️ Miller❤️Garrett and Archer❤️❤️ wrote: "Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» wrote: "Patty ❤️❤️ Belongs To ❤️Kellan❤️Jesse❤️ Miller❤️Garrett and Archer❤️❤️ wrote: "Hmm!!
What's the verdict Hun???"

This one is a 3 Hearts for me. I LOVE Luke, the sexy Cajun,..."


Oh for sure!! Go ahead and skip this. I'm starting the third one soon, and the couple for that is literally exploding with SEXUAL CHEMISTRY! When you get to this series, let me know, and I'll give you a run down of the plot in detail, so it would be like you never missed it. LOL :P But, yeah, definitely can be read as a standalone. Or even you could just read the POV of the next couple in this and you still wouldn't miss anything.


Patty ~ Wrapped Up In Reading Book Blog Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» wrote: "Patty ❤️❤️ Belongs To ❤️Kellan❤️Jesse❤️ Miller❤️Garrett and Archer❤️❤️ wrote: "Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» wrote: "Patty ❤️❤️ Belongs To ❤️Kellan❤️Jesse❤️ Miller❤️Garrett and Archer❤️❤️ wrote: "Hmm!!
What's t..."


Thanks My Darling Girl!!
Adore you to pieces!!
xoxoxo


Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» Patty ❤️❤️ Belongs To ❤️Kellan❤️Jesse❤️ Miller❤️Garrett and Archer❤️❤️ wrote: "Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» wrote: "Patty ❤️❤️ Belongs To ❤️Kellan❤️Jesse❤️ Miller❤️Garrett and Archer❤️❤️ wrote: "Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» wrote: "Patty ❤️❤️ Belongs To ❤️Kellan❤️Jesse❤️ Miller❤️Garrett and Archer❤️..."

Anytime, sweetheart!! Love you lots too! *HUGS & KISSES*! :D xoxoxo


message 13: by Jennifer (new)

Jennifer Kyle Terrific review Madia :DD


Angela (Reading Frenzy Book Blog) Awesome review, Maida! I like romantic suspense and I'm a sucker for stories with a SEAL as the hero! I might give this one a shot. ❤


Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» Jennifer wrote: "Terrific review Madia :DD"

Thanks so much, Jennifer! :D xo


Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» Angela wrote: "Awesome review, Maida! I like romantic suspense and I'm a sucker for stories with a SEAL as the hero! I might give this one a shot. ❤"

Thank you so much, Angela! Definitely give this a go, if you're a fan of Romantic suspense! Elle Kennedy is amazing at writing the perfect blend of romance and action and suspense! :D xoxoxo


✦❋Arianna✦❋ Fantastic review, hun!xoxo


Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» Arianna wrote: "Fantastic review, hun!xoxo"

Thank you so much, babe! :D xoxoxo


message 19: by Michelle (new)

Michelle Terrific review Maida! Sorry it wasn't as good as the first one. I hate when that happens. Insta anything in a book sucks. lmao Hope the next one is better:))


message 20: by Rag (new)

Rag Wonderful review love! Sorry it wasn't as good though. I hate when it happens. Lol since I started reading(2013) I've only read the first book in a series dky just did. But now I'm getting there. Working on actually reading the whole series.


message 21: by Baba (new)

Baba  It's rather normal that not every installment in a series is a great read. Hope that you'll enjoy Trevor and Izzy's book more! Wonderful review, Maida love! xoxox


Lady Gabriella of Awesomeness (On Hiatus) Lovely review honey..sorry it wasn't as fab as u expected it to be love :/


message 23: by Judith (new)

Judith Well explained,honest review sweet Maida.I've found the same thing with this Author's series ( Out of Uniform)....some really hit the spot and some not so much,xxxx


Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» Michelle wrote: "Terrific review Maida! Sorry it wasn't as good as the first one. I hate when that happens. Insta anything in a book sucks. lmao Hope the next one is better:))"

Thanks so much, Michelle! I'm 100% with you. I hate it when that happens too! And insta anything just never seems to work for me. lol :D xo


Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» Rag wrote: "Wonderful review love! Sorry it wasn't as good though. I hate when it happens. Lol since I started reading(2013) I've only read the first book in a series dky just did. But now I'm getting there. W..."

Thanks so much, babe!! Hahah! I totally understand your reluctance though. Sometimes series just take a nose dive instead of actually turning out good. But, I'm glad you're giving series a go, some of them are true gems! :D xoxoxo


Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Archer, Dean, Adrian, Dan & Hunter wrote: "It's rather normal that not every installment in a series is a great read. Hope that you'll enjoy Trevor and Izzy's book more! Wonderful review, Maida love! xoxox"

Thank you so much, my love! And I completely agree! That's what makes series so unpredictable, and scary, especially if its a fav series. And I am LOVING Trevor and Izzy's book! :D xoxoxox


Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» Gabriella ♥ Liam Callahan's girl ♥ wrote: "Lovely review honey..sorry it wasn't as fab as u expected it to be love :/"

Thanks so much, honey! It happens, but good thing I have more awesome books to distract me! LOL :P xoxox


Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» Judith wrote: "Well explained,honest review sweet Maida.I've found the same thing with this Author's series ( Out of Uniform)....some really hit the spot and some not so much,xxxx"

Thank you so much, doll! And I haven't read that series by her yet, but its exactly that with this series or from the books I've read so far. Hopefully, I won't un-enjoy more! :D xoxoxo


message 29: by Sophie (new)

Sophie  **2 Greek Girls Reading** Fabulous honest review, my friend! :))
I'm sorry this wasn't as good as the first one, but I understand your reasons :/ Hopefully the next parts will be better for you! :D


message 30: by S.M. (new)

S.M. West Great review, babe! Too bad this wasn't as good as the first one. Hope your next read is better. Xoxo


Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» ღSophieღ wrote: "Fabulous honest review, my friend! :))
I'm sorry this wasn't as good as the first one, but I understand your reasons :/ Hopefully the next parts will be better for you! :D"


Thank you so much, honey!! The next one is absolutely amazing! I'm loving Izzy and Trevor! :D xoxoxo


Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» Suzanne wrote: "Great review, babe! Too bad this wasn't as good as the first one. Hope your next read is better. Xoxo"

Thank you so much, darling!!! I was disappointed this wasn't as good too, but oh well. LOL :P My current read is Izzy and Trevor's story and that is totally making me happy, so all's good! :D xoxoxox


♥Rachel♥ Brilliant review, Maida! You know I felt the same about this installment. I do agree Trevor and Izzy's romance was more captivating, even as secondary characters. And yes, Derek is an enigma! I'm anxious to get his story in February! :)


message 34: by Piper (new)

Piper Gah, it sucks when that happens. Sounds like you're enjoying the next one though so that's cool. Fabulous review girly!!! :D


Kathleen Well said Maida, I'm sorry it was not the 5 star read you were hoping for.


ღFloღ the coffee addict Fab honest review, lovely! Sorry it wasn't a complete win for you. :(


message 37: by Kristen (new)

Kristen Well said my sweet friend. ((hugs))


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ A super review my dear. Sorry you weren't blown away... = )


Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» ♥Rachel♥ wrote: "Brilliant review, Maida! You know I felt the same about this installment. I do agree Trevor and Izzy's romance was more captivating, even as secondary characters. And yes, Derek is an enigma! I'm a..."

Thank you so much, Rachel! You and me both! I cannot wait for Derek's story, especially after the stuff in Midnight Games, which still has me shocked, btw! LOL :P xoxo


Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» Piper wrote: "Gah, it sucks when that happens. Sounds like you're enjoying the next one though so that's cool. Fabulous review girly!!! :D"

Thank you so much, honey! Definitely enjoying the next one! :D xoxox


Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» Kathleen wrote: "Well said Maida, I'm sorry it was not the 5 star read you were hoping for."

Thank you so much, Kathleen. It happens. ;D xo


Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» ღFloღ the coffee addict wrote: "Fab honest review, lovely! Sorry it wasn't a complete win for you. :("

Thanks so much, hun! And you win some and you lose some. Good thing the next one is fabulous! :D xoxoxo


Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» Kristen (Peddler of Smut) wrote: "Well said my sweet friend. ((hugs))"

Thank you so much, darling! :D xo


Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ wrote: "A super review my dear. Sorry you weren't blown away... = )"

Thank you so much, Sue girl! This one wasn't so good, but the next one is definitely fabulous! :D xoxox


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» wrote: "SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ wrote: "A super review my dear. Sorry you weren't blown away... = )"

Thank you so much, Sue girl! This one wasn't so good, but the next one is definitely fabulous! :D x..."


Oh that's great! = DD


back to top