Judy D Collins's Reviews > Hostage Taker

Hostage Taker by Stefanie Pintoff
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
11063006
's review

really liked it
bookshelves: 2015-new-releases, erika-robuck, fitness, netgalley-arc, books-read-in-2015, crime-thriller

A special thank you to Random House/Ballantine and NetGalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

The HOSTAGE TAKER by Stefanie Pintoff, a new riveting urban contemporary series, featuring Eve Rossi negotiator FBI agent for an intense suspense roller-coaster crime thriller ride.

What starts as a shooting outside of Saint Patrick's Cathedral in Manhattan revolves into a dangerous and complex hostage situation. At stake are not only the lives of the hostages but the fate of the most iconic church in the country.

Eve Rossi, is head of a secret division of the FBI. Most of the eclectic team is a mix of highly intelligent professionals, criminals, and ex-convicts, a secret squad known as the VIDOCQ Unit.

On the day of the Christmas Rockefeller Center tree lighting, in New York, a man barricades himself and an unknown number of hostages inside St. Patrick’s Cathedral. He requests Eve Rossi, who’s on bereavement leave following her stepfather’s death, a former a former CIA operative.

Eve is called back to work; however, the mysterious hostage situation is complex and so many elements are on the line. He wants five individuals brought to the scene to act as "witnesses" to the events. As the terror and intensity heats up, as the clock ticks, getting close to the deadline-- things do not go as planned.

I enjoyed the news breaks by the hour, with new correspondents, and the visual classified VIDOCQ files listing the individual's expertise, age, and criminal record, (along with their strengths and weaknesses), etc. --adding to the drama. The Author's Note was a nice addition with, master-of disguise, Eugene Francois Vidocq.

A fast-paced, suspense, with a strong and compelling protagonist heroine, pulling you into the terrifying drama unfolding with a deadly standoff; dark secrets, and special talents from the team.

My first book by Pintoff, spinning a twisted well-developed crime thriller page-turner– Hope to see more of Eve Rossi!

Fans of Lisa Gardner and Tami Hoag will enjoy this new thriller, HOSTAGE TAKER.

JDCMustReadBooks


8 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Hostage Taker.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

May 10, 2015 – Shelved
May 10, 2015 – Shelved as: to-read
August 10, 2015 – Started Reading
August 10, 2015 – Shelved as: 2015-new-releases
August 10, 2015 – Shelved as: erika-robuck
August 10, 2015 – Shelved as: fitness
August 10, 2015 – Shelved as: netgalley-arc
August 12, 2015 –
page 50
11.85%
August 13, 2015 –
page 100
23.7%
August 13, 2015 –
page 175
41.47%
August 13, 2015 –
page 175
41.47% "SUSPENSE!"
August 14, 2015 –
page 250
59.24%
August 15, 2015 – Shelved as: books-read-in-2015
August 15, 2015 – Shelved as: crime-thriller
August 15, 2015 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-2 of 2 (2 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Linda Great review, Judy. I enjoyed this one as well.


Judy D Collins Thanks, Linda! Looking forward to the next.


back to top