Kate's Reviews > My Life in Heavy Metal: Stories

My Life in Heavy Metal by Steve Almond
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
1914270
's review
Oct 22, 2010

really liked it
bookshelves: short-stories, music
Recommended for: Fans of well written short stories
Read 2 times. Last read May 7, 2012 to May 15, 2012.

While reading these 12 very well written stories, songs would spontaniously pop into my head, and in no particular order, below is my playlist. Enjoy:

1. Cherry Pie ~ Warrant
2. Lovesong ~ The Cure
3. Push It ~ Salt N Pepa
4. Make Me Sweat ~ Basement Jaxx
5. Wild Thing~ Tone Loc
6. One Thing Leads To Another ~ The Fixx
7. I Want Your Sex ~ George Michael
8. Rasberry Beret ~ Prince
9. Pour Some Sugar On Me ~ Def Leappard
10. You Shook Me All Night Long ~ AC/DC
11. Metal on Metal ~ Anvil
12. Love Comes In Spurts ~ Osaka Popstar
7 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read My Life in Heavy Metal.
Sign In »

Quotes Kate Liked

Steve Almond
“It is in these moments of tender and ridiculous nostalgia that I know something inside me is still broken.”
Steve Almond, My Life in Heavy Metal: Stories


Reading Progress

Finished Reading
October 22, 2010 – Shelved
May 7, 2012 – Started Reading
May 7, 2012 – Shelved as: short-stories
May 8, 2012 –
page 59
26.34% "It is in these moments of tender and rediculous nostalgia yhat I know something inside me is still broken."
May 10, 2012 –
page 109
48.66% "I was ravenous for a love so grandiose as to obliterate my life."
May 15, 2012 – Shelved as: music
May 15, 2012 – Finished Reading

Comments (showing 1-6 of 6) (6 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Dan (new)

Dan Schwent I really like the Warren Zevon version of Raspberry Beret


Kate OMG, I didn't even know Warren Zevon did a version of the song. I'm going to have to check it out. Thanks Dan!


Kate Excellent! I really like Warren Zevon's voice. It's a lot different than Prince's version, but really well done. Thanks for sharing.


message 5: by Lars (new)

Lars Guthrie Don't know if I'll ever read Almond's book (I should) but I loved the playlist!


Kate Thanks Lars! This has been the only Almond book I've read (so far) but it totally rocked and will be one that I will revisit from time to time. Worth the read if you can get around to it.


back to top