Emma's Reviews > The Mime Order

The Mime Order by Samantha Shannon
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
1464777
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: 2015-read, dystopian, paranormal, urban-fantasy, young-adult, london, 2017-read, favourites
Read 3 times. Last read March 9, 2017 to March 19, 2017.

A solid sequel that takes the action back to familiar territory in Scion London. The strength in this novel lies once again in Shannon's ability to world-build, creating a cast of weird and wonderful characters that inhabit the various gangs of the criminal underworld. I enjoyed particularly getting a more intimate look into this hierarchy, even if my skin did crawl every single time readers were treated to an especially graphic description of a lot of the brutality rampant on the streets of London. The scrimmage was well handled - it turns out Shannon can also write a compelling and exciting fight scene, for all intents and purposes. It was the manner in which she described this kind of skilled battle between voyants that made me vividly picture the action progressing in an on-screen adaptation - I think, in the right hands, it could look beautiful. And a lot of that beauty lies in the magic system that has was teased in the first book and expanded upon in this, the second.

On a parting note - I still intensely dislike Jaxon, but there's no surprise there and anyone who has read this book will know the feeling couldn't possibly dissipate with this addition to the series.
1 like · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Mime Order.
Sign In »

Quotes Emma Liked

Samantha Shannon
“Madness is a matter of perspective, little dreamer.”
Samantha Shannon, The Mime Order

Samantha Shannon
“Some revolutions change the world in a day. Others take decades or centuries or more, and others still never come to fruition. Mine began with a moment and a choice.”
Samantha Shannon, The Mime Order

Samantha Shannon
“Hope is the lifeblood of revolution. Without it, we are nothing but ash, waiting for the wind to take us.”
Samantha Shannon, The Mime Order


Reading Progress

April 7, 2015 – Shelved
April 7, 2015 – Shelved as: to-read
April 13, 2015 – Started Reading
April 13, 2015 –
page 52
10.2%
April 13, 2015 –
page 88
17.25%
April 14, 2015 –
page 127
24.9%
April 14, 2015 –
page 185
36.27%
April 15, 2015 –
page 238
46.67%
April 15, 2015 –
page 268
52.55%
April 15, 2015 –
page 268
52.55% "Considering how stealthy and disguised Paige is meant to be, people catch her an awful lot. I'm just sayin'."
April 15, 2015 –
page 307
60.2%
April 15, 2015 –
page 307
60.2% "I kind of want to be in a criminal gang in Scion London. Say what you will about Samantha Shannon, she writes a compelling (if horrific) world."
April 16, 2015 –
page 426
83.53% "I changed my mind, there is a way that this is Harry Potter-ish: the big fight always has the good grace to wait until it coincides nicely with about 20% of the book left to go. If I didn't know better, I'd say I was reading a novel. :P"
April 16, 2015 –
page 449
88.04% "Oh man, this scrimmage would be so good on film, providing they chucked a ton of money at making the special effects look good and semi-realistic rather than gimmicky."
April 16, 2015 – Finished Reading
October 12, 2015 – Shelved as: 2015-read
October 12, 2015 – Shelved as: dystopian
October 12, 2015 – Shelved as: paranormal
October 12, 2015 – Shelved as: urban-fantasy
October 12, 2015 – Shelved as: young-adult
October 12, 2015 – Shelved as: london
July 21, 2016 – Started Reading (Other Hardcover Edition)
July 21, 2016 – Shelved (Other Hardcover Edition)
July 21, 2016 –
page 20
3.87% "Rereading these before YALC has well and truly reminded me why I love this series." (Other Hardcover Edition)
July 21, 2016 –
page 38
7.35% (Other Hardcover Edition)
July 22, 2016 –
page 156
30.17% (Other Hardcover Edition)
July 27, 2016 –
page 268
51.84% (Other Hardcover Edition)
July 31, 2016 –
page 307
59.38% (Other Hardcover Edition)
July 31, 2016 –
page 307
59.38% (Other Hardcover Edition)
July 31, 2016 –
page 307
59.38% (Other Hardcover Edition)
July 31, 2016 –
page 307
59.38% (Other Hardcover Edition)
July 31, 2016 –
page 307
59.38% (Other Hardcover Edition)
July 31, 2016 –
page 307
59.38% (Other Hardcover Edition)
August 2, 2016 –
page 379
73.31% (Other Hardcover Edition)
August 3, 2016 – Shelved as: dystopian (Other Hardcover Edition)
August 3, 2016 – Shelved as: 2016-read (Other Hardcover Edition)
August 3, 2016 – Shelved as: fantasy (Other Hardcover Edition)
August 3, 2016 – Shelved as: london (Other Hardcover Edition)
August 3, 2016 – Shelved as: paranormal (Other Hardcover Edition)
August 3, 2016 – Finished Reading (Other Hardcover Edition)
March 9, 2017 – Started Reading
March 9, 2017 –
page 20
3.99%
March 9, 2017 –
page 72
14.37%
March 10, 2017 –
page 105
20.96%
March 11, 2017 –
page 140
27.94%
March 14, 2017 –
page 209
41.72%
March 15, 2017 –
page 268
53.49%
March 15, 2017 –
page 286
57.09%
March 17, 2017 –
page 365
72.85%
March 17, 2017 –
page 405
80.84%
March 18, 2017 –
page 430
85.83%
March 19, 2017 – Shelved as: 2017-read
March 19, 2017 – Finished Reading
June 6, 2018 – Shelved as: favourites

No comments have been added yet.