Matthew's Reviews > Frog Music

Frog Music by Emma Donoghue
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
16254355
's review

really liked it
bookshelves: gr_awards_2015, 2015, audio, library, historical-fiction

This book is probably between 3 and 4 stars for me. I would probably not have read it if it was not for having read Room a few years ago. However, this book is nothing like Room.

The story and the characters were very interesting. The descriptions of the locales was pretty good as well. I think this is a story that will be enjoyable to historical fiction buffs.

My only criticism - and I am sure not all will agree - is that the descriptions went a little far at points with no other purpose except to be titillating. Extreme enough that I worry about recommending this to some people as I am not sure if it will be too much for them.

Other than that - pretty good!
27 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Frog Music.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

March 31, 2015 – Shelved
March 31, 2015 – Shelved as: to-read
March 31, 2015 – Shelved as: gr_awards_2015
April 17, 2015 – Started Reading
April 17, 2015 – Shelved as: 2015
April 17, 2015 – Shelved as: audio
April 17, 2015 – Shelved as: library
April 17, 2015 – Shelved as: historical-fiction
April 17, 2015 –
page 8
April 17, 2015 –
8.0%
April 18, 2015 –
17.0%
April 20, 2015 –
20.0%
April 21, 2015 –
22.0%
April 22, 2015 –
31.0%
April 23, 2015 –
48.0%
April 24, 2015 –
55.0%
April 26, 2015 –
57.0%
April 27, 2015 –
75.0%
April 28, 2015 –
81.0%
April 29, 2015 –
86.0%
May 1, 2015 –
96.0%
May 2, 2015 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-4 of 4 (4 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Eileen (new) - added it

Eileen I really enjoyed Room and liked her writing style, so maybe I will give this a go. Another friend of mine loved this and recommended it, so it may be worth checking out.


Matthew Eileen wrote: "I really enjoyed Room and liked her writing style, so maybe I will give this a go. Another friend of mine loved this and recommended it, so it may be worth checking out."

It definitely very different from Room. I do not think my wife ended up liking this one, but she did like Room. So it could very easily go either way. I hope for you it is on the positive side!


message 3: by Eileen (new) - added it

Eileen Matthew wrote: "I hope for you it is on the positive side!"

Time will tell!


Matthew Eileen wrote: "Matthew wrote: "I hope for you it is on the positive side!"

Time will tell!"


:) Fingers crossed! :)


back to top