oliviasbooks's Reviews > The Looking Glass Wars

The Looking Glass Wars by Frank Beddor
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
2843533
The Looking Glass Wars is not really different from what I had expected. It is a well-constructed retelling, that places Alice as the Queen of Hearts' daughter and consequently the next-in-line for Wonderland's throne. When the evil Red Queen, Queen Genevieve's sister, attacks the palace with her army of card soldiers, Alice - or Alyss - is sent via the Pool of Tears tunnel to a parallel world - ours, but during the life-time of Lewis Carroll, by the Queen's faithful bodyguard Hatter Madigan (you know him), to keep her safe until things have calmed down. Is is kind of fun recognizing the elements of the well-known story and noticing how cleverly they are twisted. But nonetheless I feel inexplicably bored. Why I cannot say. A second sore spot is Alyss age and her behavior during the first chapters. Yes, even I dreamed of certain boys in kindergarden, and yes, I know, princesses start thinking about marriages and political alliances quite early, but that dancing-almost-kissing scene between seven year old Alyss and her ten year old devoted commoner friend Dodge of the royal guard and their respective hidden feelings for each other was depicted far too mature and lovey-dovey in an unrealistic sort of way to me. Add ten years each and it's alright. My opinion is that if an author cannot even partly remember what it was like to be seven should avoid shoving the spotlight on a character of that particular age.

So, I decided to let the book drop at page 80. This is not meant as an discouragement to pick it up and try. Heads-off-screaming Queen Redd is fun and the Diamond Prince's deflated bottom a nice thing to visualize.

Tina, please assign another book to me. I am ready to switch.
8 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Looking Glass Wars.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

September 28, 2010 – Shelved
September 28, 2010 – Shelved as: retellings-continuations
September 28, 2010 – Shelved as: young-adult-fiction
January 12, 2011 –
page 24
6.38% "Alyss at 7 is a spoiled brat."
January 12, 2011 –
page 80
21.28% "I'll stop."
January 12, 2011 – Shelved as: urban-fantasy-paranormal
January 13, 2011 – Shelved as: swapped-or-given-away
January 15, 2011 – Shelved as: unfinished-2011

Comments Showing 1-15 of 15 (15 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

oliviasbooks I start tomorrow.


message 2: by ~Tina~ (new) - added it

~Tina~ :)


Miss Bookiverse Na da bin ich gespannt wie du's findest. Mich hat's leider enttäuscht :/


message 4: by oliviasbooks (last edited Jan 11, 2011 01:06PM) (new) - rated it 2 stars

oliviasbooks Mal sehen. Ich habe es mal ertauscht und Tina hat es für mich in unserer Pile-Reduction-Challenge aus meinem Haufen gefischt. Eine gute Gelegenheit es herauszufinden.


oliviasbooks Still not finished with Robot Girl. Should be starting this tonight, Tina!


message 6: by ~Tina~ (new) - added it

~Tina~ No worries, take your time, we still have till the end of the month:)


Miss Bookiverse Wo macht ihr denn diese Challenge (wenn ich fragen darf ;)? Habt ihr ne eigene Gruppe? Oder einfach über Kommentare?


message 8: by oliviasbooks (last edited Jan 12, 2011 12:36PM) (new) - rated it 2 stars

oliviasbooks Wir haben eine Lese-Gruppe und leider wurde dort einstimmig festgestellt, dass wir andauernd neue Bücher kaufen und alte verstauben lassen. Das Alyss-Buch hätte ich ewig nicht angepackt, glaube ich. Aber wenn es mir nach einer Kostprobe nicht gefällt, schmeiße ich es kurz und schmerzlos raus. Ich bin da nicht mehr zimperlich.


message 9: by Flannery (new)

Flannery The whole time I was reading your review I kept thinking, "this sounds like my nightmare!" I have a serious problem with most modernized and/or adaptations of classics.


Miss Bookiverse Ach ja, das geht wohl jedem Vielleser so, kaufen ist einfach noch schöner als lesen ;D ich versuche mich gerade an einem 3-lesen-1-kaufen-Deal, bin aber noch nicht sicher, ob ich nicht auf 4 oder 5 erhöhe, soll ja auch wirklich was bringen im Abbau ;)

An dem Buch waren auch die Alice-Elemente das einzige, was mir gefallen hat. Der Rest war ziemlich öde und auch viel zu abrupt erzählt, gerade am Ende kommen noch zahlreiche Actionszenen und die waren so comicmäßig erzählt (später hab ich gelesen, dass der Autor sonst Comics macht, das hat es für mich erklärt). Ich find's echt schade, weil das Buch so eine originell Grundidee hat.


oliviasbooks Ja. Das stimmt. Die Grundidee ist nett. Ich hatte mal einen Plan: Zwei neue Bücher lesen und ein altes nochmal lesen. Klappt nicht.


message 12: by ~Tina~ (new) - added it

~Tina~ Yikes, I guess it's a good thing this is over and done with. Get rid of it:D
I'll...just...be...over...looking on your shelf now. ~runs~


message 13: by ~Tina~ (new) - added it

~Tina~ I assigned you a new challenge at the corner:)


oliviasbooks Got rid of it. My colleague was interested. Not it's her 'problem'..


message 15: by ~Tina~ (new) - added it

~Tina~ LOL!


back to top