Regina's Reviews > Ghost Story

Ghost Story by Jim Butcher
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
3104032
's review
Sep 27, 2010

it was amazing
bookshelves: urban-fantasy-uf, owned-kindle, favorite-authors, favorites
Read from July 26 to August 03, 2011

I love Harry. I love Bob. I love Molly. I love the new and improved Butters. I loved seeing Daniel Carpenter. I love this series. It just is such a comfort read for me. I had forgotten how much I love this series until I started to read this book. The mystery and quest were interesting and unlike much urban fantasy, it was unique – nothing I have read before. Maybe a little of Harry Potter, but I am okay with that. One of the things that is so fantastic about this series is that there are consequences. Consequences to dying, consequences to losing loved ones, and consequences to killing. Harry is self reflective and looks back on his actions – he considers what he should have done and questions his own actions. He has regret.

This is such a rich, beautiful story. Action – of course there is action, but now too much. Some of the Dresden books have too much action in my opinion, but this one has a great balance. Some of the characters reactions to situations frustrated me, but they were reacting in a very human way. I also enjoy how Butcher revisits past baddies. In most books, the baddies die and everything is solved and the heroes move on to their next quest. Not in this world. In this world, it isn’t that the baddies don’t die, but there are reverberations – so that past decisions to take out the bad guys or remove them have caused new problems to arise.

Butcher has gotten better at describing Chicago, but I still saw some factual inaccuracies that drive my crazy. For example, when he was examining a priest’s night table he notes that one of the only earthly goods the priest ones is a King James bible, but Catholics don’t read the King James bible and in fact the Catholic bible is slightly different than the protestant bible. Minor, but I am shocked an editor or Butcher didn’t catch this. I just like being immersed in a story but when there is a glaring factual error, it takes me out of the story. However, I loved this story so much I am still giving it 5 stars.



*****
More New Updates:!!!! woohooo!!!!!!

Our GHOST STORY preview continues with Chapter 3!
http://www.jim-butcher.com/books/dres...

If you missed last week's post, you can check them out here:
http://www.jim-butcher.com/books/dres...
http://www.jim-butcher.com/books/dres...

We'll be posting 5 chapters in all over the coming weeks, plus video of Jim reading chapters 1-4 at the NYCC Fan Dinner last October!

**
With a little over a month remaining until GHOST STORY's release, it's time for some sample chapters!

Chapter 1: http://www.jim-butcher.com/books/dres...
Chapter 2: http://www.jim-butcher.com/books/dres...

In all, we’ll be posting five sample chapters, plus bonus audio of Jim reading the first four chapters at the NY Comic Con Fan Dinner! (NOTE: You should definitely read the text version before listening to Jim read. He was reading from an earlier draft, and some aspects have changed slightly.) They will be posted on the following schedule:

June 28th: Chapter 3
July 5th: Chapter 4, plus the audio for 1 and 2.
July 12th: Chapter 5, plus the audio for 3 and 4.
July 26th: Release day!

You can pre-order GHOST STORY from our store or through the Virtual Signing, which now also includes the DFRPG!
Our Store: http://www.jim-butcher.com/store
The Virtual Signing: http://www.jim-butcher.com/posts/2011...

Also, don't forget that the Virtual Signing for Codex Alera map posters ends on June 28th, just over a week away! If you want a map signed by Jim and Priscilla, the artist, get your pre-order in soon.
http://priscellie.com/store/


http://us.penguingroup.com/static/pag...

You can also download GHOST STORY desktop wallpaper here:
http://www.jim-butcher.com/posts/2011...

In the month leading up to the July 26th release, we'll have even more GHOST STORY goodies for you, here at Jim-Butcher.com. In all, we'll be posting five sample chapters, plus bonus audio of Jim reading the first four chapters at the NY Comic Con Fan Dinner! It will be posted on the following schedule:

June 21: Chapter 2
June 28: Chapter 3
July 5th: Chapter 4, plus the audio for 1 and 2.
July 12th: Chapter 5, plus the audio for 3 and 4.
July 26th: Release day!



*********************New release date -- July 26, 2011

Following an in-interview announcement by Jim at MarsCon over the weekend, we’ve updated the site to reflect the new release date for Ghost Story: July 26, 2011.

Said Jim (paraphrased): “It came down to, readers could either get a half-assed story in April, or a full-assed one in July!”
37 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Ghost Story.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

07/26/2011
2.0% "So good already."
07/28/2011
20.0% "Sad and funny. That line made me cry and laugh."
07/29/2011
40.0% "soooo good."
07/31/2011
42.0% "That was fricking cool."
08/01/2011
60.0% "Pet peeve of mine -- an author not doing research and using certain facts as context. Butcher's description of Chicago is much better than his earlier books. But he notices that Father Forthill has a King James bible on his night stand. A catholic priest wouldn't have a King James bible unless he was reading it for research or comparison."
04/14/2016 marked as: read
show 2 hidden updates…

Comments (showing 1-17 of 17) (17 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Sandra I appreciate the "full-assed story" but DAMN I was SO excited!


Regina Agreed!


Regina New Updates:!!!!

http://us.penguingroup.com/static/pag...

You can also download GHOST STORY desktop wallpaper here:
http://www.jim-butcher.com/posts/2011...

In the month leading up to the July 26th release, we'll have even more GHOST STORY goodies for you, here at Jim-Butcher.com. In all, we'll be posting five sample chapters, plus bonus audio of Jim reading the first four chapters at the NY Comic Con Fan Dinner! It will be posted on the following schedule:

June 21: Chapter 2
June 28: Chapter 3
July 5th: Chapter 4, plus the audio for 1 and 2.
July 12th: Chapter 5, plus the audio for 3 and 4.
July 26th: Release day!


message 4: by jD (new) - rated it 5 stars

jD Thanks for the link to the preview. It's nice to know Harry did not become some whinning ghost right out the gate. This one is gonna be good!


message 5: by AH (new) - added it

AH Great review, Regina. I'm looking forward to reading this when I catch up. (I'm only on #7)


Regina Thanks AH. You have really good books ahead of you. Really good ones!


Katyana Great review! Man, I loved this book. And it is so impressive that Butcher just continues to deliver such fantastic, elegantly told stories.


Regina Katyana, I agree. His series actually get better and more complex.


Katyana Completely. I liked the series from the outset, but the books just get so much better as they go one.


message 10: by jD (new) - rated it 5 stars

jD I just finished it. It was hard seeing he characters suffer so.


Regina It was. It was so realistic though, they acted like people who have been through pain and war. :(


message 12: by jD (new) - rated it 5 stars

jD They also showed that they could and would survive. They saved themselves for the most part. I was glad that Harry realized how strong they all are. Harry matured quite a bit in this book. I can't wait for the next.


message 13: by Rose (new) - added it

Rose The Dresden Files series keeps getting better..
on a minor note..some of my Catholic friends do indeed read the New King James bible


message 14: by Regina (last edited Sep 05, 2011 05:36AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Regina Perhaps a layperson who didn't understand the difference might. But a priest wouldnot unless he was doing some sort of comparison. The catholic bible has a few different books in it, and the edit and translation issues have been an issue. The king James bible is a protestant bible.


message 15: by Rose (last edited Sep 05, 2011 07:15AM) (new) - added it

Rose I think I did read somewhere that the two bibles have different content,such as additional books and different variations on certain names, but I have no idea why they read the KJV bible :D


message 16: by Regina (last edited Sep 05, 2011 11:48AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Regina Yes, there is some very interesing history about why there are "two" -- if you care to google it. :) I just know bc I went to Catholic middle school and high school, so I had religion class every day. We learned in detail the differences between the bibles and at least from how the Catholic church teaches it, the methods of tranlsation and the differences between the versions. I am guessing that a lay person who perhaps is not aware of this difference, maybe wasn't schooled in it or maybe it isn't important to them (e.g. Jim Butcher!) may just buy a bible for themselves to read and not be aware of it. But it is an important detail, a Catholic priest wouldnt rely on it as his sole source of scripture. :)

Some info:

http://www.differencebetween.com/diff...

http://askville.amazon.com/King-James...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/King_Jam...

http://www.newadvent.org/cathen/02141...


message 17: by Anna (new) - rated it 4 stars

Anna I went to a Catholic school in the Uk and this was never an issue. Personally I love passages from the KJV -it's to do with the cadence of the language, even though historically it is a protestant bible. I would have no problem in believing that Forthill would read widely.


back to top