Vane J.'s Reviews > The Origin of Species

The Origin of Species by Charles Darwin
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
19590155
's review
Mar 24, 2015

liked it
bookshelves: classics, non-fiction, 2015

This is not exactly what I would call "fun reading," but it's worth it. At times, it was hard getting through this book, mainly because it's dense and sometimes Darwin tended to drag and not get to the point, but I'm glad I finally read it. However, I think I should have read this at another point of my life - I mean, it was exasperating to read something I had just studied at a biology course I was taking. I still don't regret reading this. If you're considering on whether picking this book or not (yeah, I'm actually recommending it), I suggest you do it between your leisure reading because it can get tedious if you swallow it all at once.
23 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Origin of Species.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

March 24, 2015 – Shelved
April 30, 2015 – Started Reading
April 30, 2015 –
page 1
0.14% "DEFINITELY NOT A LIGHT READ. I'll be lucky if I finish it this year."
May 8, 2015 –
page 18
2.56% "Finished the preface. Hey, I told you I was going to read it slow! Oh, but don't worry, it's interesting enough for me to be still intrigued (and also, I think reading this book is gonna help me in my upcoming biology exam, since we're studying evolution and all that)."
May 9, 2015 –
page 19
2.7% "My work is now (1859) nearly finished; but as it will take me many more years to complete it, and as my health is far from strong, I have been urged to publish this abstract.\n \n An abstract, you say? And this block is GIANT! Jesus, I can't even imagine how long this was going to be. O_O"
July 14, 2015 –
page 100
14.22% "Here is my new challenge: I will not read anything else by Shakespeare until I finish this. I've been putting it aside for so long. I need to continue it!"
July 20, 2015 – Finished Reading

Comments (showing 1-7 of 7) (7 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Cillian (new)

Cillian Is this for school or pleasure?


Vane J. PLEASURE. >:D


Ryan Not exactly a book to grip you and not let go. But Damn if you can't respect it for its elegance of laying down probably the single most important and fascinating scientific discovery!


Vane J. I like the theories in it. And I'm also studying this book at the univeristy.


Vane J. Though we're not being forced to read it. I'm reading it because I couldn't help to get intrigued.


Evelyn (devours and digests words) :D I love it when you can learn something out of a book. So yeah deffo reading this before I die. And it's classics whoop!


Vane J. Evelyn (devours and digests words) wrote: ":D I love it when you can learn something out of a book. So yeah deffo reading this before I die. And it's classics whoop!"

Yay! But really, take into account the last thing I said.


back to top