Whitney Atkinson's Reviews > Dumplin'

Dumplin' by Julie   Murphy
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
14457130
's review

liked it
bookshelves: read-in-2015, sent-from-pub

I had such high hopes for this book but it was just.... average. The characters weren't amazing, the story wasn't amazing, etc. I was really excited to read this because I love reading books about fat girls, but her size was rarely mentioned. I know the book isn't supposed to focus on her weight, but I found it a little less relatable than i'd like because it failed to give descriptions of her size. Like at one point near the end of the book, it was talking about how she pulled her knees up to her chest and the fat girl in me just went nuh-uh. my knees haven't touched my chest in 17 years. But anyway, this book was just forgettable, and it makes me sad because I was really looking forward to this. Nothing about it was grand and spectacular, and although I liked the writing style, I wish it could have been tweaked to pack more of a punch. The beauty pagaent that this book centers around took place in like 20 pages and there was barely any explanation about it.

I would still suggest reading this, but if this is one of your most anticipated books of 2015 like it was for me, you might work on lowering those expectations right about now.
120 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Dumplin'.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

March 17, 2015 – Shelved
March 17, 2015 – Shelved as: to-read
August 1, 2015 – Started Reading
August 4, 2015 –
page 82
21.35% "So far, this is not living up to my expectation D: I hope it finishes strong!! I have hope!!!!"
August 4, 2015 –
page 244
63.54%
August 5, 2015 – Finished Reading
September 20, 2017 – Shelved as: read-in-2015
December 16, 2017 – Shelved as: sent-from-pub

Comments Showing 1-9 of 9 (9 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Stephanie (new)

Stephanie Deemer I'm so upset about this. There's hardly any books about fat girls and I was so excited when I heard about this because it sounded like a fun book that I could actually relate to. It sucks that it was a let down.


April (Aprilius Maximus) AW REALLY I LOVED IT SO MUCH


Allie (A Literary Wanderer) So sad to hear that, Whitney! This was one of my most anticipated too. Thanks for putting this up... at least my hopes for this one isn't that high right now.


Amna Salam I read the first 13 chapters. and honestly I wasnt sold as I had hoped. and the thing that mattered to me was that there was no given idea of how fat was she. I wanted to have a clear picture of who she was and I found nothing. furthermore 13 chapters were alot of chapters yet the book didn't pick up pace. plus in those 13 chapters made me fall in love with the characters or the book.
and now after reading your review, I'm not entirely ready to pick this book up


Amna Salam * did not made me fall


Sharithy (Artistic Myth) I totally agree with you.


message 7: by Thalia (new)

Thalia Grace Wow.... For my entire life I never knew my knees couldn't touch my chest. After I read this review, I tried it, and realized I couldn't do it. Lol


Todd Her "size was rarely mentioned"? Huh???


back to top