Christiane's Reviews > The Unsinkable Walker Bean

The Unsinkable Walker Bean by Aaron Renier
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
1250314
's review
Sep 21, 2010

really liked it
bookshelves: children-s-comics, summer-reading
Read in September, 2010

Perfect for fans of Jeff Smith's Bone. Walker Bean is a quiet, clumsy kid who finds himself on a ship full of pirates trying to steal back a cursed skull so he can save his grandpa's life all while being thwarted by a pirate girl with her own plans for the skull and pursued by two hideous monster sea-witches. This book has everything: action, adventure, suspense, drama, double-crosses, pirates, inventions, and genuine chills--the two-page illustration where one of the sea-witches is rising up from the depths next to the ship is scary! Well written and with beautiful, detailed illustrations this is a great story for all ages and best of all, there is a Book 2 on the way.
flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Unsinkable Walker Bean.
Sign In »

No comments have been added yet.