✘✘ Sarah ✘✘ (former Nefarious Breeder of Murderous Crustaceans)'s Reviews > Magic Strikes

Magic Strikes by Ilona Andrews
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
7298986
The Grand IAA™ KD Buddy Rerererereread Extravaganza (GIAAKDBRE™), aka the yellow brick road to Magic Triumphs

Presenting Episode 3, or How Kate Daniels Learned not all Cats Hate Water Hot Tubs.

» And the moral of this particular rererereread is: TWT-IHFB is the best bloody shrimping acronym in the history of bloody shrimping acronyms. Trust me on that one, I practically invented the concept. Of bloody shrimping acronyms, I mean. Not of TWT-IHFBs. I wish I had, though. Because it's, you know, the best acronym in the history of bloody shrimping acronyms and stuff.

» And the other moral of this particular rererereread is:



And who doesn't love aggravating cats sneaky kitties the universe exploding Curran trouble?



[June 2016]

KD is the Cure to All of Life's Problems Buddy Read (KDitCtAoLPBR™) with my dear wife Ange, and the poor IAA souls who have fallen into our deathly KD Surprise Reread Trap (KSRT™).

Original rating: 5 stars
Rating after xxxxxx rereads: boom. The universe exploded. This book is so BLOODY AWESOME, it's bloody unratable.


See? Even my dog decided to do a crazy dance to celebrate the total, utter and complete awesomeness that is this book.

» And the moral of this particular rererereread is: Midnight Games + hot tubs + the Scarlet Star + a flying palace = it doesn't get much better than this. Bye now.



[Original review]

☆☆☆ Post-Shift Productions proudly present ☆☆☆
Just Another Day in the Life of Kate Daniels



8.00 a.m.: roll out of bed after getting 2 hours of sleep. Realize you're hungry. Open the fridge to get some of that leftover apple pie. The plate is empty. Strange.
8.30 a.m.: rescue your teenage werewolf sidekick from Saiman. Watch Saiman change form and throw up in your mouth a little.
9.00 a.m.: find out His Furriness became Beast Lord at the tender age of 15 after chopping Andorf's head off. This is going to be a long day.
9.30 a.m.: your best friend tells you she doesn't want to be Raphael's TWT-IHFB. Oh boy.
10.00 a.m.: have a conversation with His Fussiness about kissing his ass.



10.30 a.m.: hand Saiman a needle so he can pop his head with it. It's obscuring your view of the room.
11.00 a.m.: listen to Jim telling you about a weredingo. Consider yourself lucky he didn't steal your baby.
11.30 a.m.: try to smile. Aim for sweet. End up looking like a psycho-killer.
12.00 a.m.: listen to a lecture about the different shapeshifter courtship customs. Aunt B. A cat on the ceiling. A fan. Mist. That's boudas for you.
12.30 a.m.: go sightseeing with Jim. Visit a jungle and a flying palace. Play with the locals. Chop a few arms off. Things are looking up.
1.00 p.m.: tell His Furriness he's a deadly psychopath with a god complex. Then tell him you're having rough sex with Jim. Bad idea.
1.30 p.m.: temporary insanity. Oh. My. God. The Universe just exploded.



2.00 p.m.: explain to your furry friends why you want Cesare's head. Then proceed to explain how you plan to resurrect it and make it relive its death over and over again. Did you just say all that out loud? Yep. You did.
2.30 p.m.: the Beast Lord asks you why you always attract creeps. Ha! He walked right into that one, yes, he did.
3.00 p.m.: Andrea says M-A-T-E. You curse. Then consider strangling her a little.
3.30 p.m.: fight in the arena. Jim tells you to be sloppy. You try.
4.00 p.m.: have a conversation about sausages with your furry friends. Die, die, die, die.



4.30 p.m.: Raphael hands you a fan in case you get hot. Curran doesn't think you need it. This cat's such a bore.
5.00 p.m.: remember the good old days with daddy Voron back when you were thirteen. Sightseeing in South America. Visiting arenas. Slaughtering things a bit.
5.30 p.m.: another fight in the arena. Blade-sprouting silver golem ✓ Troll (aka the overgrown log) ✓ Ancient vampire ✓ Enjoy seeing them die ✓ This is so much fun.
6.00 p.m.: take a relaxing bath in a hot tub. Try to pretend the Beast Lord isn't in there with you. Oh. My. God. The Universe just exploded again.



6.30 p.m.: yet another fight in the arena. Oh, look, it's the Scarlet Star. "Hessaad." Mine. "Ud." Die. Sorry daddy, I think I just broke your sword.
7.00 p.m.: Oh look, it's the flying palace again. Feeling suddenly very tired. It's been a long day.
7.30 p.m.: Lose a little blood. Cut a head off. Feel much better.
8.00 p.m.: find out cats are suicidal morons. Who would have thought?
8.30 p.m.: try telling the people in your head to shut up. It doesn't work. Oh look, a cat.
9.00 p.m.: go home. Find someone in your kitchen. Wait. What?
9.30 p.m.: read a note reminding you of an upcoming dinner. You're allowed to wear a bra and panties. Oh boy.



Book 1: Magic Bites ★★★★★
Book 2: Magic Burns ★★★★★
Book 4: Magic Bleeds ★★★★★
Book 5: Magic Slays ★★★★★
Book 6: Magic Rises ★★★★★
Book 7: Magic Breaks ★★★★★
Book 8: Magic Shifts ★★★★★
Book 9: Magic Binds ★★★★★
Book 10: Magic Triumphs ★★★★
109 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Magic Strikes.
Sign In »

Quotes ✘✘ Sarah ✘✘ (former Nefarious Breeder of Murderous Crustaceans) Liked

Ilona Andrews
“Curran looked back at me. "Why is it you always attract creeps?"

"You tell me." Ha! Walked right into that one, yes, he did.”
Ilona Andrews, Magic Strikes

Ilona Andrews
“As he passed me, he leaned to Curran and handed him a paper fan folded from some sort of flyer.

Curran looked at the fan. “What?”
"An emergency precaution, Your Majesty. In case the lady faints.”

Curran just stared at him.

Raphael strode toward the Pit, turned, flexed a bit, and winked at me.

"Give me that,” I told Curran. “I need to fan myself.”
"No, you don’t.”
Ilona Andrews, Magic Strikes

Ilona Andrews
“I gave him a smile. I was aiming for sweet, but he turned a shade paler and scooted a bit farther from me. Note to self: work more on sweet and less on psycho-killer.”
Ilona Andrews, Magic Strikes

Ilona Andrews
“You said sloppy! Look, I didn't even use my sword; I hit him with my head, like a moron.”
Ilona Andrews, Magic Strikes
tags: kate

Ilona Andrews
“I do shodo magic,” Dali said. “I curse through calligraphy. I have to write the curse out on a piece of paper and I can’t move while I do it. One smudge, and I might kill the lot of us.”

Oh good.

“But don’t worry.” Dali waved her arms. “It’s so precise, it usually doesn’t work at all.”

Better and better.”
Ilona Andrews, Magic Strikes

Ilona Andrews
“I flexed my wrist, popped a silver needle into my palm, and offered it to him.
'What's this?'
'A needle.'
'What should I do with it?'
He'd walked right into it. Too easy. 'Please use it to pop your head. It's obscuring my view of the room.'
- Kate & Saiman”
Ilona Andrews, Magic Strikes

Ilona Andrews
“Kate makes good sausage," Jim said.

Six pairs of eyes stared at me. Thank you, Mr. Wonderful. Just what I needed.

"Oh yeah," Andrea snapped her fingers. "The links? The ones we had the beginning of the month? I didn't know you made those. I thought they were bought. They were so good." Her smile was positively cherubic. Of all the times not to be able to shoot laser beams out of my eyes...

"What do you put into your sausage, Kate?" Raphael wanted to know, giving me a perfectly innocent look.

Werejaguars with big mouths with a pinch of werehyena thrown in. "Venison and rabbit."

"That sounds like some fine sausage," Doolittle said. "Will you share the recipe?"

"Sure."

"I had no idea you were a sausage expert," Curran said with a completely straight face.

Die, die, die, die...

Even Derek cracked a smile. Raphael put his head down on the table and jerked a little.

"Is he choking?" Dali asked, wrinkling her forehead.

"No, he just needs a moment," Curran said. "Young bouda males. Easily excitable.”
Ilona Andrews, Magic Strikes


Reading Progress

Finished Reading (Kindle Edition)
Finished Reading (Kindle Edition)
June 16, 2014 – Started Reading (Kindle Edition)
June 16, 2014 – Shelved (Kindle Edition)
June 16, 2014 – Shelved as: urban-fantasy (Kindle Edition)
June 16, 2014 – Shelved as: cool-kick-ass-chick... (Kindle Edition)
June 17, 2014 – Shelved as: kindle (Kindle Edition)
June 18, 2014 – Shelved as: favourite-series (Kindle Edition)
June 18, 2014 – Finished Reading (Kindle Edition)
July 29, 2014 – Shelved as: kate-daniels (Kindle Edition)
October 8, 2014 – Shelved as: 2014 (Kindle Edition)
October 25, 2014 – Shelved as: absolute-favourites (Kindle Edition)
December 16, 2014 – Shelved as: br-2015 (Kindle Edition)
January 5, 2015 – Shelved (Mass Market Paperback Edition)
January 5, 2015 – Shelved as: to-read (Mass Market Paperback Edition)
January 5, 2015 – Shelved as: abso... (Mass Market Paperback Edition)
January 5, 2015 – Shelved as: br-2015 (Mass Market Paperback Edition)
January 5, 2015 – Shelved as: favo... (Mass Market Paperback Edition)
January 5, 2015 – Shelved as: home... (Mass Market Paperback Edition)
January 5, 2015 – Shelved as: kate... (Mass Market Paperback Edition)
January 5, 2015 – Shelved as: urba... (Mass Market Paperback Edition)
January 22, 2015 – Started Reading (Mass Market Paperback Edition)
January 22, 2015 –
5.0% " Seven pairs of glowing eyes stared at me: four green, three yellow. I kept my tone light. "You fellows ever thought of hiring out as a Christmas lights crew? You’d make a fortune.">br>
Bahahahaha!"
(Mass Market Paperback Edition)
January 22, 2015 –
6.0% "I dragged myself into the kitchen, opened the fridge, and stared at an empty pie plate. Had I eaten the pie? I didn’t remember finishing it.\n \n Well, that's the thing, you didn't^^" (Mass Market Paperback Edition)
January 22, 2015 –
8.0% "Curran and I mixed about as well as glycerin and nitric acid: put us together, shake a bit, and hit the deck as we exploded

Boom."
(Mass Market Paperback Edition)
January 22, 2015 –
12.0% "A shadow crossed Andrea’s face. “I don’t want to be his TWT-IHFB.” “What does that mean?” “That Weird Thing I Haven’t Fucked Before.”

Bahahahaha, love this line!"
(Mass Market Paperback Edition)
January 22, 2015 –
38.0% "I gave him a smile. I was aiming for sweet, but he turned a shade paler and scooted a bit farther from me. Note to self: work more on sweet and less on psycho-killer." (Mass Market Paperback Edition)
January 23, 2015 –
51.0% "“I realize that you’re judging this situation by shapeshifter standards, and you expect me to fall on my back with my legs spread.” “Not necessarily.” His voice matched mine in calmness. “You can fall on your hands and knees if you prefer. Or against the wall. Or on the kitchen counter. I suppose I might let you be on top, if you make it worth my while.”\n \n All Hail His Furiness." (Mass Market Paperback Edition)
January 23, 2015 – Shelved as: ilona-gordon-i-reve... (Kindle Edition)
January 23, 2015 – Shelved as: ilon... (Mass Market Paperback Edition)
January 23, 2015 –
72.0% "“We have to get the Diamond. And Cesare’s head.” They looked at me. “Why the head?” Doolittle asked. “Because it’s easy to carry and I can torture it for a long time.” And I didn’t just say it out loud, did I? I checked their faces. Yep, I did. “How do you torture a head?” Dali asked. “You resurrect it and make it relive its death.”" (Mass Market Paperback Edition)
January 23, 2015 –
83.0% "Curran looked back at me. “Why is it you always attract creeps?” “You tell me.” Ha! Walked right into that one, yes, he did.\n \n Kate Daniels I loves you." (Mass Market Paperback Edition)
January 23, 2015 –
87.0% "The awful lion jaws gaped wide and clamped on to the troll’s thick neck. White teeth flashed, bit, sliding between the cervical vertebrae, and sliced the spinal cord like scissors. The troll’s head drooped to the side, dark blood bubbling gently to stain his shoulders. Curran grabbed the skull and tore the head from the neck.

Yay! Go Your Furiness!!"
(Mass Market Paperback Edition)
January 23, 2015 –
94.0% "«Hessaad.» Mine. My biological father’s blood reacted with mine and recognized it. The sword was mine. It would obey. Now. «Ud,» I whispered. Die.

That scene!!!! "
(Mass Market Paperback Edition)
January 23, 2015 – Finished Reading (Mass Market Paperback Edition)
January 24, 2015 –
99.0% "You owe me one naked dinner, but I’m not a complete beast, so you can wear a bra and panties if you so wish. The blue ones with the bow will do. Curran, Beast Lord of Atlanta.\n \n YES." (Mass Market Paperback Edition)
January 25, 2015 – Shelved as: 2015 (Mass Market Paperback Edition)
January 25, 2015 – Shelved as: rr-2015 (Mass Market Paperback Edition)
January 25, 2015 – Shelved as: rawrrr (Kindle Edition)
January 25, 2015 – Shelved as: rawrrr (Mass Market Paperback Edition)
January 25, 2015 – Shelved as: rr-2015 (Kindle Edition)
March 9, 2015 – Shelved
March 9, 2015 – Shelved as: ilona-gordon-i-revere-you-as-gods
March 9, 2015 – Shelved as: rawrrr
March 9, 2015 – Shelved as: br-2015
March 9, 2015 – Shelved as: cool-kick-ass-chicks-harem
March 9, 2015 – Shelved as: favourite-series
March 9, 2015 – Shelved as: kate-daniels
March 9, 2015 – Shelved as: urban-fantasy
March 9, 2015 – Shelved as: to-read
March 9, 2015 – Shelved as: absolute-favourites
March 13, 2015 – Shelved as: poof-gone-harem (Kindle Edition)
March 13, 2015 – Shelved as: poof... (Mass Market Paperback Edition)
March 13, 2015 – Shelved as: poof-gone-harem
May 3, 2015 – Shelved as: blood-and-gore-and-... (Kindle Edition)
May 3, 2015 – Shelved as: blood-and-gore-and-violence-oh-my
May 3, 2015 – Shelved as: bloo... (Mass Market Paperback Edition)
May 24, 2015 – Started Reading
May 25, 2015 –
1.0% "Best instalment ever in the best series ever, I'm ready for you.\n \n "
May 25, 2015 –
17.0% "“His Majesty needs a can-I girl anyway. And I’m not it.” “A can-I girl?” “Can I fetch you your food, Your Majesty? Can I pick out your fleas, Your Majesty? Can I kiss your ass, Your Majesty? Can I...” It dawned on me that Raphael was sitting very still. Frozen, like a statue, his gaze fixed on the point above my head. “He’s standing behind me, isn’t he?”\n \n "
May 26, 2015 –
39.0% "“You’ve never seen me fight in my original form.” A vision of golden-haired Adonis dancing through the snow flashed before me. “Yes, but I saw you dance. Your original form, while devastating to horny women and gay men, isn’t likely to slay any Reapers.”\n \n HAHAHAHAHA! \n \n "
May 26, 2015 –
65.0% "“She had this wire-cage cat carrier, and he glued that to the ceiling and stuffed the cat into it. The cat got pissed off and peed all over the place, and because the carrier was upside down, it went straight through the bars. The ceiling fan was on at the time, and the draft made the pee into a sort of mist...”\n \n HAHAHAHAHA! Courtship, Bouda style^^\n \n "
May 27, 2015 –
91.0% "Who ever said kitty cats didn't like water?\n \n "
May 27, 2015 – Shelved as: 2015
May 27, 2015 – Finished Reading
August 3, 2015 – Shelved as: rr-2015
January 31, 2016 – Shelved as: the-awesome-bunch (Kindle Edition)
January 31, 2016 – Shelved as: the-... (Mass Market Paperback Edition)
January 31, 2016 – Shelved as: the-awesome-bunch
February 4, 2016 – Shelved as: 2015 (Kindle Edition)
June 7, 2016 –
1.0% "Hot tubs R Us.\n \n "
June 9, 2016 –
page 221
68.63% "This is what a Kate Daniels rererereread looks like:\n \n "
June 10, 2016 – Shelved as: 2016
June 10, 2016 – Shelved as: rr-2016
June 14, 2016 – Started Reading
June 16, 2016 – Finished Reading
November 25, 2017 – Shelved as: let-s-dance-the-nig... (Kindle Edition)
November 25, 2017 – Shelved as: let-... (Mass Market Paperback Edition)
November 25, 2017 – Shelved as: let-s-dance-the-night-away
December 7, 2017 – Started Reading
December 7, 2017 – Shelved as: br-2017
December 7, 2017 – Shelved as: rr-2017
December 7, 2017 –
1.0% "Time to start training for the Midnight Games, crustaceans!

"
December 8, 2017 – Finished Reading
December 9, 2017 – Shelved as: 2017
March 26, 2018 – Shelved as: diversity-is-slight... (Kindle Edition)
March 26, 2018 – Shelved as: dive... (Mass Market Paperback Edition)
March 26, 2018 – Shelved as: diversity-is-slightly-scrumptious
January 10, 2019 – Shelved as: cool... (Mass Market Paperback Edition)

Comments Showing 1-13 of 13 (13 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Eilonwy Why don't you just add up all your friends' ratings and give it 300 stars? ;D


✘✘ Sarah ✘✘ (former Nefarious Breeder of Murderous Crustaceans) Well by the time I reread it for the 10th time I'm pretty sure I'll get to the 300-star rating^^


Eilonwy Ahem. You changed your name on me! I'm looking at my notifications going "Who is XXSarahXX?"


✘✘ Sarah ✘✘ (former Nefarious Breeder of Murderous Crustaceans) Haha. Yes, sorry about that! The murderous crustaceans have gone on a holiday. So has their nefarious breeder. They shall return one day. Maybe;)


Eilonwy And here I figured you were thinking tic-tac-toe, what with the switch from O's to X's.

I feel much safer with a few less murderous crustaceans around, at least. Although I've found myself muttering, "Not all who wander are crustaceans" whenever I see some lost-looking person over the past couple weeks.


✘✘ Sarah ✘✘ (former Nefarious Breeder of Murderous Crustaceans) So funny, I hadn't even thought about the tic-tac-toe side of things!;)

Murderous crustaceans are actually fun to be around but I'm much too tired to breed them nefariously these days. They might come back after the summer;)


Orient Awesome as always :))))))))))


message 8: by P (new)

P Fab review, Sarah xx


✘✘ Sarah ✘✘ (former Nefarious Breeder of Murderous Crustaceans) Orient wrote: "Awesome as always :))))))))))"

Thanks, Orient!:)


Melissa (Ever So Mela) I feel Ilona Andrews could write a recipe on how to boil water and you'd end up loving it dearly lol :P
I'm too funny for my own good, I know ^_^


✘✘ Sarah ✘✘ (former Nefarious Breeder of Murderous Crustaceans) Melissa (Ever So Mela) wrote: "I feel Ilona Andrews could write a recipe on how to boil water and you'd end up loving it dearly lol :P
I'm too funny for my own good, I know ^_^"


You're not funny, you're spot on, Melissa. Haha. I'd read cereal box blurb if they wrote it:D


Melissa (Ever So Mela) I have not the slightest doubt in that lol


back to top