J.C.'s Reviews > A Farewell To Arms

A Farewell To Arms by Ernest Hemingway
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
4305144
's review
Sep 17, 2010

it was amazing
bookshelves: favorite-shelf, favorites, literature, banned
Read 2 times. Last read September 7, 2012.

this was the first work of Hemingway that i've ever read. I picked it up because it was an old copy (it's cheap) and I've always spotted it in the film Evil Dead II (one of my favorites) and always wanted to read it because of that cameo.

His writing style blew me away, and had a profound impact on the way I myself write. The way he stripes it down to the core makes it fascinating to read and flow very well together. It is very precise but, to me, not dull or boring.

The story is a fantastic one, and in a major way, a tale that only Hemingway himself could tell. Read it when you want to read something deep, heavy, and with no sunshine in sight.


5 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read A Farewell To Arms.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

Finished Reading (Paperback Edition)
Finished Reading
September 17, 2010 – Shelved
January 26, 2011 – Shelved as: favorite-shelf
January 26, 2011 – Shelved as: favorites
August 31, 2012 –
page 22
6.63%
August 31, 2012 –
page 33
9.94%
August 31, 2012 –
page 62
18.67%
August 31, 2012 –
page 68
20.48%
September 1, 2012 –
page 94
28.31% "reading it again for my class on the Lost Generation."
September 3, 2012 –
page 117
35.24%
September 3, 2012 –
page 177
53.31%
September 6, 2012 –
page 182
54.82%
Started Reading
September 7, 2012 –
page 194
58.43%
September 7, 2012 – Finished Reading
May 21, 2013 – Shelved as: literature
May 21, 2013 – Shelved as: banned
April 1, 2017 – Shelved (Paperback Edition)
April 1, 2017 – Shelved as: lost-generation (Paperback Edition)

Comments (showing 1-2 of 2) (2 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Md (new) - rated it 3 stars

Md I agree completely. This was the first piece of Hemingway that I've ever read too and it was amazing. There's just something about the way he writes and the way his story is thought out and created that has a certain effect that makes you depressed, yet almost hopeful. I'm probably way off, but that's how I felt.


Paul Tracey I've always spotted it in the film Evil Dead II (one of my favorites) and always wanted to read it because of that cameo.//
ME TOO!!


back to top