Sasha Alsberg's Reviews > Dragonfly in Amber

Dragonfly in Amber by Diana Gabaldon
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
10915830
's review

it was amazing

I AM DONE! WOW. Just wow. That ending. woah. Within 40 pages I ugly cried, my heart exploded in feels, confusion happened, hope, and now I'm mind blown by the ending. WOW. Diana, you've done it again! Took me awhile to get into DiA but once i got past the 300 page mark it got so good and kept on getting better. 5/5 stars!
738 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Dragonfly in Amber.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

March 3, 2015 – Shelved
March 3, 2015 – Shelved as: to-read
March 24, 2015 – Started Reading
March 28, 2015 –
page 115
15.48% "JUST AHHH I LOVE THIS SERIES SO MUCH"
March 28, 2015 –
page 155
20.86% "Woah"
March 30, 2015 –
page 200
26.92%
March 30, 2015 –
page 200
26.92% "This book is "tearin my guts out". Love it."
April 7, 2015 –
page 265
35.67% "Taking me a bit to get through DIA but its very good!"
May 24, 2015 – Shelved as: to-read
May 24, 2015 – Shelved as: to-read
May 24, 2015 – Shelved as: to-read
May 28, 2015 –
page 422
56.8% "MAKING PROGRESS !!!!"
May 31, 2015 –
page 530
71.33%
May 31, 2015 –
page 530
71.33% "SO GOOD."
June 2, 2015 –
page 604
81.29% "140 pages left and I'm dreading the end..."
June 6, 2015 –
page 630
84.79% "Almost done (dreading the end)"
June 6, 2015 –
page 680
91.52% "Don't want it to end!"
June 7, 2015 –
page 680
91.52% "I AM DONE! WOW. Just wow. That ending. woah. Within 40 pages I ugly cried, my heart exploded in feels, confusion happened, hope, and now I'm mind blown by the ending. WOW. Diana, you've done it again! Took me awhile to get into DiA but once i got past the 300 page mark it got so good and kept on getting better. 5/5 stars!"
June 7, 2015 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-40 of 40 (40 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Miranda ❤️ This one took me a LONG time go get though, but the third book Voyager I flew through it! :)


Amanda determined to finish this one before Friday...it is so slow...


Lisa I JUST finished this after months. The beginning was a little rough but OMG keep going the end is SO FREAKING GOOD!


message 4: by Joy (new)

Joy You can do it hahah *thumbs up*


Tavona Are you enjoying this book so far?


message 6: by Lana (new)

Lana Harris omg so good books foll
ow me on youtube lana harris


message 7: by [deleted user] (new)

Wow 743 pages!


Claire Anyone read Voyager yet? No spoilers bc I'm gonna read it but is the ending good?


message 9: by Danielle (new)

Danielle Villar finally! haha


message 10: by Elizabeth (new)

Elizabeth well i am done too.


message 11: by Elizabeth (new)

Elizabeth i cant believe thet i read the whole thing.


Cassandra So good but voyager is so bad. I stopped reading it halfway through over a year ago and haven't picked it up since :(


Maddie Critelli I feel for you! That book took me 2 months to read and the ending knocked my socks off! Just wait til voyager I've been reading it for over 3 months now and I'm on 60% done! Good luck!!!!


Jasmine Booth In stuck on Drums of Autumn, and I'm like 1/3 into the book wth


message 15: by Emma (new) - rated it 5 stars

Emma Streets Ive read all 8 and i warn you a few of them to take a bit too get into but the endings are always fantastic.


message 16: by Peggy (new)

Peggy I'm just about 300 pages into Dragonfly. Its slow, but I was so upset with the beginning. I didn't want to know about Jamie etc


Elizabeth I agree that this book 2 is slow. Instead of reading the books I'm listening to them on audiobook which helps get me through them. This book is totally worth it. I can't believe the ending though!!!


Cecilia Barron I finally finished the book. It was slow at first but once you get over that hump its smooth sailing til the end. going to get the next books and read them before the tv series catches up with me.


Sonia Hogeland Started slow but really picked up. Can't wait to run out and buy the next book.


Elizabeth I went through Outlander SO quickly, but Dragonfly in Amber took me just over five months to finish. Don't get me wrong, I loved it. It just got so slow through a lot of it. Next step, Voyager!! Can't wait to get some answers. Hopefully it doesn't take me so long to finish. :)


Debra Petersen Just wait till you get to Voyager. There were times with Claire's and Jamie's relationship where my heart almost exploded with what they were going through with each other.


Howard Meyer Readers of this novel are sure to be captivated by Claire's journey, a journey that takes her from the French courts, to the Scottish highlands, where she faces the perils of war in a desperate attempt to save her daughter and the man she loves. All my reviews


Ashley Carpenter I made the mistake of reading the last 20% of DiA at work. And I also ugly cried.


Kerry Fielding Just started this book. I loved the first. Slightly confused as to why I am now in the 60s rather than the 1700s. That's where I left Claire and Jamie at the end of the last book after all. Does this become clear? Or am I missing something?


message 25: by T (new) - added it

T Price It will defiantly become clear Kerry.


Celina The ending absolut heartbreaking, mind blowing absolut Wow !! Can't wait to read book 3!!


message 27: by Alejandra (new)

Alejandra Simari I've read 15 chapters but I feel this book lacks the magic of the first one. The plot doesn't seem to be moving forward, but in circles.


Karen Camilleri I loved the slower pace of this book it gave me a chance to breath and enjoy her beautiful prose it's so in time with the era too ! Looking forward to Voyager I'm totally hooked!!


Wendy About 10 chapters from the end and really struggling. Encouraged by these posts because part of me wants to give up (yeah right!) but I already purchased the next book. Lol


Wendy Ok- almost done and it got better again- waiting for the "cliff-hanger" but feel I need to re-read the first book - outlander- feel like I missed a lot of info! Anyone else?


Nancy L Would reading this book first spoil the upcoming season of "Outlander"? The reason I ask is b/c I read "Game of Thrones" first and ALL the surprises in it were ruined when I watched that show!


Suzanne It took me a LONG time to really get into this book. I adored Outlander, and eagerly purchased DiA. The whole bit in France somehow lagged. But once characters from the first book showed up, it was fabulous. A few moments actually made me gasp out loud toward the end. Yep, I'm off to get book #3!


Martha Watkins Getting ready to start this . I'm not sure what to expect but excited ! The writing is amazing


Martha Watkins I cried in the end . That was breathtaking


Mary Alice I had already seen the third season of “Outlander” so didn’t have the same level of awe as those who haven’t seen it. That said, Diana Galbaldon is truly astonishing in her ability to create the environment of these tales. At first I was annoyed that she would withhold details, only to have Claire explain something later but then I realized it helped generate my desire to discover what is going on. Now, I’m compelled to finish the books before the series returns.


message 36: by Jodi (new) - rated it 2 stars

Jodi Intrigued by the beginning! I loved the transition between past and present. Middle and majority of the book, I felt, lacked in depth. Slow paced and hard to grasp the true plot. However, the last couple chapters pulled me back in and really paved the way for what I feel the 3rd book will revolve around.


message 37: by Diana (new)

Diana Jimenez-Friday This book was a little slower then the first. But picked up towards the ends and I feel like it was bridge to next book all the details were necessary. By the time I finished it the ending made me want to cry and made have to read on I bought voyager the same day! Just started it today’s and I can’t put it down!


message 38: by Mertxita (new)

Mertxita I am watching the series inTV. I'm in the middle of third season, and I am wondering if I could read book 4 before watching the 4th season in Tv. Would it make any sense?


Patricia I agree with the previous reviews. I felt this book read a bit slower but once you get going it is awesome. The details of Claire & Jamie’s turmoil & love is so moving. You laugh & cry & realize you are totally into their lives. I think I felt every emotion I possibly could reading this book. Just wonderful!


message 40: by Jan (new) - rated it 4 stars

Jan Savage A little slow in the beginning but I felt there was a gap when Claire goes back how it was seen and how Frank and Claire get through all the trials of those years the pregnancy.But then wow had me in tears in a few places and how I felt I was right there with them


back to top