Mo's Reviews > The Duke of Shadows

The Duke of Shadows by Meredith Duran
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
11856352
's review

it was amazing

'In a debut romance as passionate and sweeping as the British Empire, Meredith Duran paints a powerful picture of an aristocrat torn between two worlds, an heiress who dares to risk everything...and the love born in fire and darkness that nearly destroys them.'


This book was excellent. I was hooked from the beginning. I loved the history. I really felt I was in India, during the time of the British Raj. Being Irish, I suppose I would have an affinity with any country that was taken over by Britain and ruled by their laws. Part of MY country is still under British rule.


"The British Raj (/rɑːdʒ/; from rāj, literally, "rule" in Hindustani) was the rule by the British Crown in the Indian subcontinent between 1858 and 1947."

"But ..." It was too much to take in. "India without Britain?
"The Americans managed it."
She recoiled at his sarcasm.
"That isn't what I meant."
"I beg your pardon, Miss Martin; what did you mean?"
"Well, we simply can't drop everything and run away, can we?"
Very softly he said, "I see. Is this where you preach to me of how English civilization will save the savages?



The story is told in two parts. We commence in India where Emmaline has travelled with her parents, to be married. She meets Julian, a man of mixed race, British and Indian. He had been educated in Britain. Eton, Oxford. There is an attraction but she is engaged to be married.


His mixed blood had always provided fodder to the wags - after one rather reckless adventure in his youth, the papers in London had dubbed him the "savage noble".


There is unrest in India, especially in the part of India where this is set. The "natives" are restless and are beginning to rue the day the British ever came to try and conquer THEIR country.


I honestly didn't read many reviews, skimmed a few and saw that it got good ratings. It's a debut novel. My expectations for reading her other books might be a little high as she has set the bar quite high.




"But above all, you must understand that they wanted to do to you what has been done to them. Emma, this land has been crushed by the English."


The Commonwealth still exists today. The Commonwealth of Nations is a voluntary association of 52 independent and sovereign states. Most are former British colonies or dependencies of those colonies.
I do hate when some folks assume that Ireland is part of Great Britain ... ignorance on some folk's part I suppose. My son now lives in the UK (although he would be the first to vote for Scottish Independence!! - must be his Irish roots.)

It spans some years and there is heartache.


"I'll come back for you ..."



He was not as strong as Emma. When the tears came, he could not check them.


41 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Duke of Shadows.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

January 19, 2015 – Shelved
January 19, 2015 – Shelved as: to-read
June 6, 2017 – Started Reading
June 6, 2017 –
2.0% ""
June 6, 2017 –
9.0% ""
June 7, 2017 –
40.0% ""
June 7, 2017 –
44.0% ""
June 7, 2017 –
70.0% ""Half sick of shadows."

"
June 7, 2017 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-30 of 30 (30 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Ira (new) - rated it 5 stars

Ira I love your review Maura and those fantastic pics, I'm happy you enjoyed it too:)


message 2: by Mo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mo Ira wrote: "I love your review Maura and those fantastic pics, I'm happy you enjoyed it too:)"

Thanks Ira. It was fabulous. Bit of a book hangover now.


message 3: by Karen (new) - added it

Karen Wow! Fabulous review Mo! I've added this one on too! Are there any countries left that haven't been ruled by Britain at one time or another? LOL. xxx


message 4: by Mo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mo Karen wrote: "Wow! Fabulous review Mo! I've added this one on too! Are there any countries left that haven't been ruled by Britain at one time or another? LOL. xxx"

Thanks Karen. LOL. Not too many I would say. I hope you love it.


message 5: by Bubu (last edited Jun 07, 2017 12:15PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Bubu Fabulous review, Mo. So glad you loved it. And yeah, she set the bar high but she writes beautifully. This one and Fool Me Twice are my favourites.


message 6: by Mo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mo Bubu wrote: "Fabulous review, Mo. So glad you loved it. And yeah, she set the bar high but she writes beautifully. This one and Fool Me Twice are my favourites."

Thanks Bubu. Mmmm, wondering what to read next.


Bubu Something light?


♥Sharon♥ Stunner of a review, Maura. Looking forward to reading this one soon. xo


message 9: by Mo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mo Bubu wrote: "Something light?"

Maybe.


message 10: by Mo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mo ♥Sharon♥ wrote: "Stunner of a review, Maura. Looking forward to reading this one soon. xo"

Thank you Sharon. Think you will love it too.


message 11: by Mou (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mou Excellent review, Maura!!!! Loved your pictures. One of the pictures you upload is an Indian Actor, he has a damn hot body. LOL. I am gonna start it tomorrow.

About history- British ruled my country also, together we were called Indian Subcontinent. I don't know how much was explained in the book, but In 1747 we lost our independence in a war and slowly British took the whole subcontinent and till 1947 (200 Years) British ruled in Indian Subcontinent, After 1947, the subcontinent divided into two countries named India and East and West Pakistan. But after 1971 liberation war East and West Pakistan broke into two countries named Pakistan and Bangladesh. And I am a Bangladeshi. Today's India, Pakitan, and Bangladesh were that time Indian Subcontinent. I hope I didn't bore you death by talking about the history. :P


message 12: by Mo (last edited Jun 07, 2017 12:52PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mo Thanks Mou. I find it all very interesting. My aunt was a nun and worked in Pakistan. She is actually buried out there and none of her family have ever visited her grave.

That actor is very nice indeed ... and a very nice body! I hope you enjoy it and that the historical aspect is correct. You would know far more than me about happenings during this era. We never really studied history of that time/place in school ... mostly Irish history was stuffed down our throats ... hence our lack of love for the British over the years.... which no longer is true. We all get on swimmingly now, even had the Queen to visit our Green Shores a few years ago. Prince Charles was there a few weeks ago.


message 13: by Ingie (new)

Ingie Great review Mo! (Will add it to remember... )


message 14: by Mo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mo Ingela wrote: "Great review Mo! (Will add it to remember... )"

Thank you Ingela. x


message 15: by Mou (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mou Mo wrote: "Thanks Mou. I find it all very interesting. My aunt was a nun and worked in Pakistan. She is actually buried out there and none of her family have ever visited her grave.

That actor is very nice ..."


Well, what happened in history stays in history. :)


message 16: by Mo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mo Mou wrote: "Mo wrote: "Thanks Mou. I find it all very interesting. My aunt was a nun and worked in Pakistan. She is actually buried out there and none of her family have ever visited her grave.

That actor is..."


... and a good thing too.


Lisazj1 Wonderful review Maura! xx Your updates were gorgeous!


message 18: by Mo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mo Lisazj1 wrote: "Wonderful review Maura! xx Your updates were gorgeous!"

Thank you Lisa. xx


message 19: by Gisela (new) - added it

Gisela Very good review, Mo. I will read it. Thanks again.


message 20: by Mo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mo Gisela wrote: "Very good review, Mo. I will read it. Thanks again."

Thanks Gisela. I hope you like it. x


message 21: by Ira (new) - rated it 5 stars

Ira Talking about she set the bar quite high Maura, I have to admit, even thought her other books excellent too, for me this one is still her best book. But I didn't read many of hers yet:)


message 22: by Mo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mo Ira wrote: "Talking about she set the bar quite high Maura, I have to admit, even thought her other books excellent too, for me this one is still her best book. But I didn't read many of hers yet:)"

I only read her short novella and am a bit wary of starting her other series - I will be comparing every book to this one!!


message 23: by Ira (new) - rated it 5 stars

Ira Mo wrote: "Ira wrote: "Talking about she set the bar quite high Maura, I have to admit, even thought her other books excellent too, for me this one is still her best book. But I didn't read many of hers yet:)..."

I know what you mean.
Her other books are good too but not 'epic' like this one.
But agree with Bubu, Fool Me Twice is excellent too, the usual strong heroine but the hero is suicidal! Yeah, but it works:)


message 24: by Mo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mo Ira wrote: "Mo wrote: "Ira wrote: "Talking about she set the bar quite high Maura, I have to admit, even thought her other books excellent too, for me this one is still her best book. But I didn't read many of..."

Can that series be read out of order?


message 25: by Ira (new) - rated it 5 stars

Ira Mo wrote: "Ira wrote: "Mo wrote: "Ira wrote: "Talking about she set the bar quite high Maura, I have to admit, even thought her other books excellent too, for me this one is still her best book. But I didn't ..."

Yes you can, I didn't even know that book part of a series before Bubu mentioned it to me.


message 26: by Bubu (last edited Jun 08, 2017 04:34AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Bubu Mo, she has a few standalones:
Wicked Becomes You I loved it but I know quite a few who didn't

At Your Pleasure Gave it 5 stars for the historical atmosphere alone, the heroine though might drive you mad

A Lady's Lesson in Scandal Total winner for me. Like TDoS I re-read this one every few months. Pygmalion but with grittiness.

I think Bound by Your Touch is also a standalone. I haven't read this one. Keeping it for days where I need a book from a really, really good author. ;)


message 27: by Mo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mo Thanks Bubu. Will check them out. Although the book budget has been blown for this month!!


message 28: by ❥Lil (new)

❥Lil Wonderful review, Mo! I wish I knew more history of that period/region, but like you, we were served the history of our neighborhood in school. Hope your next read is equally good. xx


message 29: by Mo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mo ❥Lil wrote: "Wonderful review, Mo! I wish I knew more history of that period/region, but like you, we were served the history of our neighborhood in school. Hope your next read is equally good. xx"

Thanks Lil. Shame really that our history classes weren't more varied.


message 30: by Mou (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mou Mo wrote: "Thanks Bubu. Will check them out. Although the book budget has been blown for this month!!"

Well, without affecting your book budget, if you want to read her books then I can help you. If you want the details pm then. :p


back to top