Andrea's Reviews > The Day The Angels Fell

The Day The Angels Fell by Shawn Smucker
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
5614694
's review
Dec 26, 2014

really liked it
bookshelves: christian, young-adult
Read 2 times. Last read January 20, 2015 to June 28, 2015.

I thought this would be an easy review to write, but I am wrong. I normally don't think twice about the number of stars to give. I have changed my mind several times so far. This book seems to be evading my summation.

Sam and Abra are rather adorable. Shawn's writing is fabulous as usual. There is a note of magical realism about the book. The religious references are sufficient without being heavy handed.

The story is straightforward and yet I kept expecting it to go somewhere else.
Often when I see the main character going through a significant amount of pain and suffering, I have to take a break from the book. I was worried that this one would be that way, so I wasn't in a hurry to finish it. However that didn't happen. Maybe that is why I kept expecting it to go somewhere else.

I will say the very end was a bit of a surprise and I'm glad it went in that direction.

I have heard someone refer to it as a coming of age story. I can see that and they aren't my favorite type to read. However, the magic within it kept me reading.

Overall, I enjoyed the book even though it wasn't what I was expecting. I'm looking forward to the sequel.
1 like · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Day The Angels Fell.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

December 26, 2014 – Shelved
December 26, 2014 – Shelved as: to-read
January 20, 2015 – Started Reading
January 26, 2015 –
15.0%
January 26, 2015 –
page 15
5.4%
February 9, 2015 –
page 55
19.78%
February 11, 2015 –
page 64
23.02%
February 16, 2015 –
page 95
34.17%
February 18, 2015 –
page 111
39.93%
March 3, 2015 –
page 135
48.56%
April 18, 2015 –
page 165
59.35%
April 18, 2015 –
page 180
64.75%
June 28, 2015 –
page 218
78.42%
June 28, 2015 – Finished Reading
June 30, 2015 – Shelved as: christian
June 30, 2015 – Shelved as: young-adult
August 18, 2017 – Started Reading (Hardcover Edition)
August 18, 2017 – Shelved (Hardcover Edition)
August 20, 2017 –
10.0% (Hardcover Edition)
August 25, 2017 –
14.0% (Hardcover Edition)
September 2, 2017 –
25.0% (Hardcover Edition)
September 4, 2017 –
45.0% (Hardcover Edition)
September 4, 2017 –
71.0% (Hardcover Edition)
September 5, 2017 – Shelved as: christian (Hardcover Edition)
September 5, 2017 – Shelved as: young-adult (Hardcover Edition)
September 5, 2017 – Shelved as: magic-realism (Hardcover Edition)
September 5, 2017 – Finished Reading (Hardcover Edition)

No comments have been added yet.