Maria Elmvang's Reviews > Garlic And Sapphires: the secret life of a food critic

Garlic And Sapphires by Ruth Reichl
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
168347
's review
Jul 29, 2010

it was amazing
bookshelves: 2010, 5-stars, memoir, non-fiction, 2013, owned-audiobook, foodie
Read from August 17, 2010 to August 30, 2013 , read count: 2

One of the best foodie books I've read in a long time - even if I did get ridiculously hungry for good food while reading it. I do NOT recommend reading a couple of chapters and then going out to heat up left-overs :-/

The stories of a restaurant critic were fascinating to read, and the way she went about creating new characters as not to be recognized had me in stitches. I really enjoyed Ruth Reichl's writing style, and also liked the way she portrayed herself in this memoir - not arrogantly, but aware of her own mistakes and shortcomings.

Really brilliant book, even if it is perhaps a tad too old to be used as an accurate restaurant guide for NYC - more's the pity, as I'd have loved to try some of the restaurants she visited!
flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Garlic And Sapphires.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

08/17/2010 page 159
45.0% "and loving it! Even if it does make me incredibly hungry for good food!"
08/22/2013 marked as: currently-reading
08/23/2013
25.0% "Loving this just as much as on my first read-through :)"
08/25/2013
66.0% "This book has two serious problems - it makes me so hungry for good food, and it really makes me want to go back to NYC!"
09/01/2013 marked as: read

Comments (showing 1-4 of 4) (4 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Nightfalltwen I'm reading one of her other books, "Tender at the Bone" which is a somewhat-memoir of Ruth's childhood and young adulthood. It's really good so far. You might like it.


Maria Elmvang I've added one of her memoirs to my to-read list - can't remember if it's "Tender at the Bone" or the other one (can't remember the title just now), but it's whichever one comes first :) Definitely sounds like something I'd like!


Nightfalltwen I just looked it up. Tender at the Bone is the first one, yes. Comfort Me With Apples is the sequel to Tender at The bone. I finished it the day after I commented to you about it. Really, really enjoyed it.


Maria Elmvang Thanks for letting me know! I should be able to get it through interlibrary loan :)


back to top