Suna's Reviews > The Scar

The Scar by China Miéville
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
2724746
's review
Jul 24, 2010

it was amazing
bookshelves: science-fiction, tentacles-will-kill-us-all

9 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Scar.
Sign In »

Quotes Suna Liked

China Miéville
“Scars are not injuries, Tanner Sack. A scar is a healing. After injury, a scar is what makes you whole.”
China Miéville, The Scar


Reading Progress

July 24, 2010 – Shelved
August 1, 2010 – Started Reading
August 2, 2010 –
page 23
3.61%
August 3, 2010 –
page 29
4.55% "Going slow. New Crobuzon cloying."
August 15, 2010 –
page 31
4.86%
August 16, 2010 –
page 81
12.7%
August 16, 2010 –
page 138
21.63%
August 18, 2010 –
page 638
100.0%
August 25, 2010 – Finished Reading

Comments (showing 1-5 of 5) (5 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Cecily This was the first Miéville I read, and I was very disappointed. However, having heard him talk passionately about the wonderful Gormenghast the other night, I want to give him another chance. Any suggestions as to which one?


Suna Perhaps Perdido Street Station, it is set before The Scar and is also his first novel set in that world.


Cecily Thanks, Suna. I thought the world was interesting, but I found "The Scar" inconsistent in plot, pace, language and even genre. The other one that sounds interesting is "The City and The City".


Suna I haven't read that one yet, but maybe Perdido isn't such a good idea considering your bugbears with the Scar.
Hmmm.

I'm not sure if you read a lot of YA, but his novel UnLunDun is certainly a departure from the style, atmosphere and pacing of the Bas-Lag novels.
Worth a go, perhaps?


Cecily I don't normally read YA, but thanks for your thoughts.


back to top