Kat Kennedy's Reviews > American Gods

American Gods by Neil Gaiman
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
3270188
A man was swallowed by a woman's vagina - so my mom wrote me a note and now I don't have to review this book anymore.
145 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read American Gods.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

July 7, 2010 – Shelved
July 8, 2010 – Started Reading
July 21, 2010 – Finished Reading
October 7, 2010 – Shelved as: kat-s-book-reviews
October 7, 2010 – Shelved as: the-great-shelf-of-meh
October 7, 2010 – Shelved as: too-painful-to-finish
October 7, 2010 – Shelved as: contemporary-fiction

Comments Showing 1-27 of 27 (27 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Wicked Incognito Now No review?

I so wanted to like this book, so many people I know love it, but the premise just never came together properly for me.


Kat Kennedy He lost me at the part where a man was swallowed whole into a vagina. Yeah, was pretty good but I didn't think it was executed as well as it could have been.


message 3: by AH (new) - added it

AH Even your 1 sentence reviews are fun....I guess I won't be in any hurry to read this book.


Megan I always feel guilty for not liking Neil Gaiman more than I do. After all, he's a brilliant, creative, incredibly talented writer and comes so highly reccomended from freaking everyone that I feel as if it is my own personal flaw for not *loving* him.

The premise for this story is awesome, but I ended up getting bored somewhere along the way :(


message 5: by Bry (new) - added it

Bry I feel the same way Megan. He just isn't my thing but I always felt it was just because I was missing something or not understanding it.


Spider the Doof Warrior I like that book a lot, but it freaked out people in my book club. I wondered what they would think of that vagina scene.


Nathalie >> ashley: Never form your opinion of a book solely on someone else's. You might like it, even when most don't.


Megan Bry ~ Glad to know someone else doesn't get him either! His children's books are amazing, those I love. But the stuff for adults? Not so much.


message 9: by Michael (new)

Michael Yep, Megan, I also think he's a bit overrated.

But after your review, Kat, I'm more curious about this one.

Has anyone heard of the movie "Teeth"? It's a horror/comedy about a girl who has teeth in her. . . well, you know.


message 10: by AH (new) - added it

AH Ewww! Haven't heard of that one!


Kat Kennedy No Michael, haven't heard of that one!

I'm going to give Neil Gaiman one more chance by reading Sandman. Otherwise I just think that we weren't meant to be.


message 12: by Michael (new)

Michael See, I DID like Sandman a lot. I've read them all, and it's very fun and imaginative. I think his comics are much stronger than the novels I've read.


Kat Kennedy I remember you saying that in my Neverwhere review - so I'll give it a read.

I think as far as his books go, we're just not compatible.

To me, if we were going on a first date then he would have shown up in a brown corduroy suit and purple bow tie. I just think we need to start seeing other people. For those who like full corduroy suits and bowties then he would be perfect.


William Herschel The only book I really liked by him was The Graveyard Book. And Coraline gets an honorary mention. I would try one of his "kid" books if you haven't already.


Wicked Incognito Now Yeah Kat, don't miss out on the kids books. I like them MUCH MUCH better than the weird adult stuff. I believe Stardust is considered an adult book, but I really enjoyed it as well.


Spider the Doof Warrior Sandman is lovely but disturbing.
Anazi Boy's is a spinoff of American Gods, less disturbing.
Folks can't like the same of everything though, or it will be boring. Bowties are dorky, but pretty eyes can make up for anything.
But, yeah, I love me some Neil. He goes good with Tori Amos.


Hellebore Even after reading this Review by you Kat I somehow thought..a man swallowed whole by a vagina.. no way.. another hilarious joke by Kat, but no just a little ways into the book BAM!! Swallowed by a vagina.. LMAO .. why didn't I just believe you.. I'm still going to forge ahead with the book though I hate not finishing..


Alisi ☆ wants to read too many books ☆ Yeah, some of myths (and gods) can be quite unsettling. XD I'm not sure how I feel about that whole Baba Yaga thing either.


Faust Honestly, I was also disturbed at first by that scene, but I powered through it and gave the book a second chance. After I had finished reading, I must have contemplated that book for weeks. What I eventually realized, and what I came to see as brilliant about that initially disgusting scene, is that it perfectly exemplifies the theme of the book: the gods are forced to extreme measures to keep themselves alive. These are powerful, ancient entities reduced to the level of humans, forced to undertake acts that they never would have dreamed of having to commit when they were in their prime. Czernobog has to work in a slaughterhouse to produce enough sacrifices to survive. Anubis and Thoth are forced to work in a funeral home. Eostre, perhaps saddest of all, is kept alive by a holiday that is no longer remembered as her own. These are not the powerful, almighty gods of their respective homelands and their respective times. They are brought down, beaten. They are running out of options. That goddess whoring herself out to a man seems like she is in her prime, but the reader realizes over the course of the book just how scared she must be. How far she must have fallen to have to be all but forcing a man to believe in her, worship her, just to remember what it's like. How hard it is for a god or goddess to sustain themselves in a world where they are forgotten and alone. I suppose that's just my take, but it's good that you aren't afraid to express your opinion.


Zero vi Britannia "A man was swallowed by a woman's vagina"
There's a joke in there that I will not make.


message 21: by Zero vi Britannia (last edited Jul 03, 2014 02:13PM) (new)

Zero vi Britannia Michael wrote: "Has anyone heard of the movie "Teeth"? It's a horror/comedy about a girl who has teeth in her. . . well, you know."
I have.


message 22: by Wendy (new) - rated it 1 star

Wendy when a book starts out with crap like that, it's difficult to want to keep reading. And then, you know, a man has sex with a ghost. So there's that.


Spider the Doof Warrior hehehe i made old ladies read this book.


message 24: by Tracie (new)

Tracie *These comments are the highlight of my day


Heavenlypeachgarden Hahahaha x


message 26: by BAM (new) - rated it 5 stars

BAM The Bibliomaniac This book is genius


Tillie 😂😂😂 best review ever! Should’ve known to stop reading when that happened because, really, it didn’t get any better.


back to top